We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmorgan52
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a lovely stay at La Malartrie, the views from the balcony are spectacular. We were lucky to have a great firework display on the night we arrived, all viewed from our balcony with a glass of wine in hand!
Lots to see and do - take a walk to Beynac or a drive to Domme these are lovely villages, also Sarlat is lively at night with street entertainment and great places to eat.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMA1
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, good house and helpful host”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The elevated and renovated house on 2 levels has ensuite bathrooms for each of the 3 bedrooms and a lovely sunny verandah, great for breakfast as you watch the canoes and river boats go by. It offers wonderful views of the village of La Roque Gageac, which is lit up at night and the hill top village of Domme in the distance across the river. Well situated within close proximity to many famous Chateaux, villages and their markets, beautiful gardens, caves, prehistoric sites and towns of the Dordogne. Activities such as canoeing, cycling and walking are all at the doorstep. I would highly recommend this gem off a place for an extended stay for a group of friends or family. We travelled with our adult children and the house provided lots of space to be together without being on top of each other.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balconey
Liked least: Wifi was a bit flakey, but was being addressed while we were there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lily B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with the best view in France”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks in La Malartrie and could not have picked a better place to stay. We had been to La Dordogne before, and love the area, but this house was really special. The panoramic view of France’s “most beautiful village” was breathtaking from the balcony, where we enjoyed having breakfast every morning after sauntering down to the local boulangerie/patisserie. The house itself was clean, stylish and with everything one might need to be comfortable. It had three very spacious bedrooms and three bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen and excellent entertaining space in the lounge and on the terrace. We were perfectly positioned within walking or cycling distance of five chateaux and countless restaurants. Although the house does not have a pool, there are lots of picturesque places to swim in the river which is less than a stones throw away. The area has so much to do and see for groups of all ages. For us, canoeing down the river was a real highlight and we’ll definitely be back to eat at La Belle Etoile, which was exquisite (advance booking recommended!). If you haven’t been to the area before, the owners (David and Lorna) are a wealth of knowledge about the best places to see. We will definitely be returning to La Malartrie, a hidden gem in a top holiday destination.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular view and great location
Liked least: We had no issues at all, and have no reservations in recommending this house!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptionally wonderful house in picturesque medieval village in the Dordogne.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a memorable, romantic week in the Dordogne, and were very pleased with our accommodations: the lovely and well appointed La Malartrie. Perched directly above the Dordogne River, in the charming village of La Roque Gageac, one could not wish for a better location from which to explore this fascinating and beautiful part of France. Neither is one likely to find a more pleasant home to stay in. There is a front deck which spans the width of the house, and the views of the town, river, and valley are simply breathtaking. Mornings we watched mist rise off the Dordogne River as the sun rose, nights we could see lights of the village across the river, one evening we enjoyed the light-show of a thunderstorm - all from the shelter of this deck. Inside, there is a large, well-equipped kitchen, a comfortable living/dining room, and three spacious bedrooms. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom, two of which include deep, glorious tubs (something we had been missing in our French travels)!

The owners of La Malartrie, David and Lorna Fulton, were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They invited us to their nearby home for coffee and conversation. They offered us guidance on local hikes (don't miss climbing to the top of the village's limestone cliffs for spectacular views of the valley, and a wonderful site for a picnic!), restaurants (La Belle Etoile in La Roque Gageac served us a meal to remember for a lifetime), and weekly village markets where the area's delicacies and wares are sold.

Need more convincing? Walk down the road, hop in a canoe, and make your way down the river, stopping for a meal, a visit to a medieval castle, or a glimpse of wild swans and great blue herons. Take a drive to one of the many nearby caves in which you can be transported into prehistory by Cro-Magnon paintings or the natural jaw-dropping beauty of stalagmites and stalactites. Or simply enjoy the abundant peace of resting in La Malartie.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful house, wonderful village.
Liked least: Internet went out after electrical storm.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing