We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a change from the tourist menus in many other restaurants”

Les Pres Gaillardou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We, Carlyse and Olivier have been established in this quant restored stone farm house with its exposed beams and open fire place since 2014. In appropriate weather, you can enjoy your gourmet meal in our flowered landscaped garden terrace. Our philosophy is to use only local and fresh products selected with the upmost care in order to provide the best quality possible. Our cooking is inspired entirely by seasonal products of the moment. Carlyse the chief, self-educated concentrates on the essential, the taste and the products to share with you, a cooking of heart. Olivier, with an experience of 30 years and graduated of the Ferrandi school in Paris, will advise you on his selection of wines, mainly in organic or organic-dynamie. Looking forward to hosting you, Carlyse & Olivier
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and a change from the tourist menus in many other restaurants”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the B&B owners who we were staying with in the Dordogne. We really enjoyed the home cooked food here. It was very busy and we were lucky to get the last available table in the garden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    69
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Escape the crowds of la Roque Gageac and eat really well”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Firstly, please note that this is misplaced on the Trip Advisor map. It is not in Roque Gageac itself; rather, it's on the D46 just north of Cenac and some way before you get to the bridge over the Dordogne, well signed on the road. Here we have a delightful cottage restaurant, with relaxing decor and a really nice, quiet, friendly ambience. The food is good, beautifully presented and proceeds well beyond the obligatory staples, though it has those too. My wife had an excellent red mullet tagine. I had cou farci for the first time and was surprised how like it was to just a particularly thick form of English sausage - very tasty, though with the potato purée it was tempting to compare it to bangers and mash, and I have to admit that the rather wet spoonful of the French version is not a patch on the very best English (or Irish) mash. That said, this was a very good meal, but do take cash - at the time of writing their card machine was playing up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great meal in a lovely setting”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My mother and I ate here a few nights ago and had a lovely meal. The setting is an old country house with a nice garden. Decor is charming. While there are only about 4 choices of starter and 4 mains, there is plenty of variety. Prices are about 30 euros/person for 2 courses and wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
Level Contributor
145 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good dinner and reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at Les Pres Gaillardou. The regional salad with duck was very good and the portions were large. The duck confit was excellent. The others in our group of four had other main dishes and all said they were very good. Service was friendly and efficient; the restaurant stayed open late for us to arrive, which was much appreciated. I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just Do It”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you've read any of our other reviews, you know we try to be objective. For this restaurant, we won't ' bother - just go. The food is sensational and the ambiance and service are exceptional.

If this restaurant was in our home town (Melbourne, Aust) it would have at least one hat, probably two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Pres Gaillardou also viewed

La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
Cenac-et-Saint-Julien, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Pres Gaillardou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing