We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
318
117
27
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
117
27
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco cottagesea senselow tidebamboo showeremerald cavemosquito netother resortsfishhotel beachsmall islandpalm treesspent dayssea viewpiece of paradisesnorkeling tripswater pressuretrang islands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 470 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2009

CoCo Cottages looks post card perfect from a distance, but many flaws overshadowed the beauty of the location. Many families made it a fun stay for the kids. Staff's service can be improved to help guests feel welcome.

Ocean View Bungalow had an amazing view and the porch was relaxing. The beach had nice loungers and it was great to spend hours sitting back and watching the kids play in the sand. Not a swimming beach for young kids and bring your water shoes as you have to wade over shards of coral.

The bungalow itself was not mosquito proof and each night we were eaten by mosquitos through the netting. The room smelled of moth balls and there was absolutely no storage for our bags. We were travelling with 2 small children and were were cramped. Family rooms are available, but way in the back of the property.

Stayed at CoCo Cottages for Christmas '08. We were dissapointed by the "Gala Dinner", which was a buffet and cheesy entertainment by the staff. Seemed more of a money grab. Only some staff were friendly, and at times we felt uncomfortable with our kids in the restaurant, even though they were well behaved. We really enjoyed charging everything to the room and paying when we checked out.

Restaurant breakfast was ok, but after 5 days the basic menu of granola and fruit or eggs and bacon became really boring for the kids, who chose to only eat the toast each day. With as many families as there was at the hotel, they could have offered children's cereal or pancakes. Lunch in the restaurant was good, but we decided to go next door to Thapwarin for the ambiance. Chateau Hill also lets guests from other hotels use the pool, so we spent time there each day, and ate in the pool side bar.

Koh Ngai was beautiful. We would have really enjoyed nature trails if they had existed as the island is not over developed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kells_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

CoCo Cottages, so far as I can tell, is the best resort on the island. The others looked rather tatty or, in the case of the Fantasy Resort, nice but big and unfriendly. The Chateau Hill nearby looked swanky but weirdly empty.

Goodness knows what happened to katyshan (below) to prompt her comment that the staff didn't smile: they were lovely to us and our six-year-old twins.

The food is delicious - really good, although a little timid on the chilli front. Wifey (no chilli-head) could easily eat their hottest. They are happy to make it hotter, and their Tom Yum soup is fab.

It's true about the beach: when the tide is out, it's hopeless! Even when it's in you might want to swim with your Crocs on. A hundred yards down the beach, though, and it's better.

DIVING: there's only one dive shop: Rainbow Divers. Their usual dive-sites which are close by have pretty fish but dreadful viz (at least when I did it - 8m or less). You need, I think, to go to some sites further afield to get the brilliant Andaman clarity.

I would recommend an air-con room if available. Ours were fan-cooled and a little too warm at night.

And watch out for the mozzies: they are plentiful and vicious.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rossminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

It's a lovely resort, shame about the staff! With the exception of two or three of them, the staff were reluctant to smile, and didn't seem to care if we were there or not.
We were there for Christmas eve, and so had to pay an extra 1000 baht for the gala dinner, which was very disappointing. There was little choice in food, which was served luke-warm, and most of the activities were geared at young children.
Compared to the rest of the places we stayed in Thailand, this place was at least double the money, and while it is a lovely beach, the beach is all there is on the island.
We did take a snorkelling tour, which to their credit was amazing, and one of the high points of our entire trip.
The normal menu is good - lots of choice, and plenty for every palate.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katyshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Co-Co cottage was our first stop on our trip to Thailand and it was just as lovely as we had hoped for. The bungalows had a rustic charm (which often means cheap and dirty, but not in this case). They were not flashy and the bathroom with the bamboo pipe shower was such a hit.
The staff were extremely friendly and it felt like handicraft, not industrial. Still they had thought about the most minute details like for example of removing all coconuts from the palms on the site to avoid them falling down on your head.
There was one, only one, drawback. But that was not the hotel but Koh Ngai. At low tide, the reef becomes exposed which looks pretty dull and is not inviting for swimming during low tide.
But if you go to the island, go to Co-co.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjebeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed at Coco Cottage for 4 nights' R&R after diving the Similan Islands. Of all the resorts on Koh Ngai, we picked this one because of the reviews on TA and we were not disappointed.
Coco Cottage is a very picturesque resort on a nice stretch of beach towards the northern end of the island - even nicer than it looks on the resort website. The Thapwarin next door looked very similar but the beach there was not quite as nice. Some people have complained that it's not very pretty or easy to swim at low tide because of the exposed coral, but if you swim out a bit there's a fairly healthy reef at 1-4m depth at low tide with plenty of fish and coral so perfect for snorkelling.
We had a beachfront bungalow which we picked because they were the only ones with aircon, which my boyfriend insisted on. The bungalow was a nice mix of rustic chic, complete with mosquito net, open air bathroom and a couple of sunbeds on the deck outside. They also supplied sarongs and a beach bag.
There was a programme of excursions and we chose the snorkelling trip to Koh Rok because it was fantastic when I went there 2 yrs ago when we stayed at Charlie on Koh Mook (Coco beats Charlie hands down). I was very disppointed with the state of the reef this time round - I couldn't believe so much damage could be done over a period of 2yrs. It did seem a lot busier than last time though.
We were going to do some diving with Raindow Divers at the Koh Ngai Fantasy a few mins walk down the beach, but never got round to it.
The staff at Coco were all very friendly and helpful, and everything was very well organised. The food and drinks were a bit expensive, but you're a bit stuck being on a resort island. The breakfast was adequate (either American or 'healthy'), and the other food was a mixture of Thai & Western. They did tend to tone down the chilli in the Thai dishes, but we just asked for a dish of fresh chopped chilli to add as seasoning. Beware the very rich sauces though - it wasn't the authentic light Thai food I'm used to.
All in all Coco Cottage is a very nice place to do absolutely nothing for a few days. I really like Trang province - similar stunning scenery to Krabi but more chilled and a lot less touristy, and I do intend to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aliog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews