We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent destination ! Peaceful Island.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place. A lot of kayaking and snorkeling. We did some hiking to the other side of the island.
Very nice cabins with a nice view. The restaurant is nice but the menu has not so many choices. Very inexpensive everything!
CoCo Cottage is the best resort in the Island . Some of the other ones are very scary.
Very good service!!! We got a great time. Rustic, simple, beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room on the first row facing the beach is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavoexcalibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked our holiday with Andaman Sky. We booked several resorts and a villa, plus transfers and trips with them for our entire 3 week holiday. One of the highlights of this whole trip was Coco's Cottage. This resort is located on the very peaceful and chilled out island of Koh Ngai (or Koh Hai, however you want to say it). You have to see this place to believe it. It is an absolute paradise. People here are very relaxed and always smiling. I don't mean only the wonderful staff members of this resort, but I mean everybody! But can you really blame them? This is a piece of paradise we never wanted to leave! If we had more time, we would have stayed here much longer. This resort's bungalows are very eco friendly with thatched roofs, and wooden furniture. Don't expect televisions at this place, as the whole idea of this island resort is to disconnect from the real world. There is air conditioning and hot shower in every room though. However, part of being an eco resort, these two particular items can only be operated at 4.00 PM to 10.00 AM. This is after all an eco resort, and we had no complaints about it at all. We stayed at the Sea Sense Cottage room type (This particular room type does not allow children.) The rooms here constructed almost entirely by natural products. This is a great place to come if you want to do absolutely nothing but laze around and go for a swim.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Jac0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we are traveling since 3 weeks arround Thailand and had been really looking forward to our stay at this nice little island and the Coco Beach resort because of the good reviews.
We reservated a Sea Delight Cottage to have seaview. the transfer was organized by the resort, a really old and very loud longtailboat took us in a one hour drive to the island.
Be carefull and wear good shoes, because the ground of the sea is very rocky and during the low tide this is the only way to get to the beach, not recommendable to do this barefoot! Anyway, you should wear shoes when going into the sea there.
the staff will take your luggage, so you dont have to worry about this, those guys are really very friendly!
also the staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful, got all informations we need and they also arranged the pickup from the island to get to Koh Lanta 2 days later or to make a boat-trip to the emerald cave.....really recommendable!
The garden of the resort looks a bit burned, ok, we've been there in february and it was very hot and dry. So the gras was brown and lot of flowers already withered....not like expected from the pictures.
The Sea View Bungalow is ok but nothing more. Depending to the payed price, our expecations was a bit higher, especially the cleanliness in the bathroom gives room for improvement, because it is a open air bathroom without roof.
Also funny after 3 weeks traveling through Thailand, here the first time we saw reservated sunbeds that are not used for hours......aha, Germans are here :-)
The food from the restaurant was ok, but comparing with the food we had the 3 weeks before, it seems a bit overpriced and they use a lot of fat...not really comparable to typical Thaifood we had in other parts of Thailand.....more "tourist-style". Also the breakfast is a bit poor, especially the selection of fruit was astonishing small. Yes we know, there is nothing on this island and everything needs to be delivered from the mainland wih a lot of work...but a bigger selection of fruit would be great.
So after trying this, we decided to use a different place to have lunch.....about 10min footwalk down the beach is a nice little restaurant, the Koh Ngai Camping, here you can find really good and fresh seafood.....absolutely recommendable, also the cocktails are fine!

All in all, the stay at the CoCo cottage was ok, but gives room for imroovement. The price is a bit to high for the offered service.
The island is ok for a 2/3 day stay to relax, but it is hard to walk or hike arround there, so make some boat-trips and do not waste too much time there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erbu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We got to the dock to catch a longtail boat to CoCo Cottage Resort.
The boat ride was a little tough and as like most people, we had every item made by Apple... :(
We had more water in the boat than out of the boat. Had we known we would have put all our stuff in plastic. Anyway, that being over we got to dry land and had a cool cocktail.
This place is set just off the beach each little hut is very clean and everything needed is given. Towel,sheets, AC, soap, shampoo and so on.
They put out a nice free breakfast each morning and serve lunch and dinner.
The food at CoCos' is excellent, we loved all of it.
The beach is cleaned each morning.
They helped with anything we needed.
We asked for a late check out due to our flight leaving later - no problem.
They also have a gal named Natalie in the restaurant that was very, very nice. Always smiling and happy to see us. Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Plastic bags for your clothing on the boat and sunblock...I think any cabin is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Ko Ngai is a hidden gem in busy Thailand. It is absolutely beautiful! Turquoise water, white sand and rainforest. We stayed in low season and there were about 10 people on the whole island so it really was a rare slice of paradise. The island is more expensive than others but this is a good thing as it keeps it quiet and beautiful without the party scene.

Coco rooms are not 5star but are beautiful all the same. Don't take any notice of previous mosquito comments. They have sorted this out with new nets and will even spray your room nightly. There are lots of bugs outside -but you are literally in the rainforest so what do people expect!!!!!

The rooms on row 1 have beautiful sea views. Row 2 are the best value as they are much cheaper and still close to the sea -but splash out if you can (although not essential as the beach will be all yours anyway).

The sea is calm and the weather was great in low season. I am confused as to why more people don't seek out such paradise. It's a real cast-away island-the kind you look at the whole world to find.

Meals are about 180baht -more than elsewhere but again keeps out the party hoons! The menu was limited in low season but delicious, varied enough and plentiful.

Days are just perfect -we had the whole sea to ourselves! Nights were a bit too quiet but you just need to adjust your timetable and wake to the sounds of the rainforest.

If you want to relax in paradise, come here.

If you think about moaning at paying a bit more, go to another, busy, spoilt island.

This is the closest to affordable paradise I've found and I've been to all continents. If you have a spare 5grand, go to the Cook Islands or Maldives. If you are a flash-packer, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Coco Cottage was one of the most lovely places we've ever stayed. Beautiful aqua water, sunny days even in wet season, quite (unlike the rest of thailand) and it is in such a gorgeous location overlooking a few limestone islands nearby. We were greeted, waited and looked after by phan who had excellent english and was always kind, friendly and ready for a laugh. Opal was possibly the receptionist and helped us a lot with organising a boat transfer within an hour of having to unexpectedly leave the island, she too was also extremely accomodating. And lastly, the cook whose name I can't remember was a really kind guy who not only made amazing food but won our hearts every time he took his beautiful bengel cat out for walks in the evening. There was little staff there during our stay as we were the only ones at the resort (low season), which made the stay even more special. When we left there were a lot more guests and staff and I am sure the place is packed during high season! Their small library of multiple languages was also a pleasant touch. My partner and I both had good reads during our stay because of it. Thank you Coco cottage for bringing peace to our chaotic stay in Thailand!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front row have the best views but you can stay in the 2nd row with a slightly block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is incredible. My finacee and I stayed here and I second everything denman84 mentioned. Great rooms and outdoor showers and ideal location to kick back for a few days and breathe after the tourist crush of some of the nearby islands (Lanta, Phi Phi, Lipe). Expect a few bugs around as the island is almost entirely jungle but the rooms are spotless. Restaurant is great and there is some friendly activity in the bar each evening. Not too much but not too little. This place fits the image in your head of the perfect Thai island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSimo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.6 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
130 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Ngai
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai

Address: 109/77 Moo 9 | Koke-Lor, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range: $82 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Cottage Koh Ngai Hotel Koh Ngai
Coco Cottage Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing