We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My wife and I were lucky enough to get a bungalow here for 5 nights after some rather last minute travel plans prior to the christmas holidays.

We absolutely loved the place!!!! While it may not be the fanciest resort in Thailand, it certainly ranks up there as one of the most laid back, quiet and easy going places on the Andaman Sea Coast of Thailand.

Our garden bungalow was 2300 baht per night which was very reasonable for peak season. The bungalow was very clean and had no A/C, but a nice rotating floor fan was provided along with a mosquito net for the bed. Bathrooms are open air, rather simple, yet quite clean. Only a couple of the garden bungalows have any type of ocean view while the ocean front cottages are air conditioned with unobstructed views. All the cottages have a porch, but since we had no view we never used ours.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful while the restaurant served outstanding Thai food at a reasonable cost. I can't speak much about the restaurant's western food as we only ate the French Fries, which were quite tasty! Breakfast choice was an American Breakfast of eggs, toast, coffee, and fresh fruit or a healthy breakfast of muesli, toast and yogurt. Both were very satisfying. The hotel's beach front bar has a very nice evening vibe. Unfortunately the sun sets on the other side of the island so you need to kayak to the end of the island if you want to see a Thai sunset. Still, you get a nice glow off the nearby islands to help you enjoy a stiff sundowner in the early evening. If you're there at the right time of the month, the moonrises are spectacular!

The beach is ok, depending on tide levels. At low tide it is very shallow with a great deal of exposed coral. At high tides it's great for swimming, though much of the beach is underwater. If you walk down the 2 kilometer beach you will find some garbage in those areas that don't have a hotel outfit, but that's normal for Thailand. All in all it's not a bad beach, though i've seen better.

What made the place so special for us was the way we could sit on the hotel beach grounds and just while away the hours in peaceful serenity, though you might need to get up early to grab one of the beach chairs if the hotel happens to be fully booked. With no cars, restaurants or bars spread around the island, it's very quiet and peaceful. Activities include kayak rentals, snorkeling trips and a day trip to beautiful Koh Rok Island (highly recommended). A ways down the beach is another small beach bar that seems to have a mellow vibe in the evenings as well.

Koh Ngai might not be for everyone, but if you're looking to get away from the really touristy side of Thailand found in Phuket and Koh Samui, coco cottages is great and affordable Transfers from Krabi were a bit pricey, but other than that I would highly recommend it for 3 or 4 days of castaway type relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 426 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2007

We booked a 4-day stay at Co Co Cottage as part of a 3-week trip to Thailand in Feb 07. We loved it and having then moved on to Koh Lanta as planned were so disappointed we hopped on a long tail boat back to Koh Ngai and stayed at Co Co another 4 days unitil e had to move on.

The famiy that run the place are wonderfully welcoming and take great care about every detail. The resort is beautifully laid out and looked after. The food is great and excellent Thai massage is on offer. It is very peaceful, very different from the developed resorts to the north. A totally relaxing stay - we have very fond memories and are likely to return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Silver_traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

This place is a must!!! The food is fantastic the people are fantastic the Island is fantastic the Cottages are fantastic what can I say if you are thinking about it then do it if you want to relax escape the world and just chill out then this is the one They have got minimal luxury down to a fine art!
If I could have I would have stayed foever!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank splitvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

This complex of cottages was just the best relaxing experience after 14 days arround Burma... We arrived with nok air from trang with transfer by car and then by boat arranged by the coco-team we had a front beach view a/c cottage this is a very tranquil place to stay the beach is very nice and the restaurant had a great thai chef"! I still dream about their mango juices... we also arranged few excursions with the hotel which were very convenient to koh rok ko mook (emerald cave)... Our room was very nice very simple the bath room was outdorrs with the shower with bamboo pipe.. definetively i recomend this place for relax sun sand and sea...

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank cocotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank moram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul007bakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.6 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Ko Ngai
117 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
0.3 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai

Address: 109/77 Moo 9 | Koke-Lor, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Cottage Koh Ngai Hotel Koh Ngai
Coco Cottage Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing