We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thapwarin Resort
Nearby Hotels
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
93
86
46
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
86
46
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront bungalowbeach fronthigh tidefishparadise islandmangococo cottagepaid onlinelovely cabinread bookssouthern parta lovely place to staygreat conditionsea foodother placesmakes this placethai dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 254 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Such a shame about this place. Aesthetically the area is stunning, like somewhere you never thought existed, but a slight scratch under the surface reveals a different story. The first thing is that, despite the inference on the website, the huts are not on the beach, they’re on rocks that are elevated from the beach that have sand over them so it’s a beach effect. We could have got over this. Then we were put in a room that was almost in the restaurant, meaning we would have got woken up when breakfast was being set and would have been kept up until the last person left the bar in the evening. But we were will to let this go as it was so beautiful. But then we went into our room. Like a lot of Thai rooms the bathroom was open, no problems there, we’re used to that. The problem was that the room was open to the bathroom and there were holes / gaps / general openness everywhere. This has two effects – one was that the air con was completely ineffective, the other was that a rather large wasp had decided to build a nest right above the bed (the nest was still being built, so it was flying up to the nest and putting whatever it is wasp put on nests, then flying out over the bed and through the bathroom to get more nest stuff). And there was no fridge so pointless trying to keep drinks cold so you’d have buy everything at the bar / restaurant, which was one of the most expensive I’ve ever encountered in Thailand.
We told the receptionist about the nest and said we couldn’t stay in the room, she just shrugged and pointed to the nest in the reception area. When I eventually persuaded her that something needed to be done they just got some boy to bash the nest with a broom. Hmmmm. You can just imagine. Now we had one half of a wasp’s nest and on whole of a seriously angry wasp. There were no more rooms left in the resort. We left on the first speedboat to Lanta. Simple. We went on the discover a hundred jellyfish on the tiny beach and a very rough sea (lying in it would have resulted in being carried out to a land far away, standing in it looked no fun whatsoever), as well as the wasp problem being in more than our room and the sun disappearing behind a mountain at about 4pm so you lose a load of heat and get no sunset (Thailand beach without a sunset? I don’t think so)
I’m aware that I’m over things like this and if these issues don’t bother you then it’s a truly amazing looking island that’s worth a visit, but if you’re even remotely into creature comforts then it’s maybe not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dan&Zoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

After a day visit to Koh Ngai,(Koh Hai) Thailand, in Jan 06. My wife and I decided to book 3 nights for this Jan 07 as part of our tour. Staying at the Thapwarin Resort

We emailed the resort about May 06 to reserve a Beach Front cottage room; we were told that the rooms were being upgraded, with hot water and a more comfortable interior. This of course would mean an increase in room rate. After visiting the web site which looked very good we decided to book our room.

We had been looking forward to this part of our trip so much, that you can understand our disappointment when we arrived.

The beach was is very narrow at high tide, but at low tide a lot of rock is exposed making it quite difficult to walk on.

The room had air conditioning which was pre set at 27C. No cupboards or wardrobe space, clothes had to be kept in the case. The rooms which look very neat on the website were not. The rooms are very dark with old cloth curtains which drag along the floor. Numerous gaps in the doors & exterior panels, allowed allsorts of flying & crawling things into the room. The mosquito net over the bed was very much needed. The toilet area was o/k, but the shower room was a hastily constructed open air block, finished in rough bare plaster added to the rear of the cottage. Entry via a door with a 2ft drop into the shower room. Not suitable for any kind of disability. The shower was with hot water, but the wash basin in the room had none.

Breakfast was included in the room rate at about £51.00 pr night, but this again was very poor. Consisting of cereal, pre cooked omelettes, and tea. This was made even worse by the fact of an evening when people were paying extra for the meals the resort could deliver decent food.

We decided after only 1 night to move to another resort on the island, better standard of room at half the cost, we did complain to the staff but had very little joy and were told we would have to pay for the 3nights as not all rooms were sold. Not surprisingly when we passed the next day our room was taken.

If you decide to go to Koh Ngai I urge you to go soon, as the Island had changed a great deal in only 12 months, with many resorts opening along the coast line.

In the past I have read reviews from people who seem to have a score to settle against a hotel. I t

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank keiththemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We stayed at Thapwarin for 2 nights after coming from Koh Lanta and before going on to Krabi. We had a nice time there, but would not have wanted to be there longer than 2 days. The beach is not ideal for swimming as there are too many rocks and sea urchins and when the tide is low there is no water at all. The bungalows are loveley, although may be a bit too close to each other. Everything was nice and clean and we really liked the open air bathroom and had no problems whatsoever. The staff was very friendly, but the service in the restaurant is very slow. Also, the food is average at best compared to all other places we've been to in 3 weeks. (There is a small seafood restaurant only a ten minute walk away on the beach, which is fantastic and even serves breakfast.) As there really isn't anything to do on Koh Ngai and the beach is not inviting for swimming ist is probably not the best place to go unless you want to spend a few days just reading and relaxing. I would not recommend to stay more than 3 days max though as that may get depressing for a lack of things to do. People we met at the resort told us that they had the best time on Koh Mook, which is only 20 minutes by longtail boat from Koh Ngai. Apparently, there the beach there is sandy with no rocks and great for swimming and snorkeling. The place that was recommended to us is called Sivaley (or something like it) but we didn't have the chance to see it. I would probably not go back to Koh Ngai because we would check out the place on Koh Mook instead. However, I liked it and would recommend it for 2 quiet days of relaxing in a loveley atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PamDuesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I am writing this as a warning to all travellers thinking of staying at the Thapwarin resort. We went to the island after being recommended it by friends. While the island is undeniably stunning we had a very frightening time there.We stayed in a beautiful natural beach front bungalow, the only downside to this was that the bathroom had an open-air part to it (which we had not been warned of when we booked) high up the walls like a gap beteen the top of the walls and the bungalow roof. This gap was particularly large next to the shower area. After arriving on the island at lunchtime, we had decided to take a swim and then I had a shower in daylight, feeling a little prudish about the open-air aspect of the bathroom. I had a strange and unnerving feeling that I was being watched or someone was there, but tried to convince myself that I was being silly and very 'English' about the whole thing. The gap was fairly high up. later that night while undressed in the bathroom, I had the same unnerving feeling for a while I left the bathroom and then returned still undressed, sat on the toilet and looked up at the large gap by the shower opposite to see a man attempting to get in the bungalow through the gap and he had obviously been there watching me for a while I was undressed. IT WAS TERRIFYING! My partner raced out to try and catch the man, but he had raced off after standing on a water tank attached to the property. The staff were alerted and they tried to secure the bungalow, but chicken wire stapled over the gap was hardly going to put our mind at rest. It was also obvious from the staffs reactions and expressions that this had happened before dispite them assuring us it hadn't. so we left the next morning after one very expensive and sleepless night. We were booked to stay for 4. The staff were very lovely about the whole thing but we were still made to pay in full and they would not let us speak to anyone on the resort for fear people would find out and it would be damaging. Until work is done to secure these buildings, Please DO NOT stay here. This was NOT just bad luck.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Shoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We booked 6 nights at Thapwarin, having fallen in love with the pictures on the website and read some positive comments on the Krabi Travel forum. The white sandy beach looked perfect for our romantic getaway. As we appraoched Koh Ngai by longtail boat so our excitement was quickly overcome by an impending sense of doom. The white sandy beach on which we had pinned our hopes turned out to only exist for a few precious hours during the day when the tide was in. We arrived when the tide was most definitely out. The boat took us as far as it could and then we sat and stared out across thick mud and rocks to the resort, wondering how we were going to disembark with our luggage and decorum intact. We were not left to wonder for long, out of the distance appeared a large, yellow JCB tractor, noisily making it's way to us - we hoped to pick us up. But no, even the tractor could not navigate the exposed sea bed, so we were left with no alternative but to clamber off the boat, hike up our trousers/skirts etc and gingerly navigate the thick mud and sharp rocks to get to our island getaway.
Our room, a beach front cottage, was extremely dark and had very little privacy. The whole resort is rather cramped with all the rooms right on top of each other. The food was poor, and vastly overpriced, as is the resort generally. We escaped on a longtail boat after one night, and quickly renamed Thapwarin, exchanging the first two letters to Cr...

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lardydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews