We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Chill Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thapwarin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thapwarin Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Complete Chill Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are looking for something well off the beaten track and with absolutely no distractions then this is the place for you. If, however, you want to be entertained, steer well clear.

We wanted to chill, relax and be completely out of touch with the world and we got exactly that!

The island is on a fairly large tidal range and the beach disappears twice a day but the resort is built on an raised beach, protected from tidal surges.

The food in the restaurant was fabulous with the best Mussaman Curry - we could both eaten it every day, with piles of buttery roti to mop up the sauce! With VAT and hotel tax, the prices did seem a little high but we had absolutely no complaints about the food or cocktails. Try Erik's Wai Tai - I could have drunk these all day long!

We had a beach front cottage (BF01) with our own sunloungers, massive room and impeccably clean linen and towels.

The staff were all unobtrusive and left us alone. Tina on Reception though was a sweetie and organised a boat trip once there were sufficient guests to take the trip.

We didn't take our own snorkelling gear as we had been travelling for the previous 10 days and we so wish we had - the hotels' were old, leaky and poorly fitting and they didn't have fins either. It is such a shame as the reef looked great. If you go swimming, be aware of the tide and make your way back to the beach down a small sandy pathway forged by the longtail boats directly outside the hotel's main steps - otherwise you will have to pick your way through rocks and unforgiving old coral (unless you wear beach shoes).

The boat off the island was 'interesting' - the tide was out and we had to wade out to the longtail boat. As I am very short, despite rolling my shorts up, I still ended up with wet pants - it all added to the romance and atmosphere of the place though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
48
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Thapwarin resort for a week and we loved our beach front bungalow. Our 3 year old could play in the bungalow or outside on the beach while we enjoyed the beautiful view from the sun beds outside the bungalow. There is not much to do here - but a very relaxing and chilled place for a familly to hang out. The sea is very quiet here so both our children enjoyed taking a swim during the day. You can also enjoy a massage in the resort - and the lady working there got famous for her skills while we were there.

The people working in the restaurant and cleaning the huts are very friendly and are amazing with babies. The staff would sometimes walk around with our baby while we could enjoy the nice dinners they serve here. The could be better at the details like bringing out the used service and getting back to find out if you would like some more - but nothing important.

But the reception is another story. They are neither helpful nor competent. Even tough most of the guest in the resort are international their english skills are very poor. We had payed for an extra bed because we did not think that we could fit into the kingsize bed all the four of us(700 bath per night) . When we arrived the extra bed was in a really bad condition and we asked for it to be removed the next morning. "No refund" was the only thing that the reception could tell us. They wanted us to pay the 700 bath for 7 nights for a bed that was too lousy to use and that we did not need. Every time we asked them for something the answer was "I am sorry mam we no have!" Every other place we have been in Thailand people always try to help you - especially with diapers and other things for the baby. When I booked a snorkling trip through them I asked them for fins and weet suits - "Everything is included mam!". When we then came on the boat there was neither fins nor weet suits. Only a mask and a snorkle that had seen better days.

We decided to avoid the reception and had a very nice stay -so I can recommend you to go and enjoy the bounty beach setting!

Room Tip: Only go for the beach front cottages. They are spacious and beautiful. We visited friends in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a beach front cottage. The location is sublime, the island so beautiful and you can never get tired of the view from the porch of the cottage. There is a totally laid back atmosphere and you can really relax.

We loved the rustic charm of the cottage and the outdoor bathroom. The beds were very hard though. A huge advantage with the beach front cottage is that you have your own sunbeds.

The beach is nice and the water lovely. Depending on the tide you can walk/swim out to explore the reef and the many, many colorful fish. Totally amazing and great that it’s so easily accessible. Bring surf shoes when you have to walk out during low tide, because there are dead coral and pebbles.

The setting of the restaurant is just stunning and very cozy during the evening. The breakfast is ok – a lot of flies which was not so nice. Lunch and dinner – very tasty and delicious. The BBQ was terrific and nice with a change from traditional Thai food. Remember to enjoy a before dinner cocktail, just order and they will bring the drink to your front porch.
Our only issue with the restaurant was that the staff was not attentive a lot and one time they delivered our food to another table, we had to interfere, because the waiter had no idea what he was doing. Another evening we never got the dessert we had ordered, however it was on the bill which we pointed out. The restaurant do add 7 % tax and 10 % service charge, however this is very common for most hotels/restaurants.
(We also had both lunch and dinner at CoCo Cottage right next to Thapwarin and the food and service were excellent. If you would like a cup of coffee/cappuccino definitely go there.)

The staff at the reception was friendly enough, however their English not so good. They offer a trip to 3 islands, but we wanted to book a private trip to 2 islands and it was so difficult to communicate with the staff. We went by the reception several times to figure out if it was possible or not, but apparently she could only call the boat late at night, and when she finally got back to us it seemed that she was making up a price, time etc. so we decided not to go. We just enjoyed snorkeling of the island which was great.

The is a small store at the resort that sells water, sodas, crackers, cookies and basic amenities.

Overall, we would definitely recommend Koh Ngai as it is a beautiful island and Thapwarin was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely book a beach front cottage – close to the beach, beautiful views and your own sunbeds. Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in a beach front bungalow (BF07)and it was so relaxing. We were a family with 2 kids and the kids could run around freely. They could play in the room while we hung out on the beach.
The room: The room could barely fit an extra bed. There was bad illumination in the room, so during night time it was not too easy to find stuff. Toilet and basin/shower was half outside and during night time you had to be careful to close doors quickly to avoid mosquitoes. During weekends they had barbecue on the beach and all the smoke/smell blew into the room but maybe that bothered me because I'd been sick. The sunbeds on the front were nice and when ordering drinks they served them to your room.
Service: Really friendly service, one of the best I have experienced in Thailand. Transfer service booked via hotel was excellent!
The restaurant: The location is fabulous! Food was great and prices normal. Breakfast had eggs of your choice, yougurt, cereals, toast, jam, 3 kinds of fruit and some thai dishes and cakes. The breakfast environment was nice and quiet and of course with the best view.
The Island: The beach in front of the hotel was not excellent with lots of dead corals. Water shoes can be recommended for kids. The weather was very windy and a bit chilly while we were there and main beach was not nice to stay on. Also it's a sunrise beach and the sun set like already at 4 in the afternoon because of the mountains. 3 days we went to Paradise beach which was really nice. There was no wind and it's sunny longer in the afternoon. It's 3 km to walk there but is was so worth it. Just beware that there's nothing to buy on that side so you have to bring food and drinks. It was also possible to go by boat fo app 400 Bath one way.
There's almost nothing to buy on the island but that didn't bother us. Only places that have icecream is Fantasy and Thapwarin. Fantasy also had a shop where you could by some medicin, drinks etc.
We couldn't make any trips to other islands while there because of the wind which was quite unusual for this time. Because of the wind it was also really difficult to get out to the reef outside the beach to snorkel. One afternoon we went up to Cliff resort and if you eat for 500 Bath you can use their pool. The view from there is really nice.
Thapwarin was a really nice place apart from the wind and the non existing afternoon sun. They had this truly relaxed island barefoot feeling. If there had been evening sun I would definitely go back to Thapwarin again and again!

Room Tip: Beach front was the best. All of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddinxveen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

On first sight the resort looks nice, but after staying here for 4 nights we had a list of points that need to be improved:
- Shower is switching between hot/cold and on/off or harder/softer. This is very annoying
- Alot of mosquitoes in the room
- The bathroom is outside, if you have to go to the toilet at night you will get eaten bij all the mosquitoes
- The bathroom sink is small, can barely wash your hands because the bathroom faucet is too small
- The beach towels are really bad/thin
- There are no normal sunbeds, only lounch chairs that break your back if you use them for a few hours
- There are alot of long tail boats that make noise comming from the engines at day time, because of pickups on the beach
- The spa is overpriced, a oil massage was about 1200 Baht (if I remember correctly) and if you walk a little on the beach you will see another resort with spa and it will only cost 300 or 350 Baht
- The power engine makes noise in the night, luckily we didn't sleep near it but we could still hear the noise
- The food tastes nice, however we've spend 2 out of the 5 days on the toilet because the Tenderloin steak and French soup (that tasted like chicken bouilon) came out from all sides. So we only eat here 2 times, and it went wrong both times. The other days we didnt eat (because we were sick) and the last day we eat at some other resort.
- The restaurant staff barely understands English and they don't walk by often enough, we had to order most of our drinks at the bar and if we wanted to pay we also had to walk to the bar because they never looked after us after they served 1 time.
- WiFi is not allways working and poor quality (but that is to be expected on a remote island)

I think this resort is ok to stay 1 or 2 nights, but not longer. Also, there are no activities on this island. No shops, tv, swimming pool, animation or other things to do. You can only enjoy the beach on a lounge chair, eat, swim, relax, drink, sleep and puke ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a warin cottage. Cottage was ok, nothing too special. Beachfront cottages are a lot nicer, but a bit overpriced in my opinion. We saw both and decided for the cheaper warin cottage.

Food is ok, again nothing too special. Of course price levels are a bit above the mainland, that is to be expected on such a remote island. Staff is friendly and in general helpful.

All in all an ok experience although expectations were a bit higher.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Very Nice and welcoming hôtel. One of the best on this Island thanks to its location ( 2 nd of the beach and a little appart from the others) and its design. The beach front bungalows are clean and charming. The food is delicious and the staff helpful. The malayay hôtel, further down on the beach, has the same ownership. Its looks nice too, but is surrounded by other hôtels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.7 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapwarin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapwarin Resort

Property: Thapwarin Resort
Address: Moo 4, Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thapwarin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thapwarin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapwarin Hotel Koh Ngai
Thapwarin Resort Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing