We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thapwarin Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
93
85
46
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
85
46
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront bungalowbeach fronthigh tidefishparadise islandmangococo cottagepaid onlinelovely cabinread bookssouthern parta lovely place to staygreat conditionsea foodother placesmakes this placethai dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 253 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Location - at the far end of the beach so a good 20mins walk from the thanya and fantasy resorts but close to the Coco resort. Superb view from the restaurant and nice setting.

Food - food was good - we tried a massaman curry & pad thai. Not the best food we've had in Thailand but very decent for a resort on koh Ngai. The prices are competitive and they will add service and charges on top (+17%).

Service - staff was welcoming and very attentive. A good place if you're on that side of the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank headortail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked the Thapwarin Resort through an agent as part of a package that also included Kao Sok National Park and they chose the accommodation for us. Knowing that we were on honeymoon they booked us into one of the beachfront huts for that extra special accommodation experience. Our initial thoughts were wow! The beach front huts are stunning and decorated beautifully. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was included and it was average. Aside from the breakfast, the majority of the food in the restaurant was lovely. By Thai prices however, it was expensive. At first it seems reasonable but they add a service charge onto everything so be aware of this. Our major upset with the Thapwarin however was a lack of sleep due to a rat being in our room, scurrying about for most of the night. In the managements defence, as soon as we reported the problem the next morning they found another beach front bungalow and moved us into there for our 2nd night. Unfortunately the rat episode was not a one off and we were awoken again the following night with a rat coming in and out of our hut. There was also another couple that had reported the same issues whilst we were there. When we were then checking out we advised the management of our 2nd sleepless night and felt that we were due some compensation. Normally I wouldn't do this but this was by far the most expensive accommodation we stayed in during our 3 week trip to Thailand (it was nearly double that of our 5* hotel in Bangkok) and yet the only place where we hadn't been able to get a decent nights sleep. Their compensation............a complimentary drink each whilst we waited for our ferry! Needless to say we declined this and in the end settled on a minimal refund. We were so excited about our trip on the secluded island of Koh Ngai, however we walked away somewhat disappointed by our experience. If you are looking for a secluded island getaway, consider Ko Jum/Ko Pu instead where accommodation is basic and you may get woken early by a monkey outside your hut but the price is a fraction of the cost and it feels much more authentic! We would not return to Koh Ngai and would not recommend the Thapwarin Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We got married at Thapwarin on the 2nd March 2013 and shared 4 nights at this resort along with 45 of our friends and family. The venue provided a truly amazing back drop for our wedding and we have many special memories from our time here.
There were 1 or 2 issues but these were resolved by the management and the staff working at the bar/restaurant couldnt have been more helpful in trying to keep everyone well fed and watered. The Wi-Fi does work fine from the main bar and restaurant area but less well from some of the bungalows. We stayed in one of the beach front cottages which are a little more spacious than those set behind.
Koh Ngai is a beautifil island and this resort will always have a special place in our memories. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Koh Ngai is a beautiful island but the main beach is a line of resorts. The thepwarin is average . The resort does not provide enough comfortable seating on the beach. The reception staff are cold. We had a lunch that was good quality but expensive with tax and service charge added.
On leaving the staff chased us for a 80 baht mini bar bill despite having checked out and paid the correct bill .
The little details let this hotel down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed there in early Feb, at the end of a Thailand tour, organised by Rickshaw travel and loved the welcome received, as we waded from the longboat. The staff are really friendly, the food is good and beautifully presented and the location is gorgeous.
The rooms are lovely, with outside bathrooms, surrounded by trees and so quiet.
Some evenings there is a BBQ, with yummy , fresh fish and the cocktails are good.
We had lunch sometimes at the other restaurants, but found the staff here the friendliest and the food is good value.
It really felt like a touch of luxury and a great place to chill out.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the resort, surrounded by trees and across a quaint bridge, over the pretty lagoon
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulineshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews