We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings. Attentive service”
Review of Thapwarin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thapwarin Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Before we even stepped off the boat we were greeted by name and welcomed to this lovely spot. Our garden bungalow was cozy and clean. It was right next to the lagoon but still had a glimpse of the ocean. None of the bungalows are more than a few steps from the beach.
The bathroom is open to the outside so you need to be ready to handle a few bugs. The main room of the bungalow is screened and there is a mosquito net. However, one night we still had a mosquito inside the net. After that I kept the insect repellent on when I went to bed
WiFi is technically available only in the restaurant and lobby but we were able to get it from the porch of our bungalow which was handy.
Breakfast is a nice buffet with fried rice and noodles, various meats, omelets made to order, salad and fresh fruit. We had one lunch and one dinner at the restaurant as well and they were good. The other resorts provide variety in restaurants.
Snorkeling from the beach was excellent. It's shallow all the way out to the reef and there's no scary current. At low tide the reef is too close to the surface to swim over it so be sure to snorkel at mid or high tide. We didn't take the resort's boat trip, but it looked like a good value compared to some of the others.
Be sure to bring a flashlight for walking on the beach at night. It gets dark about 6:30. There's an undeveloped area of beach that separates the northern resorts from the southern ones and at high tide you have to take a path on top of the sea wall rather than the beach, so you'll want to have a light and decent footwear.
We had arranged for transfer with our next resort on Koh Mook. When our boat didn't arrive, Thapwarin tried to call them for us and when that didn't work they arranged a last minute transfer for us from their boat. They even apologized that their boat wasn't immediately available and fixed us another welcome drink to sip while we were waiting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Thapwarin lies, as all hotels on Koh Ngai, breathtakingly beautiful on the beach with a stunning view. It is charming picturesque with primitive bamboo huts that attracts a certain category of travelers who don't want to follow the broad mainstream.

Well-designed public areas (free wifi) and a very cozy restaurant that offered really good Thai dishes!

The resort felt small and intimate but still quite professional.

We traveled, however, with two small children and then Thapwarin did not fit at all. Small and primitive bamboo huts with outdoor bathroom and free access for mosquitoes. The mosquito net was not enough for protection so we all were verry bitten in the morning. Inside we lacked somewhere to store acessoarer and hang up clothes, there was barely room for a baby-cot, and when fridge and kettle was missing it was not possible to arrange your own baby food. Finaly a pool would have been nice since we had so many jellyfish that the children could not swim in the sea.

Five-ten years ago I would have loved Thapwarin but now we had to move along the beach after only one night. Really nice if you are looking for primitive privacy and to simply relax but perhaps not optimal for young children and infants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from our second wonderful visit to Thapwarin. The resort would not appeal to all but to us it is just perfect in almost every respect hence our second visit in a year. We stayed in a Beachfront cottage for the whole period which was great. Clean and functional and able to watch the sun rise each morning from our bed! Lighting could be a bit brighter and we too had our resident gecko who prefered our cashew nuts to peanuts! Classy lizard. The staff generally are attentive and polite and the restaurant was far better than last year. There has been some reorganisation with senior management and not all I think has been for the better with Front Of House suffering a little. Our very special thanks go to Miss Dao who is a wonderful person and I think I am able to say is now a close friend. If you are looking for a laid back resort with beautiful weather, great swimming and snorkling, good food and cocktails at 4pm then this is a resort you should consider. We do hope to be back

Room Tip: Choose B05 Beachfront Cottage - best on the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike-kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very good place to stay for few days.
Paradise island for an absolute fabulous wedding by the beach (bit of music indeed...)
Nice sightseeing around and snorkelling, don't miss the cave

Room Tip: Front beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francoistiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

There are 2 side for the staff, the first one is just great, helpful, smiling, enthousiast etc... the other side it is there are slow... ok it is holidays, then sometime it is just taking too long.
however i prefer to say they are nice!
the place has got a large sandy area in front of sea view bungalows, a nice layout for dinning and drinking.
The sea with low tide is a major bad point ( a lot of rocks, and the water is far away), but at high tide, waves are just at your doorstep and clear blue.
Bungalows are nice, clean, spacious, and a bit expensive for Thailand, but cheap for Koh ngai.
free wifi on the resturant

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We would like to give our warmest thanks to the whole staff in Thapwarin, especially Ms Dao and Pepe, for their kindness and professionalism in organizing our wedding ceremony at Thapwarin. You have made our wedding an unforgettable moment for us and our 90 guests. We are really sorry for any disturbance caused as we read below (we rented the full resort and half of coco cottage during several days to avoid this), but it is indeed very hard to put an early end to the biggest day of our lives, especially when 90 people travelled so far to celebrate it. We can say we had very high expectations for our 2 days, and once again all the staff has been perfect, very professional, and very welcoming. As for the quality and the beauty of the resort do not hesitate to try it, we hardly see how you could be disappointed! We will visit again as often as we can. We wish you all the best !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NordianaandBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront hut which was absolutely lovely. The setting is idyllic and the hotel laid out really well. Be aware that the Warin huts are a lot more basic that the beach front but the price tag reflects this. Our hut was extremely comfortable - had a fan and aircon, an outdoor shower and indoor loo. It's fairly communal given that it is on the beachfront - but you learn to keep curtains shut. Don't expect bath robes and slippers - it's not that kind of place. The staff are charming. Dinner was extremely good - fish on the bbq, although the service was fairly chaotic at times - but if you're relaxed this all adds to the barefoot charm of the place. The swimming was fantastic although as with most Thai islands the low tide does go out a very long way which makes for a very long walk for a swim. All in all, we loved it and would happily return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.7 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
117 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapwarin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapwarin Resort

Address: Moo 4, Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Ngai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range: $88 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thapwarin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thapwarin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapwarin Hotel Koh Ngai
Thapwarin Resort Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing