We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Island!”
Review of Thapwarin Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thapwarin Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Malmö
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best on the Island!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Fantastic place with fantastic staff!

We spent a week at Thapwarin on Ko Ngai in November, just when the resorts had opened for the season. We really felt welcome by all staff and had the feeling they really wanted us to enjoy and feel relaxed.

We stayed in a Warin Cottage with all children. Rooms were spotless, (although there were lizzards (approx 25 cm) living in the bathroom.) and quite spacious. Since it was in the beginning of the season we felt they were undergoing some maintenance. The little porch was cosy and all cottages were close to the beach, (since they were actually on the beach)

The resort felt very close to nature. At night you could hear all kinds of sounds from the jungle surrounding the resorts and in the resort there were flowers, banana trees, papayas and the cottages placed as a natural part of all this.

The restaurant was definitely the best on the island! The food was terriffic, staff very friendly (although you had to practice your Thai patience - they were'nt the fastest.. :-) It all felt very quiet, clean, fresh and although there was a guitarist playing some nights it still never got noisy. Even the toiltes belonging to the restaurant were tastefully decorated with lamps, candles and flowers. Everything in the mail buildning and restaurant really felt a bit extra compared to all the other resorts on the island.

We stayed with small children and had a fantastic week! We'd really want to go back and can recommend this resort to anyone at any age who needs a bit of relaxing, some good food, nice people and a beautiful view. If you're out for a party - you should aim for another island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    73
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
50
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

It was a wonderful surprise to arrive at thapwarin after a few days in Ao Nang and the busy streets, shops and loud music. The setting is stunning, staff very friendly and helpful. The food is "expensive" compared to neighboring hotels and they sure do make Thai food better than European. In the afternoon, tide is low, but nice to look for shells and corals. We did not have a beach front bungalow and there is a little swamp next to it and there are a lot of mosquitos, so bring repellent! There is a massage lady at the hotel and she is wonderful! After 4 days here, we'll be happy to be back in civilization again, but it was a perfect place to sit back and relax. I will definitely recommend this hotel i hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I loved this place. It had the perfect balance of Thai beach-hut charm and comforts. We had one of the beach-front villas, my friend thought they were over-priced, I thought they were worth the money :) Great beach-front views, spacious and airy huts with charming rustic designs, simple but lovely outdoor shower. I was worried they'd be a mosquito trap but they weren't. The food was really good and fairly priced. The bar shut early, so it was a little more quiet than we'd have liked (maybe that changes in season). It's at the northern end of a long stretch of real beach - meaning not all developed yet, though there are a few other small resorts on it. We saw loads of hornbills in the trees on the southern end. The beach itself isn't quite as lovely as it looked - lots of small bits of coral make it not that nice to walk on bare-foot. And the sea is very shallow so swimming out takes a while and is a pain, my only real gripe about the place, because you didn't really want to just throw yourself in. But if you swim carefully out, or wade, a fair way offshore, then you suddenly hit a large coral reef with a huge amount of fish. It is certainly not the most amazing I've seen but much better than I expected and lovely to have it so easily accessible. I would definitely come back to this place, the only reservation being that there are beaches out there with more beautiful sea.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at Thapwarin for 7 nights. Our first impressions as we were met off our ferry by a long boat and sped over the tourquoise sea towards the white beach was 'wow'! The resort is really picturesque with beautiful wooden bungalows and outstanding bathrooms, and stunning, well kept gardens. The location is also perfect - set directly on a a palm fringed beach.
Thapwarin was the perfect place to stay with our two young children (two years and a 5 month old baby) since there was plenty of shade over the beach, an excellent resturant and a short hop by long boat to many islands including Koh Muk with the emerald cave and Koh kradan with excellent snorkelling. I would say the only thing lacking at ThapWarin was the excellent service that Thailand is famous for. Although the staff were friendly and helpful if asked, they were quite young and inexperienced and didn't go the extra mile like in so many other places. The shop was also poorly stocked so i would recommend taking lots of nappies with you if you are travelling with small children!!!
Overall we all loved our stay at Thapwarin and would definitely go back. We stayed in a garden bungalow which was lovely and really near the beach but next time I would stay in a beach front bungalow!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki_Per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Located on an island, it seems perfect from afar. Beautiful beach and lovely cabins. Up close, not so great. Food was ok/good, slightly expensive for Thailand. Because of the coral it is almost impossible to swim on the beach, but boat rides to local islands make up for this. The only place to stay is in the (few) beachfront cabins, the rest are situated behind and are nowhere near so charming. Under the sandy beach hides a multitude of rusty nails (!) so wear shoes and take your tetanus shots. The main killjoy was the incredibly mean spirited attitude to money from the management, most unusual for Thailand. Absolutely everything has to be paid for, even a few drops of milk in a baby's bottle. We were practically accused of stealing towels, even after buying four as souvenirs. Really left a nasty taste in the mouth. There is absolutely nothing to do on the island, so one is forced to use their shop and restaurant. Most of the staff are incredibly nice, especially the burmese, but the charmless and aggressive management let the whole show down. Great for lounging on the beach and reading, but after a couple of days you might get restless. Not great for children.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Overall, loved our stay here. You can't top an afternoon sitting in the shade with the view from the beach, absolutely great place to while away the day. We stayed beachfront, very nice, actually worth the money. The negatives... expensive, the restaurant is a mixed bag - the food is good, esp the nightly seafood grill, but is a pretty westernized version of thai food. I'd prefer if they simply left the thai versions alone, and provided western food as well (which they do). Needless to say, the food was good but we had better at the tiny restaurant across the island for a tiny fraction of the cost. Location on the beach is so-so - you're way at the end of the Ngai "strip", and the beach in front of the resort is pretty tiny. Low tide means lots of shattered/dead coral to walk over. Not much to do on Ngai, but I suppose that's the point. Be warned - with the 2010 bleaching event, the coral is in awful condition, the most depressing snorkeling I've ever done (and we tried spots all around the island). Staff is professional, not overly friendly, almost trying too hard to do the upper end thing. It's ok to show some warmth or personality...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyprchrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

if somebody tries to sell you a tropical paradise!
It's been raining (cats and dogs!) for days now, the weather forecast sees the same for another two weeks. No wonder the island is mosquito-infested (the net in the room... is of no help), there is nothing to do except hide in your hut (no rain inside yet, only in the outdoor bathroom: as many showers as you like!), with very poor light. There is a lot of garbage on the beaches as well - though we cannot even dream of using them.
The hotel staff is very friendly, but what should they do?

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sokotiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.7 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
109 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapwarin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapwarin Resort

Property: Thapwarin Resort
Address: Moo 4, Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Ngai
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thapwarin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thapwarin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapwarin Hotel Koh Ngai
Thapwarin Resort Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing