We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Best coice!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We are expirienced travellers in Thailand, now with children aged 5 and 3. We have been to Fantasy severel times before, and we will go there again. It is our favourite hotel in Thailand. We think there are few places left nowadays with the authentic charm and athmosphere, but this is defenitively one. The personel is fantastic and every way. The service is perfect, and they really see you and your needs to have a perfect holiday.
On Koh Hai all resorts, maybe 10, is on one beach. There are no roads or cars, and only a few boats. The beach is perfectly white, but it is defenitively best outside Fantasy that resides at the southern end of the beach. The more north you come, the more corals are there to walk on in the water. That is especially something to think about if you travel with kids. They also have a pool; not big, but clean and certainly enough for the kids. The food in the restaurant is very good, especially the Thai food. Next door is also a new Thai restaurant, the first not belonging to a resort, which we tried only once, but it was also good.
We both dive. On the resort there has been a dive shop (Rainbow divers) for many years, but they speak very little english, and mosyly have older German peaple as costomers. That has been a drawback for us. Now we were very glad that a second diveshop has opened on Koh Hai - Ronin Dive. We did several dives to local sites with them, and we really enjoyed! It is driven and owned by thai guys that really convinced us. We will certainly dive with them again! They have very good equipment and a very nice diveboat.
We are really looking forward to next time here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    170
    80
    33
    22
See reviews for
95
184
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we stayed for 4 nights in one of the big beach front bungalows.

As it was low season we were the only guests in the resort and during our whole stay there weren't more than a handful of other guests on the whole island (we walked around and had a look)

+ nice big bungalow
+ clean
+ nice bathroom
+ very friendly motivated guy responsible to entertain guests (great english and great service). But we were the only guests :-)
+ breakfast okay and included
+ good off season rates (2200 baht)
+ great snorkelling further down in front of the koh ngai resort

- difficult to get to the island (not many boats so we had to charter a longtail there and back which is with 1200baht each way rather expensive).
- bathroom has quite an old gas water heater. It takes a while to figure out how it works - until then it may even be dangerous as quite a lot of gas gets out into the unventilated bathroom.
- staff at the reception (a young girl especially) is slow, bored and not very helpful or friendly. I am not sure what she will do once there are 100 guests instead of only two.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krepppapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I had to check the reviews a couple of times as I thought I had the wrong hotel as most people seemed to find Koh Hai Fantasy Resort ok but it reminded me of a backpackers resort but not at backpackers rates!! It was by far the worst accommodation we stayed at in Thailand. As we area family with 3 young kids unfortunately we usually have to pay over the odds for interconnection rooms hence we booked a 2 bedroomed 'Delux' cottage (don't know where the deluxe came from more like 'prisoner cell block H'!.

Cottage very basic, furniture broken & dated, we had the nice feature of a gas water heater in a non-ventilated bathroom (due to the risk we had cold showers!). Air con didn't work, lots of mosquito's due to gaps in windows. Pool full of chemicals. very limited menu (told due to 'out of season' but this also included milk!

The only redeeming feature was the sea but it's a real shame the hotels don't club together & clean the beach which is a disgrace with broken bottles & little. Anyway if you do decide to stay at Koh Hai I hope you have a better experience than us!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Ngai hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful days in this resort, in Deluxe Bungalow. Accommodation is excellent, bungalows are in beautiful garden where we could watch hornbills feeding on fruit trees. Beach is flawless, we enjoyed very nice swimming & snorkeling. Staff is friendly and food delicious (but do not believe cheff that fish has no bones, I swallowed one :) Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hryzcovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Very nice resort. The beach bungalows are worth the extra money. Don't expect many places for dinner.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scandinavian_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Nice but pretty basic resort in need of some refurbishment. Located on a beautiful beach. Water on a nice day is so clear and turqouise but on a cloudy day when the waves are bit bigger than normally it gets murky. That's how it looked like when we arrived and were a bit dissapointed but when the weather changed it turned out to be a true paradise ;)
Rooms are different. We stayed in two rooms. Beachfront suite first. What a location! You jump out the balcony and you're on the beach! Fab. But the room itself wasn't fab. Looks old, decor bit 80's. Bathroom could do with a refurb. Room size just right. bit expensive for what you get, though. And there is super beachfront villa. And that's what you want. Much bigger, right on the beach.We stayed in villa no 999 - you open the door and there it is - beach. :) Nice inside, spacious, nice bathroom, hairdryer(!), tea coffee making fac.
Restaurant is ok. but then again bit tired. Food delicious. Biggest dissapointment was breakfast. pretty much same thing every day, not much to choose from. Lunch and dinner totally different. wide choice, nice portions, finger licking good. Staff absolutely fantastic.Very friendly and helpful. You won't feel dissapointed. :)
There's a little shop there and a bar, also tour office. You can explore the island on a rented kayak or book a day trip and visit surrounding islands and go snorkeling.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asia_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at koh ngai fantasy resort for 7 nights. Our room,a beach front villa was excellent, when we were first shown into the room it was a definate wow!!, the view of the gorgeous turquoice sea was beautiful. The room was lovely, nice big bed, good bathroom, just lacking tea and coffee making facilities.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and attentive, especially the dining room staff. The food was very reasonable compared to other restaurants on the island, very good portions,and very tasty.

The beach was so lovely, clear water, and a great reef that you could easily snorkle out to. We also walked across the island to the paradise resort beach,however this was not as nice as our beach. The fantasy resort and the thanya resort next door has the best piece of beach on the whole island.

We had a great time on koh ngai, and would definatly return to the fantasy resort in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.2 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
109 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa

Property: Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
Address: 5 Moo 4 Subdistrict Kohlanta Yai Koh Lanta, Ko Ngai 92000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Ngai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Ngai
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Hai or Koh Ngai is the most well-known island near Koh Lanta, Krabi in the Andaman sea. It is framed by many charming islands such as Koh Kradan well-known for under water wedding ceremony, Koh Mook The Emerald cave - Unseen Thailand, Koh Cheuk , Koh Mah and Koh Rok . All of them offer you with a plenty of activities, some of them is the world best place for diving and snorkelling. With its natural and peaceful surrounding; making this small island is the best place for your personal visit; it is the environment where you can feel at home, according to its geographic, you could walk around along the beach for sightseeing or conveniently travel to the other famous islands such as Koh Lanta, Koh Phi Phi, Phuket, Koh Lipe, and Koh Langkawi by boat. Try to imagine to the tranquil white sandy beach bordered by warm crystal clear sea water with magnificent coral reefs, all of them will be provided exclusively for you at Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa ; with our premium facilities we have Ocean Pool Villas faced located at the white sandy beach front with panoramic sea view. Furthermore, we also facilitated you by outdoor swimming pool, Spa, Minimart, Medical Corner, Bar, and restaurant which available for both of Thai and Western Cuisine. In addition, we also have scuba diving service and free Internet WIFI. According to our passion and pride, all of them are combined and presented to you; we hope it will become the impressive experience that will be engraved in your mind for everlasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Hai Fantasy Resort And Spa
Koh Hai Fantasy Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing