We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayalay resort, Great View,Great Beach,Friendly Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayalay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
bretagne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mayalay resort, Great View,Great Beach,Friendly Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Mayalay Resort lies on the beach of Koh Ngai just front "Koh Rock"
Staff is Friendly and helpful,Buffet Breakfast is simple but good.
On the beach you will found enough restaurant to stay a week without going twice at the same (food at Mayalay is also good and not expensive)
Bungalows are getting holdies,specially the bathroom and need to be renewed (some of them are on works for that)
We stayed at a beach front Bungalow and place was fine and calm.
Easy to find Kayak ,Tuba and fins to rent on the beach.
A lot of fish to sea just in front of the resort (at low tide you can see them by foot)
Some rocks to avoid on the beach but it was OK.
We recommend a stay for some days to enjoy this little island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We loved this place and the island. The bungalow itself is very simple and clean. Don’t expect any luxury here as this island does not offer any luxury properties. The breakfast was ok and could have been much better. The hotel didn’t offer any excursion as their boat was currently “broken” but as this island is so small they suggest us to go to another resort that we did and had a very good tour of nearby islands. In general we were very happy with our stay here and will for sure be back here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Half8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed with 2 kids for 5 days on the island Koh Ngai (Koh Hai). The island is beautiful and a paradise for those who look for peace and quiet, but can also get att little bit boring since there is noting else, no "real" life going on. Mayalay resort is beatiful with bamboo huts, and are well placed in the vicinity of the other resorts. At first sight it seems like paradise. The management though, is poor: the cleanliness of the restaurant could be questioned, with flies in the food and sour milk with the coffee, there are dogs barking through the night, loud music played in the restaurant and the cleaning of the rooms are varying from day to day. Our main impression is that the staff are well intended but not very professional and the place is overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Recently we've stayed for a couple of days in this resort. The island Koh Ngai was very beautiful but this resort is absolutely NOT RECOMMANDABLE!!
Reasons; Many loudy dogs on the area of this resort, it almost a dogchannel; dirty beach( they don't clean the beach) quality of breakfast was minimal; accomodation is far too basic for the price; Internetfacilities are poor, just one computer after the reception.

Conclusion: resort without a heart and more a cashcow for the owner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We spend 7 nights at the Mayalay resort and it was a dream come true! We were on our honeymoon and loved this island! There were no tourist cause of low-season, but the weather was beautiful and we made long walks on the deserted beaches and the jungle. Snorkeling was amazing and the people working on the island (at Mayalay but also at the other few resorts next to Mayalay) were very, very nice. To get there in low-season is a bit expensive by long tail boat (40 minutes from Pakmeng Pier). During low-season the kitchen isn't very "active" so there are many thing they "don't have", but it made us laugh everytime we ordered something the didn't have. As long as you're relaxed and remember you're in paradise, "don't have" is really just okay. As long as you don't expect perfection! The rooms at Mayalay are really comfortable and nice, we had a beachfront cottage. There is no ATM machine, no shopping or anything like that on the island, so bring the stuff you need with you! We called Koh Gnai : Our private Robinson Island. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deniseboomkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We (2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 3) stayed in a room at 3200 baht per night inclusive of breakfast and extra beds for the children. This was pretty reasonable for Koh Ngai. Snorkelling is very good, beach is excellent and there are close by restaurants/resorts to keep the prices reasonable and food of good quality.
Positives:
1. Rooms were very clean with a clean and effective mozzie net, fresh towels daily
2. Friendly staff
3. Lots of families with children, mostly German
4. Rooms were simple but well decorated and the shower (open air) was good.
Negatives:
1. No decent curtains on the windows making sleep-ins past 7am impossible
2. No mozzie nets for the children’s beds and the room was not sealed
3. If sharing the room with children there is no-where nearby to go once they are asleep…the front verandah has very uncomfortable seating.
4. The restaurant, including breakfast, is average
5. Bring your own cash as they charge 3% to use credit card (island standard) and no ATMs on island.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I have been travelling around the world since October in search of finding a beautiful un-spoilt island - as everyone is!!
We definately found that on Koh Ngai. We were spoilt really with the welcoming staff here. Yui, Sumsak, Boi, Bus and many other staff.......also Supasan the dive instructor at Ronin dive. (attached to Mayalay) They all went above and beyond what is expected, we have even been in touch via facebook!
The resort itself consits of the traditional bamboo bungalows. They are very spacious and comfortable and have an outside bathroom area that is covered. They were in the process of building 8 more over Xmas. Their were only 8 to start with.
They have a gorgeous new spa that is probably a little pricey compared to the 'beach massages' and massages at other resorts.
The restaurant has a fabulous seafood and meat BBQ every night that is very reasonably priced, the tables are set on the beach front which really adds to that 'deserted island' feel.
Overall a great 'mid-range' place to stay. We will definately go back to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
7.0 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#5 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
7.6 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayalay Beach Resort

Property: Mayalay Beach Resort
Address: Moo 4, Koh Lanta District, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Ngai Mayalay Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing