We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort on a paradise island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good resort on a paradise island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at Thanya Resort for 7 nights in a garden view bungalow. We arrived to Koh Ngai from Krabi Airport with transportation arranged by Thanya (3500 baht for 2 persons). The transportation went smoothly: there was a driver with a sign waiting for us in Krabi Airport who drove us to Pak Meng Pier from which we were taken with a private longtail to Koh Ngai. We arrived at the hotel before the official check-in time and still got our room straight away.

The bungalow was on the back of the property. From the terrace we had a partial view of the sea and the jungle on the other side of the bungalow. The bungalow was spacious and clean, but showed some signs of wear: one of the windows would not shut completely (fortunately there were separate mosquito screens on the windows which were intact). There was a minibar in our room but no safety deposit box. The A/C was ok but a little inefficient. The bed was a bit hard to sleep in, we had some back pains. The cleaning crew folded clean towels as different figures each day which was nice. The room was quiet apart from the wildlife making noise at night. If you are a light sleeper consider using ear plugs.

The restaurant had very friendly staff and good food. The presentation of the food was a bit as plain but the taste was mostly good. The atmosphere of the restaurant especially at night was great. Prices are higher than in the mainland but still not expensive imho. The other restaurants on the island had very similar prices. The breakfast was also good, but the bacon was too dry.

The rest of the property also showed some aging and could use some maintenance (broken sunlounger and sunshades). They should also do something about the erosion on the beachfront. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The island was very beautiful. All the resorts except one are located on the main beach. There are no independent restaurants or shops on the island. The rest of the island is practically unspoiled jungle which you can explore by following a path from behind Thanya Resort. You should ask for directions because there are practically no markings on the paths and we got lost several times :) If you want to go to the paradise beach or the lookout point, do not follow the power lines but go straight uphill where the path crosses the power lines. The reef in front of the main beach is very beautiful and has lots of sealife. The water is clear if it's not too windy. We would highly recommend Koh Ngai for snorkeling from the beach.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalows are quieter and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hewepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    138
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
98
209
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thanya is located on Koh Ngai, as you already know, there is nothing but 8 resorts on the island. Theres only two small shops, but a very nice beach, which is not very clean though. The resorts are all threatened by waves and storms, so the put not so nice sand-sacks at the beach front. Thanya resort had three big problems for us. The bungalows are nice in theory, but in the first bungalow we had a mouse living under the roof, which made a lot of noise in the night, trippling along the floor... We got a new bungalow, even a larger one, but once entering the bathroom there were 5 big cockroaches sitting near the sink. I know that I am on a remote island, I can live with 1 cockroach, but 5 were too much for my liking. After some pest control, this got better..but still..
The restaurant ist also just ok, not very tasty, but it fills you up. We can recommend the 20 min. walk to CoCo Cottage to have dinner. Dont forget to bring a flashlight. BBQ at Mandalaly was also very good! Friendly service though at the resort !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

With the range of accommodation options on Koh Ngai so limited it was lovely to stay at a place with a, pool and decent rooms at a price that wasn't astronomical. The resort is looking a little tatty in places (tiles around the pool missing, broken umbrellas) but the staff were both friendly and helpful. Set in some lovely gardens and right on the beach we enjoyed several days of pure relaxation. The restaurant / bar was expensive (and they added 10% service to everything) but the breakfasts were generous. Oh, and the beach is stunning...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanaber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a gorgeous time here. Fantastic for open water swimming, nice snorkelling and for me the dawn trail running up the back to other parts of the island were sooooo good but took a bit of on line researching cos it's a jungle up there, but you are missing out if you don't get to see some other bits of this superb unspoiled island of paradise. Look we're not fussy people and places are what you make of them and how much fun you have - it's not how the sheets are folded and all that stuff. This island and resort was well at the top end of our backpacking budget and expensive by our standards but hey you seldom regret your extravagances and it was still amazingly good value and an absolute privilege to have enjoyed. Resort prices on the island were surprisingly reasonable given we couldn't leave but the camping restaurant was the best value and lovely. We tried elsewhere as a treat but it wasn't worth paying the extra as far as we were concerned.

Room Tip: Don't go beach front as you will be right by the pool or restaurant. It's no problem walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andytheestateagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. We absolutely loved the island and would go back for sure. Our room at Thanya was really nice and clean. Breakfasts were included that were good (not fantastic) but still good. Wifi is only available at the restaurant which was fine. Our room was set away from the restaurant and pool area which I would recommend. I felt bad for the people who had their rooms right on the pathway that everyone has to walk to go to eat or go to the bar. I would have given this resort a 5 star if they would only bring it up a few notches. It seems as if they are just going through the motions. I believe they are trying to sell it so maybe that is why the extra effort isn't being made. Free snorkel gear is available but when we went to get some fins and masks, the two fellows sitting there just got up and walked away. No help was offered (probably because they don't speak English) but still. Almost all of the fins were extremely big, broken, stretched out, etc.and they are just thrown in a big pile. Also, when I asked if the snorkels were cleaned/sanitized the guy in charge said yes the guests rinse them out under the tap. This is not sanitary at all. They definitely need to address this. Also, the main lobby area could offer so much more if they wanted to. We went to other resorts on the beach that had snacks (ie: chips, pop,sunscreen) for sale. They have lots of room to add things but don't seem to be motivated. The grounds are pretty basic compared to the lushness of their competitors too. We would still recommend going here, but it's a real shame that more isn't being done to spruce up the grounds and maintain what they are offering.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the pool or restaurant unless you want everyone walking right by you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a bungalow at the back. Quiet, comfortable, air con and a good electric shower!
Hotel staff made an effort to make you feel welcome and breakfast was good.
Ate both nights at the Camping restaurant along the beach.
Did the 20 min walk/hike over to sunset beach( wear insect repellant).
Good snorkelling although coral better on other islands.
Well worth a stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jentrip68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a very big surprise for me and my wife and 2 kids, this was meant to be our second to last hotel on our belated honeymoon it turned out to be our last hotel.
The kids loved the long tail boat ride out from Trang fishing pier which took about 40 mins, then the wade through the water to the hotel, once we were there we settled in quick and the location helped a lot, Which by the way is one of the best I have ever been to in Thailand if you are looking for a relaxing and piece and quiet.
We were only booked in for 3 days and were meant to go to koh Lanta but the kids begged me to stay and I did not put up a fight as this place was perfect.
We had 2 bungalows next to each other over looking the pool and sea, my favourite place in Thailand you can spend a lot more money and get a lot less, well worth ever penny.
I recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a getaway from everything holiday.

matt

Room Tip: We had 2 bungalows the top ones you could have and the were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElHaciendahomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.3 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#5 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Property: Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Address: 105 Moo 4 | Koh Lan Ta Yai subdistrict, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanya Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing