We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, sea, sand and snorkelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sun, sea, sand and snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose this place to stay as you could snorkel straight from the beach. This was possible even at low tide when the beach in front of other hotels just became really rocky from exposed reef. The boat ride over was a bit crowded, we transferred to the hotel by long tail and then waded through the sea to the hotel. The bungalow was really comfortable, we were right at the back so no noise from other guests walking past. We enjoyed the breakfast and found it lasted us through until dinner. We ate at the camping restaurant further down the beach and enjoyed the barbecued fish and calamari. A lovely place to relax before our final place to stay before our return to the UK - Bangkok!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alisonjane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    142
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
104
214
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Easy to book direct from hotel by email, they answer quickly.
Room have everything what european needs, space,aircon, clean bathroom and terrace.
Resort is directly on quiet south end of beach, but near other restaurants
and bars.
They have also big swimming pool and large area for sunbahtning.
Beakfast have wide selection of good choices.
Also good and save place for kids.

Tip. Make 20 mins walking trip to other side of island where You can be almost alone on Paradice beach.

Tip. Visit poor looking but Excellent Camping restaurant very near for dinner of Islands best BBQ seafood.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in jan 2014 and absolutely loved it. Everything is clean and modern, and the service is good too. The island itself is absolutely beautiful, and the location of Thanya on it is very good. Great place for relaxing and sunbathing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollentuna
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for the second time and celebrated new years eve with family. Bungalow was new and clean. Service is good and location is fine on one of the better parts of the beach. Restaurant was ok but there are plenty of other options and we liked the camping restaurant. Wifi is available at the restaurant but difficult to get access to when others want it.

Erosion had started to eat parts of the area close to the beach and the beach bar were a bit disappointing this time.

Still a good option for families with a nice pool and close to the beach. Easy track to go to other side of the island to secluded paradise beach which is recommended. Snorkeling was not so good this time as there was strong winds. Resort do not push for activities but there are other vendors where you can get day trip to emerald cave or koh kradan for snorkellng.

Coco cottages also looked good when we had a drink there but they do not have a pool as far as I know.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Thanya Resort was an idyllic, quiet paradise resort in which my wife and I were fortunate to spend the final week of our Honeymoon fortnight.

Thanya is the penultimate hotel on the east coast of Ko Ngai but occupies the prettiest and cleanest patch of the 2km long white-sand beach. It's ideally located for snorkelling at the nearby rocks and kayaking as far around the island as your fitness allows. (All equipment free to hire from Thanya).

The hotel faces East and looks back onto Thailand (although you can only see a few tiny islands beyond the turquoise lagoon of the Andaman sea. These shimmer gold in the late afternoon- quite the sight!).

Food here is top notch. As Ko Ngai dining options are limited to the 6 resorts, Pad Thai will cost more than on the mainland but I'm talking £10 for two starters, two mains and a few drinks. Still very much value for money! We are at several other restaurants on the island and both preferred Thanya's offerings and service, although eating at the neighbouring Campsite is highly commended).

Breakfast was included in our rate and we feasted on eggs (made in front of you), cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts, muffins, Nutella, bacon and sausages. The cycling commute will be a struggle when I'm back in blighty! Restaurant staff speak very little English but who cares. Everybody was incredibly positive, service always swift, and I can't speak thai either. Head receptionist can speak English and was always a bubbly delight, smiling and waving at anybody that passed.

There's very little nightlife so prepare for disappointment if clubbing or late night karaoke sessions are required. Restaurants/pubs stop serving around 2230, most customers having long since left for bed.

The lodging is exactly what you'd hope for: a teak wood cabin with a large double bed that might be hard for some but I found fine. Decent sized porch on which those final few chapters can be read before bedtime in the evening heat.

Wifi works only in the restaurant and can be temperamental. But who would mark down a paradise island because Facebook was inaccessible for a few hours?!

Ko Ngai offers a few more beaches (1 large, 2 v.small) worth visiting. All our on the other side of the island and accessed via the rainforest immediately behind Thanya. There's a cracking viewpoint to find too. A two hour journey there and back full of rope climbing hills to satisfy any adventuring spirits.

Apart from the food, you'll experience very little thai culture here. All westerners. But this sunny r&r was the perfect tonic to follow a week exploring bonkers Bangkok and charming Chiang Mai.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Thanya resort is very nice: clean and spacious bungalows and very friendly staff - the head receptionist was especially kind - sorry, never got your name. Food is fine, however since we like variety, we went to different restaurants along the beach every night.
We celebrated New Years Eve at the resort, a completely new experience for us, which we enjoyed a lot with good food, fun games and dancing!
Both the transfer to and from Krabi airport were arranged by the resort and it worked very well. The only negative thing to say is that it's a pity that all tourist wake up very early in the morning and put towels on the deck chairs and reserve them for the whole day... However, this is probably difficult for the resort to prevent...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_corsblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholet
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 5 days there and it's the perfect place to stay.
Perfectly located on the beach, it is peaceful and one of the most quiet.
Great staff and manager.
The villas are wide, clean and were made up every day. The bathroom however was tiny, a bit dark. Beautiful garden, great pool. Cooking is tasty.
For sure not the best accomodation in asia, but for sure the best on this Island and of a great level indeed.
The Island in itself is great for a real break-up

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugholin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.3 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#5 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Property: Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Address: 105 Moo 4 | Koh Lan Ta Yai subdistrict, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanya Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing