We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Fish...as in literally off the boat!”

Wahoo's Waterside Pub & Patio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish...as in literally off the boat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had the Cobia Fish Sticks 'bronzed' which is lightly seasoned & fried oysters. Both were SUPER FRESH, tasty & cooked perfectly, the 'cool' slaw was crisp & light and the fries were the coated style (not my fave). The bartender & grill guy were knowledgeable about their products & personable. At first we didn't realize that there was a nice little patio for outside seating. Which brings me to my only negatives...dining room is an uninviting disaster & the bar seating doesn't have much of a lip to tuck your knees under so you're probably going to spill a bit of food on your lap. We will certainly return, to the patio next time. Looking forward to see what else this little dive can do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeucesWild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    91
    24
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Older bldg hides a pleasant experience. Patio is cramped far from plush. This is a local hangout with fresh local fish cooked on a flat top grill. Grouper sandwich, fresh bread and cold beer! Well priced.. Chalkboard specials vary. Parking across the street is free. (A plus for beach town) Good lunch stop, very casual.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topgrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best "special board" on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spend a month in the area every year and this place is on the top of our list each time. Nothing fancy, just fresh, well prepared food. The specials of the day always have some excellent choices, not some overpriced run of the mill plates. You watch them prepare your food on the grill at the end of the bar so you always know there are no shortcuts here. Good quality food and drink at fair prices with good service in a friendly pub atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdona649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always fresh and homemade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Wahoos many time times since we discovered it by accident four years ago. Not much to look at but the food is to die for. Their daily specials are fantastic. They always feature a fish fingers which is always fresh that day and it is cooked in the cast iron pan seasoned they way you like it. The seared tuna is amazing a great appetizer to share. The seafood chowder is creamy and chock full of seafood and vegetables not normally found in a chowder a wonderful taste sensation. The coconut shrimp are delicious served with sweet chilli dipping sauce. There is always a special for non seafood lovers for example today we enjoyed a smoked lamb stew served over over mashed potatoes it was simply a taste sensation.

Helpful?
2 Thank marffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub for the locals but great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went back twice, best seafood we found. Definitely more like a local pub (noisy, not fancy) but the service was good, prices relatively good and food was fantastic. I'm allergic to shellfish and my friend can't have gluten -- they were very good about accommodating our needs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NotNancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Waterside Pub & Patio also viewed

 

Been to Wahoo's Waterside Pub & Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing