We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Jewel”
Review of Fox Harb'r Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fox Harb'r Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Canadian Jewel”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I arrived on the 23 rd of this month for an eight night stay. I would usually wait for the end of my vacation to write my review but I could not wait! This resort is above a 5 star vacation get away. The suites are immaculate with beautiful views of the golf course and the Northumberland Strait. The golf course is unbelievable! Beautiful views on all holes. The two restaurants at this resort are excellent! The more formal restaurant, The Great Room, serves breakfast and dinner. Incredible menu selections. The Willard, the other dining option, offers a more casual atmosphere. Finally, and most importantly to me, is the staff who are employed at this resort. They are unbelievably courteous and kind. I must make a special mention of Kristen who was our server in The Great Room and in The Willard. She was an amazingly conscientious and intuitive server. She went out of her way to be helpful and to answer all of our "tourist" questions. She anticipated requests even before they were made. What an excellent choice for an employee at this first class resort. My husband and I have finally found our summer annual holiday destination spot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
64
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dartmouth , nova scotia , canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I decided to go for a drive and ended up at Fox Harbour. Wow, what a beautiful place. We only stayed one night but what a wonderful day. The room was very nice, over looking the first tee and the ocean. We had lunch at the pub, which was very nice and a wonderful dinner in the great room. I didnt play golf but have since booked again in August and plan to play golf, the coarse looks amazing.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful, the only real tip would be to ask for one on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

For our 25 th anniversary maritime golf tour we wanted to golf where Tiger Woods golfed! We were not disappointed and have a greater appreciation for his gift as a golfer!

The accommodations were superb. Our balcony overlooked the 10th hole and the Northumberland Strait. Also I now have heated bathroom floors on my bucket list.

The meals were delicious. We ate in the main dining room, Willard Pub and the patio at the spa.

I even talked my hubby into a massage and "sport" pedicure at the spa. Top notch service.

We are definetly returning on our NOW annual maritime golf trip.

Room Tip: Any room is perfectly located and appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteScott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were 77 couples on a 3 day organized golf event from all over the country. We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time at a superb golf resort. As a guest in an executive suite you had a view of the ocean and the course, fireplace in living room, heated bathroom floors in a great bathroom and a king size bedroom. Parking at the door and a 5 minute walk to the club house and spa/pool. They cleared out the hanger one night for a barn dance and lobster boil with a great band brought in from Truro. We all ate breakfast in dining room but we were too large a group for sit down dinners in the dining room so we had the 'event centre' dining room. Not as nice as dining room with its view of the ocean but it fit everyone and we had cocktails outside it two night. All very well done.. Pool area was gorgeous. As a guest you could play the 9 hole par 3 for free (walking only, pull carts provided). It is also on the water with great views. Nice little course. The main course has 9 holes on the water and 9 in trees - great conditions. We felt privileged to be there and staff were outstanding. 60 staff live on site for the summer and are all well trained. It was about 1 1/2 hours drive from Halifax airport and is truly in the middle of nowhere . Pugwash 10 minutes west and Tatamagouche 10 minutes east. Jost winery down the road worth a visit. We also played Northumberland Links, 10 minutes away and very nice. Ron Joyce the owner was present during our outing and it was nice to see him. Tim Hortons coffee in all the rooms of course.

Room Tip: They have 72 rooms in 12 buildings of 6 units with 4 executive suites and 2 bedroom suites. All on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This resort is like none other! You can arrive by boat, plane or car! Fox Harbour has it's own jet port and marina! The resort is picture perfect...Ron Joyce should be applauded for creating such a magical place. My husband and brother-in-law met Ron out on the golf course and he was kind enough to stop and chat and allow them to take a picture with him.The "girls" went to the spa! It was fabulous...so relaxing with a healthy lunch included. The 5-star restaurant with cozy atmosphere served one of the best meals we ever had. It has been a couple of years since we have been here but the visit is still a highlight of our travells.The only reason we don't go back every year is because of the cost...it is expensive but worth it! This resort is true luxury! We had bad weather on our first trip but we received a rain check and came back to enjoy a great sunny weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Surprise birthday trip with my wife to this "over the top" property. Long drive from Massachusetts via Bangor, Maine to experience fine dining and GREAT golf, along with seeing the fall colors and wildlife. Fox Harb'r Resort, has it's own landing strip / jet port, hunting/ shooting lodge, 5-star restaurant, over the top Spa & pool facilities, tennis courts and THE course located on the North Umberland Strait. One of the nicest courses I have ever played. Tiger Woods holds course record with a 63. This place, ( out in the middle of nowhere) - has it all !!! Suggestion.........Fly into Halifax, NS and drive there (2 hrs), or better yet, fly your own aircraft direct.

Room Tip: 72 Condos on property, all the same..........very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slapshot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Book a King suite, you will nor regret it. Wonderful fireplace in sitting room, ample room, great bathroom with heated marble floors, small kitchenette area and very comfortable bed. Views over the golf course and onto the sea. If you love to play lots of golf, book the golf inclusive package as it turns out to be a great deal. The golf course is beautiful with the back nine overlooking the sea. Take lots of warm/rain clothing, as it can be windy and the weather changes rapidly. My husband and I had no problems booking tee times and could play as much as we wanted. We were never rushed on the golf course. If the weather gets cold, ask for a cashmere blanket and the pro shop will lend you one. There is an excellent pro shop. Both hotel staff and golf course staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. A word of advice, although a very generous breakfast is included with the room and food on the golf cart is inexpensive, all other meals and wine are very expensive, in fact overly so. Despite this, my husband and I ate dinner twice at the hotel. The food was delicious, fresh and local. Unfortunately, there are few alternatives in the neighbourhood. LOVED our stay and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
13.1 mi away
Train Station Inn
Train Station Inn
#1 of 6 in Tatamagouche
192 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
29 reviews
12.4 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
2 reviews
13.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
11.9 mi away
Emily's Oceanside Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Harb'r Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Harb'r Resort

Property: Fox Harb'r Resort
Address: 1337 Fox Harbour Rd, Wallace, Nova Scotia B0K 1Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Harb'r Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 2000, Fox Harb'r Resort has been consistently ranked among the top resorts in Canada by leading travel consumer reports and industry peers. Fox Harb'r is one of only four 5-star resorts in Canada. The resort offers classic elegance on a grand scale with a variety of activities including award-winning championship golf, par 3 golf course, tennis courts, a sporting lodge featuring sporting clay shooting, a luxury spa and wellness center, a private 4885 ft. airstrip, deep sea marina, Ocean front Cape Cliff Dining Room and The Willard for casual dining. In addition to the Resort amenities, Fox Harb'r also includes a private gated community, Harb'r Stone Village, showcasing stylish private residences and town homes overlooking the course and ocean for those who desire luxurious resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fox Harb'r Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Harb`r Golf Hotel Wallace
Fox Harb`r Golf Resort And Spa
Fox Harb r Hotel
Fox Harb'r Resort Nova Scotia/Wallace, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing