We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience...”
Review of La Madia

La Madia
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Licata
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Experience...”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My partner and I had dinner at La Madia during our stay in Licata. Food is just special: an extremely interesting modern take on traditional Sicilian plates…. You are in for a treat!
I personally found the restaurant to be a bit on the “cold” side, both in terms of décor and service (not too personal); nevertheless, the food is SO good, that you’d forgive anything!
We ordered the menu “In bianco e nero”. All courses were extremely tasty, but my favorites will have to be the “spaghetto con scampo” and “tataki sikano” (tuna). For desert, we ordered one cannolo and one cassata.. they were both so delicious that even if we were already full from all the food we had just had, we couldn’t help finishing them!
It’s not a cheap restaurant, granted, but the price is in line with any other two-Michelin stars restaurant around the world. Absolutely worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeBee123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    72
    21
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“First rate restaurant”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the best restaurant we have eaten at all year. It certainly deserves its two Michelin stars. The cuisine is playful, inventive and perfectly executed. The chef himself is very welcoming and pleased to describe and explain his conceptions. The octopus on the rocks was a joy. Very highly recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so very good!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

a real treat in such a strange town. it was a haven of excellence freshness and creativity. the service was a little confused but with no rush and very helpful. a real, real delight!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poundsjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Triumph of Sicilian food experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

What else could you ask for? Everything was worth the 370 euro for a party of 4. If you are up to experiencing Sicilian nouvelle cuisine with a warm hospitality, this is your place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastico! Very nice people, great food and service!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a fantastic dinner in La Madia with the classic 6 course menu. As amuse bouche we had a special burrata/mozzarella-caprese. Especially we like the very personal and nice service. Also the chef explained each course in person. We will come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madia also viewed

Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to La Madia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing