We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out”
Review of Kalamia Cafe

Kalamia Cafe
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Koufonissi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Greek, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Kalamia is an all day and all night music cafe, that you can have breakfast, snacks, cakes, beverages, ice-cream, juices, drinks and cocktails. It is the first cafe in the island, in a traditional decoration. Free WiFi and all cards accepted.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The drinks and snacks are tasty although not cheap (think London Cafe prices) everything is freshly made and served with a smile! Lovely staff, good music and really nice relaxed atmosphere. Free WiFi is useful too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CocoChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited the place just because of the reviews here at Tripadvisor. Unfortunately it was nothing in particular. I asked for a chocolate milkshake and was served milk with chocolate flavour. My bf asked for the famous desert of the place "jamaica". It was basically a piece oF cake floating on a river of cream milk. Also, they did not give any rEceipt. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank froufrouathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis T, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kalamia Cafe, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Customer
thank you very much for your comment. Negative comments are particularly meaningful to us as they help us improve our service. To address your points:
1) The chocolate milkshake's main ingredient is ice cream, as it should be. We do not use flavour additives of any sort. If the product was not to your liking, you could have asked us to serve you a milkshake according to your own recipe, and we would have tried to accommodate your wishes at the best of our ability. To state however that the milkshake's ingredients are milk and flavourings, is simply wrong and misleading.
2) As far as our desert "Jamaica" is concerned, this is a renowned dessert that has been revered for over 20 years, but, again, if it was not to your liking, we would consider your recommendations, if any were made. To state however that the cake is floating on cream is misleading, to say the least, as it gives the wrong impression about the dessert’s texture. Common knowledge states that an object can float only if its density is lower than that of the liquid it floats on, which is definitely not the case here, as can be easily verified by any perceptive customer. Furthermore, that information has no bearing on the dessert's taste, which, I believe, is what should be relevant to us and you. If you thought that the cream’s quantity was more than you would like it to be, you could have asked us for another portion, specifying the exact amount of cream, and we would be more than happy to serve you at no extra cost.
3) As for receipts, we give receipts; full stop. To generalise, like you did in your comment, is not only misleading, but also borders smearing. If, by your comment, you meant that we didn't give a receipt to YOU, and if that was indeed the case, we apologize sincerely. As a customer, it is also YOUR legal responsibility to ask for one, and we always strive to remind our customers to do so, in case theirs is misplaced.
Again, many thanks for your comments. We hope next time to be of better service. We are very grateful for any meaningful feedback that can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Coolest spot in the Cyclades”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the coolest places to eat and drink in the Cyclades. I have had breakfast here a few times, 'Yoghurt with fresh fruit & Honey' ... delicious. Or Omelet cooked any way you like. I have had lunch and even dinner here..(supper too, once all on the same day!). it has to be my favourite spot on the Island. The cakes and pastrys are made onsite and are sensational. They made my Birthday cake last week, and all my guests decided it was the best ever. Yianni, the owner,( and one of the nicest friendliest and generous guys you could ever wish to meet) mixes some great cocktails ( try a Chi-Chi !) plays great music, and creates a great ambience. Free and FAST wifi, helpful friendly staff complete the picture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vendepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
“"Perfect in every way!!!!!!!!"”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful place with beautiful people..!!
Excellent manners and very professional staff.

The BEST coctails on the island...,
Delicious salads and unforgettable amazing spaghetti carbonara!!!

Music is great....!!!!!! and the energy of the place is just perfect day & night..!!

The words are never enough...just ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but expensive”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

A good music playlist most of the time.

Nice staff.

Bit pricey.

Shame there is no food.

Why must a review be at least 100 characters? That's all I have to say.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erewhon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis T, Owner at Kalamia Cafe, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve our services. I wonder though, why you say that there is no food!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamia Cafe also viewed

Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 

Been to Kalamia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing