We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very moderate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souvlaki Sti Strofi

Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Koufonissi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very moderate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The pita, the gyros and the potatoes were cold.

I wasn't satisfied, but it is the only place where you can eat souvlaki in Koufonisia!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefteris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only place in Koufonisi for Gyro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great corner, good product, but my only comment is that the count the pieces of gyro they put on the pita.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stellios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We went once..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We went once for a couple of souvlakia.
We saw people in the line and thought to try it too, but we were not satisfied. We recommend you to try the local tavernas.
We are Greek and we know about souvlaki.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N_E_193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
376 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Delicious souvlaki...well worth a visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I read about this place on several sites talkinkg about Koufonisia.Souvlaki is the greek version of fast food. It is meat of some sort, beef, lamb, pork or 'unknown combination' that is on a giant vertical rotisserie. Usually is served inside a pita (pita souvlaki), sort of grilled bread together with tomatoes, onions and tsatsiki.We went to souvlaki Sti Strofi at night. it is in the Chora, close to Melissa restaurant. You can recognize it by the tiny window from which you made the order and the huge line of people waiting to get served.Being a fast food concept of meal, there is no service. You pick the food to take away or have to eat on the street. There are few tables in front of the souvlakerie that you can use but of course it is a fast meal, you cannot think to sit down as if it was a proper dinner.The menu is written on a little blackboard. You read it, queue, and when it's your turn, look inside the tiny window and place your order to the lady who is inside.It is difficult to read the menu when it's dark and is written in english and greek. So you can find it here below:the menu consists of souvlaki kalamaki (lamp skewers), pita gyros (sort of kebab served inside typical greek grilled bread), pita souvlaki (other kind of meat still similar to kebab), pita kebab (kebab served inside pita), pita lukaniko (pita with sausage inside), pita chicken, patates (french fries), beer and other refreshment... if you look inside you'll see a tiny room with 2 guys cooking hot dogs on the grill and composing pita souvlaki. The food looked delicious and after consulting the menu we ordered 1 pita souvlaki with chicken, one pita souvlaki with sausage, 1 portion of french fries (delicious cause are hand cut!) and 1 portion of souvlaki kalamaki, lamp skewer served with a slice of bread.It was delicious and tasty. The pita lukaniko and pita chichen both had inside onions, tomatoes, tsatsiki sauce, french fries and were so delicious that we bought 2 more and more french fries...the food is pre cooked in the adjacent building and we noticed the guys going up and down with huge bowls of tomatoes and onions to refill the sovlakerie and also an old lady sat on the street peeling and cutting potatoes.the prices are just ridiculous...we loved this place and would definitely come back..authentic, delicious and cheap!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank EuDiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souvlaki Sti Strofi also viewed

Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 
Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 
Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 

Been to Souvlaki Sti Strofi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing