We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk in with your bathing suit and enjoy decent traditional food!”
Review of Finikas Tavern

Finikas Tavern
Ranked #23 of 31 Restaurants in Koufonissi
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walk in with your bathing suit and enjoy decent traditional food!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Maybe the oldest tavern on the island. It's a family run self service place, with a large variety of decent traditional food. The menu is changing almost every day. A good value for money.
The location is perfect, right in front of the beautiful beach of finikas and with wonderful view of Keros island.
The ambience of the taverna is nothing special but the environment is relaxed and the staff very friendly. Ideal for lunch after swimming, as you can walk in with your bathing suit.

We stayed on the island 7 days and the three of them we had lunch at finikas tavern. We will visit again this place for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    49
    35
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kungalv, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a walk around the Island or a few hours on any of them beautiful beaches, it's time for a cold drink and a light meal. This can be enjoyed on Finikas. Here you can sit long in the shade, watch and listen to the sea. The staff is very nice and you can always find something good to eat, there are plenty to choose from. Our first choice every lunch during our seven days long stay at Koufonissi. And also after beach in the afternoon, a cold beer and cool white wine. A perfect day in paradise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“beautiful beach cheap and cheerful food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The beach is stunning without a doubt. You choose the food you want, which is pre-prepared and warmed through, it is very nice though and the ale is cheap which is always a bonus.
We stayed one year however it was very basic and cramped and we only stayed one night out of the three and moved to the posedonion, harbour view for the same price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Basic Greek food with stunning views. You overlook Keros and the noise of the waves hitting the shore makes a great location to eat some of the traditonal Greek fair. Good Greek salad with fresh bread washed down with a Mythos,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonneandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Greece”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Finakas Taverna may not be to everyone’s taste, but for me it’s one of my favourite places in Greece. Laidback atmosphere, good food, friendly staff and a wonderful view of the beach and Keros island. Yes, it looks a bit scruffy, but I think that’s part of its charm. You order your food from the counter, then they heat it up in the microwave. Some people may be put off by that, but it’s what most restaurants do anyway, at least at Finikas they’re honest about it.
The food is rustic, simple and honest, but prepared with love and it always tastes great. The menu changes almost daily (something that’s not very common in Greece), and it features things like (yummy) pasta with octopus, stuffed tomatoes and peppers, (wonderful) goat in lemon sauce, briam (mixed vegetables), grilled fish and possibly the best pasta with shrimps I ever had. My husband and I had lunch here every day during our 11-day stay on Koufonissi, and the food was so much better compared to some of the other restaurants on the island that we regularly returned here for evening meals as well. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jool68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finikas Tavern also viewed

Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 
Koufonissi, Cyclades
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 
Koufonissi, Cyclades
 

Been to Finikas Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing