We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay on Koufonisis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koufonissi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michalis Little Houses
Ranked #8 of 25 Koufonissi B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Koufonisis”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay in Michalis Little Houses. The room was clean, well-appointed and well-located with a panoramic view. The front porch is a lovely place to sit and is shaded from the sun during most parts of the day Michalis is very, very helpful and does whatever he can to insure his guests enjoy their stay on the island. A variety of restaurants are a short walk away. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5CAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Koufonisi and will not be our last!! Our studio, whilst being very greek in it's decor, was complemented with some contemprary touches. Our lovely bed was changed every day and the studio was clean and quiet. Michalis was so helpful and genuinely interested in discussing the world and it's problems!! The island is perfect, quiet and romantic with good walks to the beach. we would certainly visit again thanks to Michalis!! We would suggest the last two weeks in May, just out of season but lovely weather. A great place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Michalis Little Houses are beautiful big rooms with small kitchen nicely decorated (Greek island style), private balcony overlooking the sea (not very close but the view is good). You can make your own breakfast and cook in the kitchen. Very close Michalis has a taverna with good food (mostly meat of his own animals). The Houses are walking distance to town (10 minutes walk). To the beaches you might need a bike/ bicycle. It is a very good place for relaxation and feel independent as in your own home. Enjoy Koufomissi!! it is the perfect island for alternative holidays

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elita-stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have travelled extensively through the Greek islands but this was our first visit to Koufonissi. I booked direct with Michalis having found the little houses through tripadvisor and he was so helpful right from the start.
The little houses are in a great position overlooking a bit of the (small) main town, the sea and the harbour. South facing, you get sunrise and sunset within your sights - perfect! Ours was very simple but beautifully clean and serviced every day by Michalis - I don't know how to get sheets that smooth! A little patio in front of of the room is a perfect place to sit, relax, eat, drink, look at the beautiful view and appreciate the scent of the jasmine. A couple of mornings during our 5 night stay, Michalis mum brought us a lovely treat of fresh honey and cinnamon drenched pastries as we sat outside.
Koufonissi is a beautiful island - white sand beaches, blue sea, fantastic geology on show all around the coast. The meltemi can be a bit distracting but there is usually a sheltered bit of beach to find. We'll be back....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynseyw130595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Michalis has built 6 elegant little houses in the island vernacular style. Mine was very comfortable, with cooking facilities and a fridge. From my balcony there was a wonderful view of the bay, and I could see the sun both rise and set. Michalis was extremely helpful and friendly, with excellent English. He lives in one of the houses in summer, and so was always available. The house was cleaned thoroughly daily. I stayed for 2 weeks, and would highly recommend a stay. The houses are available from mid-April to mid-October. The island itself is magical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I spent five nights and six days at these little houses. It was an unforgettable experience. Forget hotels and swimming pools, think real Greek country living, replete with Aegean view, cascading bougainvillea and simple, simple accommodations. It was a refreshing change from boutique hotels. Our cottage, the one all the way to the right as you walk up the path, was absolutely charming, immaculate and a perfect place to stay on this minuscule island of Ano Koufonissia. Michalis, a sweet and charming man, met us at the Port upon arrival. We loved our little cottage. During our stay the meltemi winds blew all night (and day) long, so no air conditioning was necessary. We slept overlooking the island of Keros and the deep blue Aegean and awoke to this every day. Make sure you bring a French press or Melitta cone to make coffee, as there are not facilities (other than a hot plate) for making coffee. Also, bring coffee (and creamers and sugar, if you use them). You can buy these at the local grocery store although the people there were really awfully unfriendly and not at all helpful, so avoid Benethe store (the main grocery store) at all costs unless you absolutely must buy something.

Sheets were changed every other day and the bed was re-made (I make the bed every morning) daily. Fresh sheets had a wonderfully fresh aroma of lavender and were crisply ironed by Michalis' sweet mother, Lucia. On our first morning, she also made us her signature fresh donuts covered with cinammon and honey, they were absolutely delicious and, whenever we were there using the WiFi, she invariably offered something to eat, very sweet of her; she can not speak any English. The house was tidied every day, trash emptied, bathroom cleaned. If you are expecting a luxurious shower, you will be disappointed. To get a hot shower, you must turn on the water heater 15 minutes before showering. The shower consists of a drain in the floor next to the toilet and a hand-held shower apparatus. At first, we were taken back. After our first shower (the water was perfectly refreshing without turning on the hot water tank, although for those of us who shave, hot water makes for a much closer shave) we preferred the cool water shower to the heated water one. All of this simplicity was perfectly charming. No TV, no radio, no alarm clock, just the peace and quiet people dream of on holiday.

If you must work on vacation, like we had to, you must go to Michalis' cottage and sit outside to get a good WiFi signal (he told us he was going to extend the WiFi signal for next season, so check with him when you communicate and book). This was really no problem for us and we enjoyed having the opportunity to speak with Michalis and get acquainted. We found him a wonderfully warm and interesting fellow who was open and entertaining, who shared much knowledge of Koufonissia with us and recommended dining and spots to explore.

Overall, our stay at Michalis' Little Houses was the most unique and unforgettable part of our three-week, three-island holiday. We found Koufonissia absolutely beautiful, with magnificent beaches (if you don't mind nudity, there is plenty of that everywhere), but the views along the cliffs and road to the beaches are positively amazing. There are a few good restaurants, although we found that most islanders did not speak English either at all or very well; to some people, this shyness might appear to be unfriendliness, but we realized that the locals were embarrassed that they did not speak English and felt self-conscious.

Upon returning home, we find ourselves thinking of this little bourgainvillea-bedecked cottage often, recalling how we sat outside on the patio overlooking the Aegean and the island of Keros to read, talk or simply take in the unimaginable beauty and impossible blue of the Aegean, which one cannot possibly capture in a photograph. From the patio, we could watch the beautiful sunset over the port (which is, quite literally, a five-minute walk away) and the moonrise over the Aegean. Sunrise was absolutely gorgeous and, thanks to the local rooster, we never missed a single one!

Bring some reading material, cards, diary, paintbrush to occupy the time you are not at the beach or exploring this beautiful island. I believe that most people will be absolutely charmed at these little cottages, which were truly absolute perfection in almost every way, something to tell our friends about, something to recall and smile about, for years and years to come. Our cottage, Michalis and his charmisma, the picture-perfect weather and spectacular beaches made our stay here truly the stuff that dreams and memories are made of! Reserve early, these little cottages book up quickly.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi on your patio, book the cottages right next to the owner's, otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a week in one of the 6 little houses of Michalis. The room was very cosy, simple, lovely and really greek. The bed was confortable and the bathroom was really nice. Each room has a small veranda with a table and two chairs where you can eat or simply chill out while watching sunset. The view might not be the best you can find in Koufonissi cause the sea view is partially covered by some houses, but the location is really strategic, cause you are between the centre and the way to the beaches. We've seen other hotels and rooms around the island and I'm sure this is the best one cause it's really tastefully furnished and so quiet. We hope to come back to Koufonissi soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giustifrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koufonissi hotels
0.2 mi away
Myrto Hotel Koufonisi
Myrto Hotel Koufonisi
#1 of 6 in Koufonissi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portes Houses
Portes Houses
#3 of 25 in Koufonissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keros Art Hotel
Keros Art Hotel
#2 of 25 in Koufonissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceanides Residence
Oceanides Residence
#1 of 16 in Koufonissi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Vekri
Villa Maria Vekri
#5 of 25 in Koufonissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petros Rooms
Petros Rooms
#15 of 25 in Koufonissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michalis Little Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michalis Little Houses

Property: Michalis Little Houses
Address: Pano Koufonisi, 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Koufonissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Koufonissi
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six independent traditional houses right next to the beach. We offer two-bed, three-bed rooms and a studio room with kitchen. Ready, just for you to visit them, in a calm and relaxing environment. Built in an open space, with a beautiful view of the sea and the nearby islands. Located in a very tranquil part of the island with easy access to the main village and the unique beaches of our island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing