We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - hard to beat location as well”
Review of Hotel Il Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Portico
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Great stay - hard to beat location as well”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Il Portico and have to say we were very happy with the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, with lots of different lighting options, a fridge, & tv (mostly Italian with some english on MTV Italy) Bathroom was again spotless though compact. It's a relatively new hotel and they have clearly put alot of work into fittings and fixtures and a good finish. They supplied lovely shower gel, shower cap, hairdryer, soap ect and lovely big fluffy towels. The breakfast was served until 10.30 and was very tasty. Cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogarts, all manners of sweet breads and pies, with lashing of very good fresh coffee. I'm missing it already... Another big plus is a lift/elevator. Free wi-fi available just get passwords at check in although it is pretty patchy - just enough for getting emails, tourist info and news ect... Best location is downstairs so I would update my emails during breakfast and then tune out for the rest of the day, They recommend some good local restaurants and if you mention the hotel sent you you get a small discount - same with bike/scooter rental. The hotel is located just behind the main square it's a perfect location. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I would certainly highly recommend this hotel. Thanks for a great and super chilled stay. Eoin and Aoife

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeIRLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    149
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
394
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I spent two days in favignana and i chose to stay at the Portico and i was so glad of my choice.
It is close to the two main squares and above all the owners are very kind and helful.
It is a great hotel with a family touch in an amazing place. You cannot ask for much more.
Defineltely going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Leo and Fabio Gentile and his family really run a great little hotel that is perfectly situated round the corner from the main square and the church. Stayed here again for a few days and enjoyed the hotel just as much as before. It's clean and comfortable. The rooms are great, quiet and well-appointed and the whole atmosphere is really relaxing. In addition, there is a great sun roof with views over the whole island. Good breakfast. The wi-fi is a bit patchy, though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Il Portico is well-located and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend a bike ride around the island, which is easy to arrange. It was low season when we went, so the breakfast wasn't amazing and the hot tub wasn't working, but I'd highly recommend it anyway.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grendel434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

You cannot go wrong with Il Portico. My wife and I had the pleasure to spend 6 nights at this lovely hotel. The location is just perfect for exploring the island, the rooms are very clean and quiet (great sound insulation), the breakfast is incredible (two kinds of homemade cake each morning and all sorts of treats), and the staff are super nice. They gave us lots of useful information about what to see, what to do, and where to go. They accommodated our various requests with courtesy, efficiency, and professionalism. We travel a lot and we hardly ever come across a place like this! If you have never visited Sicily, Favignana Island is a fantastic place to start with Il Portico as your home base.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed with my boyfriend there for a 2 nights in May. Its in the perfect location for exploring the island. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help us when i left my phone there. The receptionist/manager packaged and posted my phone really quickly. The rooms are really clean and comfortable. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vcoathup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chisholmtrail
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Definitely has the best location. We stayed three nights and got full value. The staff is incredibly friendly and breakfast was our best meal of the day. Our sunny room wasn't too spacious but very clean and the view was superb. As others have mentioned, church bells were a bit noisy. We slept with earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chisholmtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola di Favignana hotels
0.2 mi away
Tempo di Mare Hotel
Tempo di Mare Hotel
#3 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Approdo Di Ulisse Hotel
Approdo Di Ulisse Hotel
#17 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
795 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cave Bianche Hotel
Cave Bianche Hotel
#5 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Favignana Hotel
Favignana Hotel
#6 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Cala La Luna
Villaggio Cala La Luna
#10 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
#2 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Portico

Property: Hotel Il Portico
Address: Via Antonio Meucci 3, 91023, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aegadian Islands > Isola di Favignana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Isola di Favignana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Il Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Portico Hotel
Il Portico Favignana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing