We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing.”
Review of Geco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isola di Favignana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this as our second leg to our honeymoon for a week and wow, it was an amazing place. Honestly, as nice as it looked on the website, it's twice as stunning in the flesh.

We booked the top floor apartment with two balconies. In every respect Geco resort didn't let us down. They gave us maps, told us where to go, what was available to do and where the best snorkelling was.

The apartment was huge, bathroom very clean and everything looked brand new.
There are cleaners every day, which we didn't even realise (!) until embarrassingly, our pans from the night before were washed and put away for us. (we had a little too much to drink and left them by mistake!)

It was super hot when we went (June) but the constant sea breeze made it a pleasure to eat and drink on the balconies.

Geco give you bikes to explore the island and what a boon this is. It makes everything so accessible and easy.

The gardens deserve special mention; on an island that is so rugged and dry, the gardens at Geco really are an oasis. The pool is brilliant too, it's never busy, always so clean and very welcome after a day in the sun.

The main town is a busy little place with 2 or 3 supermarkets within a 5 minute bike ride away.

Food generally isn't cheap on the island, add ~10% onto mainland prices but we ate and drank VERY well. Some of the restuarants don't represent super value, but some were really exceptional. It pays to have a look around the back streets and find lots of hidden gems.

The roads are very quiet and any cars seemed to give way to bikes - a first for me to see in Italy!

A few pointers, not with Geco Resort, but generally;
Don't believe for a second that Trapani airport is THAT close to Trapani. It's not and unless you pre-book a taxi or transfer, its not a great place to get stuck. It's a military base as well as a public airport so there's very very few hotels nearby.
We got stung by the 'wonderful' Ryanair and they changed our flights from 1830 to 0630 on out last day and ruined a full 24 hours of the last day of our honeymoon. There was no alternative to get home other than travel to Trapani town the night before. Thanks Ryanair.

Antonio and Salvo at Geco Resort however were great - they organised an apartment with a 4am (!) transfer for us on our last night on the mainland and credited our last night at Geco. Not many people are so flexible and helpful!

Book the hydrofoil as soon as you can. There were some unhappy people when we left who'd not bought their tickets ahead and were stuck on the island for another 2 hours.

A smattering of Italian will help you too. It's fine for us, as my spoken Italian is passable and quite a few waiters did speak English, but in the shops you may need a phrase book.

All in all, Geco Resort is an amazing place and a must visit for those who love traditional Italy and are prepared to unlock their own hidden gems.

Everyone at Geco made us feel so welcome - it's going to be a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForzaItaliaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
106
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our holiday in favignana was a complete surprise, booked by my husband for our honeymoon, I was expecting a good old English seaside holiday so when we arrived in Sicily I was naturally really happy, we arrived at the resort, and its just lush, favignana is not the place for avid explorers the extent of the islands attractions were a derelict fort, lots of lovely bars and a stable block, for me this was just what was needed after a hectic 2 years, and to be fair we were out of season at the end of September, the apartment was lovely, really well decorated and the view from our large balcony was stunning. paola and Antonio looked after us very well, providing bikes for the guests which is brilliant as cycling is the best way to explore the beautiful coastline.
Sicily is a short ferry ride away and the port is walking distance from the resort, trapani is a beautiful city but a visit to erice really is a must.

having cycled round the island I believe that geco resort is by far the best on the island, its beautiful pool, gorgeous garden and olive groves helps, overall we had a stunning honeymoon, I dream of going back all the time, and really hope one day we will. and hopefully before tourism gets a grip, right now favignana is developing and is as a result unspoilt by high rise hotels and boozy brits (apart from us on our last night of course)

there isn't another place on earth I would have rather spent my first two weeks of married life.

Room Tip: there are only a small number of rooms ours was a first floor room with a large balcony, from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casseaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in Geco resort 2 weeks in July. Was a bit worried before the trip. Could bot believe, that there are so good comments and a lot of nice words. But now I am joining those who enjoed their staying. Paola and Antonio are excellent hosts. They are always there, always ready to help you and to give good advise. Feels amost like part of the family - so hospitable they are. Excellent state of propety (nice garden). Our flat was very nice, a lot of small thoughtfull details. Well-equiped ( basic but all necessary things are there. Could not dream of something else for two weeks staying). HAve to mention pillows. The best pillows i ever had in the hotel!!! very comportable bed! Nice and well kept swimming-pool. We enjoed this facility a lot! Great location: very close to the town. Easy 10 minutes walk. But since it is not in the heart of down-town: it is very quite there (ok, sometime on the week-ends you can hear party-party people, who but it is somewhere far away and you can hear them because it is very quite in the neighbourhood) Very nice staff. Very friendly and welcoming. Antonio organized boat trip around the islands and we had a possibility to join it. It was amazing. Very safe and great experience! All in all we had pleasant staying and fantastic memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

My family including two boys ages 2 and 9 just returned home from Favignana. We stayed in a lovely two room apartment that included a beautiful terrace. Antonio and Paula were excellent hosts and gave us and some other guests on our last evening a wonderful party where my Spanish husband mixed mojitos. Antonio might start growing lime trees for next summer after tasting them:). Favignana is really a get-away type of family island where you bike everywhere and feel completely rested. It reminded me of small ports of call in Maine or Block Island off of RI. We made lovely acquaintances and were sad to leave. Thank you to our hosts! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I need to come back and write a proper review here. But in short.. On visiting Geco Resort my wife and I decided to get married there. We organised this with Antonio and Paulo who own and run this fantastic resort. We were the first couple to get married at Geco. It was fantastic. Antonio and Paulo did everything in their power to make our stay and wedding day very special. I can’t say enough good things about this resort and Antonio and Paulo. We will always cherish the time we spent there. I hope to someday go back and maybe Antonio who is a champion sailor will take me fishing for Tuna!! Thank you Antonio and Paulo for everything you did for us.
Five star Resort. Five star people!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent lovely ten days in the beginning of September in the Geco Resort, enjoying our apartment on the first floor, the stunning terrace with a view of the olive trees extending into the sea and the neighboring island. The resort is remarkably well done, with great attention to detail and quality of every single aspect - from the rooms, to the furniture, the gardens and the pool. All apartments were full when we were there, yet there was never any noise or crowd by the pool. Antonio and Paula are gentle, warm and welcoming, always there for the guests. Our 9-month old son loved his first dip and the many subsequent ones in the swimming pool, adored playing on the lawn under the trees... Everything else is within easy reach (walking distance) - good food, good wine, adorable little town, amazing beaches, the best sea ever! Warmly recommended to all!

Room Tip: Apartments on the first floor of the main building with sea view and big terrace with lovely dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frosina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The excellent reviews on tripadvisor led us to choosing this resort on Favignana. We never regretted it for a moment. If you are looking for a beautiful, clean, quiet, welcoming and homely resort to stay in, this is the place for you.
The owners Antonio and Paola were extremely welcoming and helpful. They were chatty without being intrusive and really made us feel welcome and at home. They kept going out of their way to help us and give us advice on where the best beaches were, the best restaurants, etc. They really listened when we asked for their advice and they were never wrong.
The apartments we stayed in (we switched halfway) are cleaned every day by very friendly cleaners who always tried to accomodate the irregular sleeping hours of our 1 year old. Somehow they still managed to fit us into their schedule to make sure our place was clean.
The resort is extremely well maintained, and the large lawn and pool were both wonderful for our little daughter to play in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola di Favignana hotels
0.5 mi away
Tempo di Mare Hotel
Tempo di Mare Hotel
#2 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Portico
Hotel Il Portico
#1 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cave Bianche Hotel
Cave Bianche Hotel
#6 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
I Pretti Resort
I Pretti Resort
#4 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
#3 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Egadi
Albergo Ristorante Egadi
#7 of 16 in Isola di Favignana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geco Resort

Property: Geco Resort
Address: Contrada Camaro 13, 91023, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aegadian Islands > Isola di Favignana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Isola di Favignana
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing