We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clipsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beech House at The Olive Branch
Ranked #1 of 1 Clipsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in 'Double cream' and loved it. Lovely bath, fresh milk available for hot drinks, lovely views, and a great nights sleep. Coupled with a great meal at the Olive Branch it was perfect. The only let down was the weather, but we can't blame anyone for that. We'd love to go back.

Room Tip: The website is very helpful.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Beech House at The Olive Branch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Apologies in advance as some parts of this review are repeated in our reviews of The Olive Branch.


We have literally only just arrived home from our night away at Beech House at The Olive Branch (having enjoyed dinner last night and breakfast this morning at The Olive Branch across the road) and we feel the need to write our review immediately, as it was such a lovely occasion for us.

We are saddened to read the negative reviews for both venues as we totally disagree with them. Our experience was completely opposite and we would award them each 10/10!

Anyway, it is our anniversary today so my brother and sister-in-law treated us to this overnight visit. We stayed in the Berry room and were very comfortable – they stayed upstairs in the Apple room and both said the same, that it was very comfortable (though we didn’t see the Apple room ourselves).

All four of us were very impressed with the House and we appreciated all the thoughtful little touches that appeared everywhere. The lady who showed us to our rooms was incredibly friendly and helpful and we were given the feeling that we could ask for anything if we wanted to.

What a pity it was raining so hard this morning, as this meant we didn’t get to enjoy our private patio which was so pretty and inviting (or would be in the sunshine!).

We also enjoyed our dinner and our breakfast, so I will nip over to The Olive Branch page now and say more about our meals.

Our thanks to DB and SIL for a fabulous anniversary treat – and it was so good to see you again (it has been a while).

Our thanks, too, to Beech House for a super stay, and also to The Olive Branch for their gorgeousness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked dinner b and b with great expectations. A complete, expensive let-down.
Our room - apple to forewarn others - was just big enough for a double bed and dressing table.
The starter of tomato and goat's cheese salad comprised 3 or 4 marble sized pieces of cheese, a few slices of tomato and a bit of lettuce. Main course of chicken and leek pie was minuscule, with vegetables comprising a green sludge in the middle of which was ONE small-finger sized piece of carrot placed vertically. We initially waited for the rest of the meal to arrive until we realised that was it. The sweets were similarly small and uninspiring.We had invited friends to join us for the meal which was embarrassing ; they subsequently confessed to going home hungry and fixing themselves supper.
After an airless bad night, even with the window open, we went to breakfast. Nice room. A mediocre display of cereals yoghurt and ashtray-sized dishes of raspberries, strawberries and apples (for two couples) was followed by a 'full english' which would have fitted fairly comfortably on a side plate. The toast had been brought with the tea and so was cold by the time we wanted it, and nobody came near to see if we wanted more of anything.
We paid and left, never to return. If you are happy with pretentious, overly-priced pap, help yourselves. Those wanting anything approaching comfort, service and value for money steer well clear.

Room Tip: Do not choose 'Apple'
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robchatterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Berry room for 1 night for a special occasion. Lovely room and view. A bit pricey but it was for a special occasion so was willing to pay that extra. Overall really nice house.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My very special 60th birthday was made even more memorable by the excellent hospitality and service that was provided by all staff. Homely accommodation, personal service and a feeling that nothing was too much trouble allowed me to really relax and enjoy myself with my family. I would not hesitate to recommend the Olive Branch to you.

Room Tip: All the suites were excellent and quite individual.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beech House is an attractive property in the lovely village of Clipsham. It is effectively free of amenities and you are paying for the room. We were in the Apple room which at £135 a night was the cheapest. It was quaint in a modern country style and clean. Apart from the expected flat screen TV there really isn't much you can say about it. The room was very small, the bed and pillows not particularly comfortable and the sound would not work on the TV when DVDs were played, it was also a little shoddy around the edges, e.g. paint pealing off the shelves etc.. Frankly this is a very attractive house, but you really don't get much for your money. We also ate at the Olive Tree, which is a quaint pub across the road. This was I am afraid the worse Michelin Star meal we have had, the food is gastro pub style rather than typical Michelin standard food, apart from my lemon tart which was not set and runny, it was perfectly edible but not memorable in the slightest, the service is poor with the expection of the refunded desserts which was quickly and efficiently dealt with. Breakfast isn't bad, albeit the full English was a bit greasy. In summary I would say that both Beech House and the Olive Tree are more style over substance. Not recommended for the value.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Doofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Let me start by saying the rooms at Beech House were comfortable and cosy and clean - nothing fancy but they are like most rooms which are beside a pub. We were greatly looking forward to our evening meal after all that we had read - however having arrived for our evening meal at half seven for a half eight booking, in order that we could have a drink in the bar first it went down hill from there! By a quarter to eight we had been asked twice for our order and by eight we gave in and ordered our food at the bar and agreed to be seated; but requested that we could finish our drink and have some olives prior to our starter. The olives arrived and two minutes later our less than spectacular starter arrived ! Then we had had to wait fifteen minutes to order a bottle of wine so we ended up finishing our starter and not having anything to drink, upon which our main meal arrived. This was quite cold, the rice and sauce on the fish was tasteless and a request for the meals to be warmed up was ignored.
We decided not to have desert and retired to our room hoping breakfast would be better. The barn where this is taken is very nice and there are homemade marmelades etc which is a nice touch. However the buttered kippers my wife ordered were more like those out of a packet and were bright orange and again quite cold. I would not recommend this restaurant or accomodation to anyone as it is not cheap and upon paying our bill the staff did not even ask how our stay was - we decided to leave without making a fuss but will NEVER return - it is over rated and the service is slow and the staff are very haughty.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have a small patio garden but these are looking over the car park in the main.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maxamillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clipsham
5.7 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
891 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
489 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
314 reviews
7.1 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House at The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House at The Olive Branch

Address: Beech House Main Street, Clipsham LE15 7SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Clipsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clipsham
Price Range: $135 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech House at The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Hotel Guides 'Restaurant with Rooms' Cesar Award Winner 2012. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beech House At The Olive Branch Hotel Clipsham
Beech House At The Olive Branch Clipsham, Rutland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing