We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent one-night stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent one-night stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very cosy, popular, welcoming pub/hotel. Comfortable homely bar area with armchairs etc. Management extremely helpful and flexible. Evening menu offered good selection, well-presented, well-cooked food. Pleasant conservatory dining-room. Room very clean, comfortable and cosy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    225
    72
    34
    11
See reviews for
142
326
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have regular weekend stays in GB hotels & this rates amongst the best. A warm & friendly ambience is created thanks to log fires, friendly efficient staff & cosy farmhouse style public areas. The bedroom was quiet, bed comfortable and the evening meal in the restaurant was superb- both food & service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood Staffordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I attended a wedding at the Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, we stayed over and all I can say is it was possible the best idea, check in was swift and the staff at reception were very helpful, our room was ready for us on our arrival and this gave us time to freshen up after our long drive before the wedding ceremony. The room we were shown to was clean and well maintained with ample coffee and tea provided and even a couple of packets of biscuits to fill the gap. The following morning a full English breakfast was provided in the conservatory and all the staff were kind and very polite. If you are attending a wedding at Barnsdale Lodge I would fully recommend you stay over as it possibly completed the whole weekend for my husband and I.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 and there is very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIngwood, Hants.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

If anyone promotes me to God, I will decree that no hotel manager can go in to business without first working alongside the Barnsdale manager. Paul Freeman is passionate about this hotel, and works unstintingly to ensure that the level of food, service and ambiance are perfect. To my mind he succeeds.The staff are outstandingly helpful without being obsequious, and seem to genuinely like what they do. To give you some examples from our stay this Christmas (and there are many others that I am not mentioning): 1. When my mother commented that she likes to sketch but found the weather a outside ( December 24th ! ) made the room a little dark, she was immediately offered a lamp 2. some other guests told me that they prefer a down pillow, and after asking at reception, later went up to the room to find 7 different pillows from memory to down lined up on the bed for them to choose from 3. the housekeeper cheerfully interupted her busy cleaning schedule to show my mother other rooms after the guests had checked out. 4. when a member fo staff heard me telling my husband that I wouldn't have the buffet pate because I prefer it with bread, he turned up at the table a few minutes later with a basket of bread and a huge grin.

No hotel can possibly function without making the ocassional mistake, but here again, Paul is always eager to hear how things can be improved, and I have never known him to be defensive if guests give him feedback - although maybe this is easy when you get as much good feedback as I overhear.

"Our" room has gorgeous antiques, filter coffee, lovely White Company toiletries, lights that come on automatically in the bathroom when you enter at night, a brilliant shower that you can turn on from the basin to warm up before you enter it, a good iron. What really sets this hotel apart for me is that every room is full of character and unique, so you tend to find that people become very attached to "their" room and repeatedly book there. If you like ultra modern, high fashion rooms, though, this hotel might not suit you, as it would be too quirky, but for people who appreciate something different from the faceless anonimity so often found in hotels nowadays, this place is a gem.

I can't recommend The Barnsdale Lodge enough.

P.S I have added some photos that I took to show my mother room 38.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodwalkerMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here as pre-Christmas weekend break with my parents and teenage children having stayed here 3 years before. The welcome is efficient and genuine and the hotel entrance is nicely decorated and welcoming. Our rooms were very comfy although due to the hotel being full over children had a disabled toilet/shower facilities which didn't impress them but the hotel had specially contacted us beforehand to check that it was okay. It has a cosy bar area which is good for pre-dinner drinks and an excellent restaurant (would strongly suggest booking in advance as packed on the Saturday night) The food was fantastic, complented by excellent if expensive wines, do try the local Stilton cheese! We slept incredibly well and greated in the morning by a great cooked breakfast in the conservatory with a view over the surrounding fields. We will most definately return here and have no hesitation in strongly recomending this establishment.

Room Tip: Room 39 is a quiet large room with twin beds facing over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tridoc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Looks very impressive from the outside and is equally so once in!Old farmhouse building which gives a real character to the place.The welcome was outstanding and that warmth and friendliness was there throughout my stay.Check-in was prompt,efficient,and chatty!
My single room was warmly decorated and for a single was spacious and well-equipped.I had a problem with my TV which was dealt with swiftly and without fuss.
The restaurant is superb with a cosy side-lounge where you can chill and relax either before or after dinner.Service on the evening was a little strained as the restaurant was extremely busy (always a good sign!) and a few items were overlooked - I shared a jug of water and a chat with the adjacent table!!
Great night's sleep due to a very comfortable bed and the stillness of the countryside.Breakfast next morning was excellent and check-out a pleasure;both staff and guests jwere full of chat....maybe different if you are in a hurry...
The receptionist who checked me in and out was an asset to the hotel.Faultless.
A really enjoyable stay.Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have now stayed here three times on business. The first room was standard, the second two times the room was gorgeous (14) the food was fantastic and they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. The service is outstanding everyone has a smile. I will be going back to visit for leisure purposes. Thank you to the whole team who could not have been more accommodating. A quick mention on my last visit I had no biscuits, I checked with reception and they had run out so put some home-made cookies in my room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimheadboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Address: The Avenue | Exton Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of this beautiful, unspoilt and smallest county in England, Barnsdale Lodge is a privately owned hotel that remains a well kept secret. Barnsdale is two hours from Heathrow, one hour from Leicester and a few minutes from the historic town of Oakham. The friendly and efficiently run hotel is the place to relax and enjoy for a few days. Guests can try the courtyard for alfresco dining, or relax in the comfy chairs in the cosy bar and chat, or enjoy a pre-dinner drink or glass of Champagne. In every case the relaxed atmosphere is unmistakably Barnsdale Lodge.There are 44 bedrooms, all en suite and individually furnished with charm and style, with views of either the surrounding countryside or the picturesque courtyard. All bedrooms have broadband internet, direct dial telephone, digital free view, a selection of tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryer, iron and trouser press. Guests can enjoy a range of complimentary White Company toiletries in the bathrooms.Guests at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel can expect the very best food; wine and personal service in one of the dining rooms or enjoy alfresco dining in the courtyard. The hotel use locally sourced, seasonal produce to create fantastic dishes, with something to suit every taste. Barnsdale Lodge is open for morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner and is renowned for its private dining.Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge is a place to get away from it all and have time for yourself. Guests can escape from the grind and stress of daily life. Viciente offer an array of services that will put your mind and body on a path towards total harmony. Whether you choose a single treatment or a few hours escape, enjoy optimum health, beauty and relaxation. The focus is placed firmly on guests well being for now and into the future, using their products and treatments for both men and women, which have been chosen with environmental concerns in mind. Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge are committed to guest’s complete satisfaction and strive to exceed your expectations.Rutland is the smallest county in England, measuring just 16 miles square. The county has two historic market towns Oakham and Uppingham, and 54 beautiful villages spread across the rolling rural landscape. Rutland Water has something for everyone. The attractive reservoir has an international reputation for providing a balance of sport, leisure and wildlife conservation and offers everyone the opportunity to try something new; cycling along miles of traffic free paths, sailing, windsurfing, fishing, rock climbing, canoeing, golf, a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Just a short walk down the avenue from Barnsdale Lodge is the late Geoff Hamilton’s famous Barnsdale Gardens. You can also enjoy the delightful individual shops at nearby Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford, a visit to Burghley House or the events at Rockingham Speedway and Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hotel Oakham
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel And Restaurant Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing