We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
353
345
221
119
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
353
345
221
119
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barnsdale hall leisure facilities rutland water crazy golf wowcher deal swimming pool main hall steam room spa treatments pitch and putt balcony overlooking bar and restaurant buffet style mobility issues the main hotel boxing day separate building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We were here for 3 nights as part of a classic car rally, and the whole stay was very good from start to finish. It's always interesting to read other reviews, but sometimes one is left wondering what people expect - perhaps a few of the previous reviewers would have benefitted from reading the details before booking :-).
Our room was large and comfortable with a newly fitted bathroom and we were fortunate to have a balcony with a view over the lake. We had added a night to the organised stay and the rate was astonishingly low, don't think we would have been able to stay at a local B+B for anything like the price.
The breakfasts were very good, with really nice staff pouring tea and coffee and generally helping.
The evening dinners (we all ate together as a group) were excellent, served efficiently to a large group.
Our friends told us the swimming pool was a real bonus.
The hotel is in lovely gardens overlooking the lake and of course it is easy to reach all the activities on offer on the area.
The staff were completely charming and I don't think I have recently been to a place where the public areas are so spotlessly clean.
Great place, would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maddox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsdalenk, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019


Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for stopping with us and for writing your 5 star review concerning your very recent stay at the Barnsdale Hall Hotel.

It was an absolute pleasure having yourself and your group come to stay last week. Very nice to read that you had a large room and all our rooms have newly fitted bathrooms. There aren't many hotels that are fortunate enough to offer the sort of view that some of our rooms do; the beautiful Rutland Water.

We are really pleased that your Food & Drink experience with us for Breakfast and Dinner was so good; your comments will be passed onto the Food & Beverage Manager and his team. Thank you for your positive feedback about the team too.

Once more thank you for your review and your recommendation; we do very much hope to see you and your group at the hotel again in future.

Warmest Regards,

Nicholas Kabbabe
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful view and great room with terrace. Felt special. The modern part of the hotel was as expected. Great bathroom & beast of a powerful shower ! Cannot knock the setting looking out to Rutland water. Definitely would go back. Restaurant prices were high.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reiki2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsdalenk, Front Office Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your five star review of your recent stay at the Barnsdale Hall Hotel. It is really nice to read that you were able to spend some great time off work with us; and you very much enjoyed the room you stopped in. We are so fortunate to have Rutland Water just by us because it really is an incredible setting.

Once more many thanks for your review and we very much hope to see you again future.

Warmest Regards,

Nicholas Kabbabe
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

My daughter bought me a night away in a hotel for a Christmas present and we paid £30 to upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. This is at Rutland water so we expected fantastic views of the lake only to find we were looking onto a car park with a golf buggy parked outside blocking the dismal view that we had. We stayed in the Harringworth room number 618. Firstly, this is not a suite!! It is merely a hotel room. The décor is classic and the room was clean and comfortable but I would have been shocked if this had genuinely been my honeymoon.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the water and do not pay the upgrade for the Honeymoon suite because it is not a suite and has terrible views.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WendyysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying us and thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stop in February at the Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We appreciate your feedback because it can help us to improve our offering. Please be aware that not all our rooms have a view of Rutland Water unfortunately.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Chose this hotel as a base for a weekend break. Didn’t realise that the rooms are not all located in the main house. Neither is the restaurant or bar. Bar area okay but no cocktails available and last orders called at 10.35pm. All in all more of an upmarket holiday camp feel to the site. Pleasant stay, price okay but wouldn’t return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AndreaPerry691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsdalenk, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Barnsdale Hall Hotel. For your information our hotel is spread out and we have 3 main buildings for hotel rooms and a separate area with the majority of the facilities such as Bar, Restaurant and Leisure Centre.

We are sorry that the last orders were called at 10.35pm because the Bar does not close until 11pm. This feedback and the suggestion for cocktails will be passed onto the Food & Beverage Manager.

Once more thank you for your comments and perhaps we might see you again in future.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Kabbabe
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

I sometimes wonder what people expect from a hotel. The room we stayed in was small but very so and clean. All the staff are very helpful and cheerful. We thought the breakfasts were very good. Not waiting around. One night we had jacket potatoes at the bar. Came quite quickly and piping hot. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and plenty to see. The swimming pool seemed to be very popular.i will be going back

Room tip: Too many different rooms for me to know
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 849barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying us and thank you for finding the time to write your pleasant review about your recent visit to Barnsdale Hall Hotel.

It is lovely to read that you very much enjoyed the Breakfast and the use of our swimming pool. However it is even better to read your comments about the team being very helpful and cheerful. Your feedback will be passed onto the team.

Once again thank you for your review of the hotel and we are really looking forward to seeing you again in future.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews