We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Oh dear!
Positives..room spacious and spotlessly clean.
Negatives..service non existent.
Dinner ok but very smug waiter who told us we really needed to spend more than the £25 bottle of wine we chose to get any decent wine!
Breakfast terrible..dried up meagre offerings.
Ordered and paid for morning newspaper which never materialised.
We voiced these complaints directly to the hotel and were offered our £1 refund for our newspaper when our stay had cost £180 plus the rubbish wine we ordered!
We booked the Romantic break..don't bother..either go to nearby Barnsdale Lodge which is a little more reasonable and much more friendly or push the boat out and go to Hambleton Hall where the prices are high but the standard worth it and the service much less arrogant!!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatrice39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    254
    161
    94
    58
See reviews for
171
411
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable spa day at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, purchased as a Living Social voucher and therefore excellent value for money. I can see why other reviewers have been disappointed as this is a hotel with leisure facilities and treatments rather than a dedicated spa, but we paid approximately a quarter of the price of our usual spa for our day out and were pleasantly surprised by the experience. The floatation tank was a giggle, but still wonderfully relaxing, the pool, jacuzzi, sauna area was spotlessly clean and well patronised by friendly leisure members, our lunch was excellent and the extra spa treatments we chose were professional and of good duration. The location is beautiful and our day was rounded off with a picturesque walk and a drink overlooking Rutland Water. Altogether thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jds38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fantastic location overlooking Rutland Water, made even more glorious in true summer weather. Stayed one night whilst attending a function at a neighbouring hotel so did not have long to sample facilities at our hotel. Breakfast was good and staff attentive, position is everything at this hotel. Would like to stay longer to fully appreciate the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I agree with other reviews on here, the hotel is in a fantastic location, but we were disappointed by the actual hotel. The rooms are dark, tired and the place needs updating. Our shower was a trickle. The rooms are noisy, kids staying adjacent to us were audible through the walls. The food is lovely though, so well done chef! There are loads of activities to do, we loved the pitch and put! Plenty of places to visit nearby and the lake can be cycled around. To get into the pool is a mission, having to leave card at desk to get a token to get through a turn stile, but the turnstile was broken and they'd ran out of towels so had to get towels from our room. Would visit again for an active weeekend but i'd get a better room.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My best friend treated to a Spa day through Wowucher for my birthday, but when we arrived there was nobody to greet us and the bar was shut so it was a bit tricky even getting a coffee! When we went for our “flotation treatment” at 10:00 am we found we were expected to share the same brine bath for an hour. To get from there to the Hotel’s pool we had to either get dressed (no showers) or walk through a long public corridor in a towel. The Spa Assistant would not let us use one of the Spa robes as “people steal them”! Then to get into the Hotel's pool area we had to get tokens from the leisure desk and go through a turnstile contraption that would not have looked out of place in a police station! The towels we were given probably used to be white once, but were now covered in old stains ….. It just all felt a bit grubby, tired and difficult. Not the relaxing day we had planned at all!

When we actually gave up, showered and dressed for lunch, our day improved dramatically. The service and the food was great, the grounds were lovely to walk in. We had afternoon tea outside in the sun and spent a relaxing few hours watching the water on the lake. Don’t bother buying a spa day, they can’t do it. Just book a treatment and enjoy the hotel’s food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barnsdale hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stunning location next to Rutland Water situated on the side of a hill in beautifully maintained grounds Because of its location and how it has been developed there is an awful lot of walking and steep steps to get to some of the facilities and attractions. Also the rooms are spread out in a number of buildings so if you have problems climbing steps or stairs make this known when you book or at reception when you check-in. The rooms vary greatly some very small and others spacious with additional bed settees for family use. General fittings are reasonable but towels provided particularly bath are on the small side. Toiletries such as soap ,shampoo and shower gel are meagre so bring your own.

The Hotel has an above average Spa and adequately equipped gym The restaurant overlooks Rutland Water and is bright and airy with a reasonable menu and adequately cooked food.
The girls at reception were helpful and pleasant as were most of the other employees.. However overall I was disappointed because with such brilliant location everything could have been so much better with a little more attention to detail and a bit of care For example no Room Service and a bar that closed too early!

What a pity!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rutland Water. Beautiful to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking Rutland Water. There is plently to do and see in the vacinity of the hotel.Bedrooms vary, ours was around the back and we had noisey guests either side. If you have a choice go for bedrooms overlooking Rutland Water. Restaurant was ok, but you could get tired of menu if you stayed for more than a couple of nights, also watch out for the bill, initially we were cherged for two bottles of wine when we only had one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rutland Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.4 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Property: Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing