We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are fussy people and we loved it !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We are fussy people and we loved it !!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had to choose a hotel for a rare night away without the kids. Barnsdale hall hotel came up on a deal from wowcher and the reviews looked good so we went for it. So glad we did. Great setting, excellent service, spa area adequate for our needs, food great and our deluxe room (£10 upgrade) had great views overlooking Rutland water. Everywhere very clean and even though the hotel was apparently full it never seemed too busy anywhere.Only minor niggles were the overpriced glasses of wine and the fact they had run out of brown sauce at breakfast ! Would we return ??? Most definitely especially at the price we paid (£59).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    262
    165
    95
    61
See reviews for
178
420
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We bought this hotel on a wowcher deal £49 bed a breakfast. This was a brilliant bargain, the room was large and looked out onto Rutland water. The leisure facilities you have to walk to and as it was very cold this was a downside. You also have to go out in the cold to get to the restaurant. The food was excellent and of high quality and a good choice of breakfast in the morning.If you are considering staying here I would definitely pay the extra for a room with a view or you could end up on the ground floor looking at a yellow wall, and these also have alot of people walking past.The spa was a bit disappointing, only one of the jacuzzi was working so it was difficult to get to go in, also the steam and sauna rooms were tiny and always full. As this is also used by members of the public the bar would get full on non staying guests. I would stay here again but not full price it would have to be a deal again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Rooms are gorgeous and very clean. Worth paying a little extra for a lake view room, as the lower rooms have no view. Buffet breakfast lovely and very friendly staff. Spa very clean, includes jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and arrived at night, so in the morning drawing back the curtains to see such a lovely view was a nice surprise. We had a balcony room and a kingsize bed which was very comfortable. The tea tray was a bit sparsely supplied and it was difficult to get the kettle under the tap in the otherwise great bathroom as it was very shallow. The shower was excellent, nice and powerful without knocking you over and the rubber slip mat a welcome extra. We ate one night in the restaurant where the service was a bit erratic and slow, but the food was quite acceptable and the wine excellent. Breakfasts were a little less than perfect although ok, but I don't like buffets at the best of times, dried scrambled egg and 'hard' fried eggs are not my choice. The mushrooms were good, but the tomatoes seemed like they'd been blow-torched. Don't eat pork or beans so no comment on that and no veggie sausages within sight either. Croissants were good if you got there early, but soon dried under the lamps.
The pool was nice and long, although very shallow for a long way and I kept hitting my feet - jaccuzi was alright but the water jets were cold - steam room was good. Showers and changing rooms were good too.
I'd definitely go back but would ask for a room away from the laundry as the driers were going all the time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the laundry unless you can cope with a constant drone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbilQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked at barnsdale hotel for a valentines weekend !! , Apart from one 'board' which had a small display that was it !
The staff throughout the hotel were not helpful and you felt quite bad in asking for directions or towels in the spa area.
There was one lady called 'Annie ' who was in the breakfast room who was extremely happy and attentive but apart from that lady , they all needed customer service training .
The room was very disappointing , quite tired and in need of 'sprucing' up !
Would we return .... No thank you .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I came here on a wowcher deal and don't get me wrong the hotel is in a fabulous location and we had a wonderful room over looking the lake. it had lots of facilities inc crazy golf, table tennis and the spa pool. the room was lovely but felt the bathroom needed modernising, but for 1 night it was fine. But overall the room was comfy, warm and had free wifi, so ticked our boxes.

The only negatives I had and def think this is something the hotel needs to address is the pool facilties. When we checked in we were told which way to enter the leisure facilities, which was the same entrance as the restaurant. when we walked in we saw a turnstyle, but wasn't exactly sure where these led and to get through them we needed a token. There was no signs whatsoever as to what to do or where to get the tokens from. eventually, we wonderd along some corridors and up some stairs and found the leisure reception who signed us in, gave us towels and of course the tokens! So through the turnstyles we went and headed into the pool, which seemed nice. it had a few sun loungers to sit on and a lovely big pool and 2 Jacuzzis. we got in the pool and it was absolutely freezing, the temperature said 28, but it clearly wasn't this. If u wanted to warm up I guess you could swim but this was hard with other people in the pool. we headed for the jacuzzi to warm up and this felt better, but the general temperature in the pool area was cold and when we got out we had no intention of getting back into a cold pool nor sitting on a sun lounger where we also felt cold. I certainly wouldn't recommend having a spa day here until the poolside temperature is sorted. Normally we're a couple who would have spent a whole afternoon by the pool and again the next morning, but the temperature put us off.

Whilst waiting for my husband to come out of the changing rooms I saw plenty of other people looking confused on how to get into the pool, of which I had to explain, so glad it wasn't just us! Also alot people got confused on how to get out of the turnstyles, it was only from watching them that we got straight out!

Overall we've had a lovely night away, with beautiful scenery, but not sure I would pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed two nights after buying a discount voucher online. Check in was fine, although they had made an error in our booking and did not have our reservation - this was quickly resolved. Parking was a little limited outside the hotel - but it was not a problem for us. The decor in the bedroom needed updating, the bathroom was huge and had been refitted. The size would have allowed for a seperate shower and bath; I do not have a problem getting into the bath to have a shower but I know older relatives who would prefer a seperate shower.
Breakfast was served in another building, up a set of outdoor steps or a slope (again not a problem for us but may be for others). We stayed two nights and the two breakfasts were so different! Sunday morning was clearly very busy; breakfast items ran out and coffee and toast was delayed. Monday's breakfast was a delight! We were offered vegetarian sausage (I think this should be an option on the menu if it is available). We ate snacks in the bar on Sunday night. The Caesar Salad initially came with chicken (although we asked for it without), it was not worth the money. Although I can highly reccomend the halloumi pitta - simply gorgeous!
The best thing about the hotel is the location, right on the water - perfect for cycling or walking. I think the hotel should invest in better cycle storage; it is what people want to do at Rutland Water and I would not leave our bikes attached to wall with no covering.
The staff were all very polite and I would return - the lodges look gorgeous. It was very close to getting 4 stars - just the one or two issues mentioned meant I could not give it a 'very good' rating - but please do not be discouraged from going, it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.4 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
551 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Property: Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing