We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pamper day with champagne lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely pool, great steam room and lovely lunch. Our waitress was very accommodating - although she made a mistake with our main courses - there were two pasta dishes on the menu and we were brought the wrong one. Never mind, ate it anyway (delicious, as were the puddings). The young man at the leisure centre reception was hopeless. When I booked this I did check the lunch times, so was surprised to hear that we couldn't eat until 2pm. Queried this, confirmed that it was lunch and still told no, it had to be 2pm. Whlist my friend was getting coffee, I wandered into the restaurant to ask - yes, 1pm was possible - being Monday they only had three confirmed lunch bookings. Besides, 2pm the restaurant is closed - so if I hadn't asked we would have had no lunch at all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdexterlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 951 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a lovely week in Rutland we made the mistake of eating here.

The worst food served by disenchanted staff, all in all a disaster.
Do not eat here.

The food was cleverly ( misleadingly) described on the menu, but the reality was the poorest 'boil in the bag' type cheepo pub mush.

Did not stay at the hotel so cannot commebt on the rooms, the setting was perfect, lovely lakeside views.

On the other hand the similarly named Barnsdale Lodge just over the road was a delight.

Room Tip: did not stay so please disregard my score for rooms etc. No other way of posting a report other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

I am sorry to read your comments concerning our food served at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We take great pride in our offering here and strive to exceed our guests expectations. I can assure you that all our meals are prepared fresh to order in our Kitchens by our Chefs and that no dishes are "Boil in a bag". We have seen many complimentary comments on our Trip Advisor page over the last 12 months about our food offering and our Customer Service from our waiting staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights here as a relaxing break from life. We didn't go offsite just simply used all of the facilities and ate in the restaurant and bar. There are so many positive things to say. We stayed in the main hall which was in a room that was recently refurbished. Give this is a try. Breakfast is a buffet with a very good selection. My only negative point is that the bed is a little soft. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda78LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

You pay for the location not the experience.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and the views are stunning. Our room was very nice with an excellent view and was clean. The leisure facilities are reasonable but children were allowed to keep jumping in the pool when people were swimming.The bar and restaurant are not in keeping with the look of the hotel. Messy tables in the bar which were not cleaned. The food in the restaurant was extremely poor and was not up to a 3 star rating. The customer service during the evening meal was awful and many diners were complaining. The overall stay was very expensive, not value for money and very disappointing.
We would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed in one of the ground floor Old Stable apartments. It was very clean and well fitted out. It was quite dark, having only a few windows but not too much of a problem -it just made it more snug. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well (too well maybe!!) but the bedroom itself was damp -it smelled extremely so and I spotted places where mould had been wiped away/ bleached. I would think the flat needs a proper damp proof course or else more reliable heating than storage heaters. The jacuzzi and pool area was nice but the decking around the jacuzzis tired and somewhat mouldy too. One of the jacuzzis stopped working while we were there -I've seen this was also the case in June from another review, so hopefully they're planning to overhaul them when they refurb the pool, as they've said they will be doing in the new year. Nice grounds however and brilliant location overlooking the lake. I think staying in one of the lodges would be ideal with a family but I wouldn't return unfortunately.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited here as had a voucher for a spa day with afternoon tea. Arrived at 1pm and reception was quite busy with several lady members making enquiries of the 1 girl on the desk and a few children mooching about, as "splash time" had just ended. A token is required to get through the glass turnstile after going down a long corridor and several flights of stairs, and £1 coin needed for locker, which we did not have as did not know about but the receptionist lent us a coin each. The changing area was very clean with cubicles, showers, toilets and hair dryers. The swimming pool was definitely one of the best country house pools I have been in, especially as it had different depth levels which is so rare nowadays as they all seem to be one depth which is invariably about 1.2 metres (too shallow). The water was also on the chilly side so you had to keep moving to stay warm! The 2 jacuzzis were very warm and pleasant but I was unimpressed that children over the age of 8 were allowed in them (is nothing sacred for adults any more?) as my past experiences have said nobody under 16. This was doubley annoying as 2 boys aged approx 10 decided to run up and jump in, thereby cascading water all over us in the next door jacuzzi- not exactly appropriate behaviour. The steam room was pleasant but not the steamiest I have ever used and a man in the sauna, that my husband went into, decided it was appropriate to take out shaving gel and a razor and start having a shave, which is quite revolting.
After our spa we were directed to the brasserie (opposite the glass turnstile) for our 2.30pm booking where we were treated to 2 finger sandwiches each of smoked salmon (not nice), egg mayo that also tasted of mustard (must have used the same knife as for the ham and mustard sandwiches) and some plain cheese (which I specially requested), 2 mini jam and cream sponges, 2 ginger shortbread, 2 chocolate flapjack with pistachio and 2 fruit scones with jam and clotted cream. The scones looked good but were a great disappointment as very dry and not sweet like scones from other venues. The tea was plentiful and regularly topped up by the pleasant staff. The ambience was good and it made a nice change to be seated at a proper table rather than being in armchairs attempting to eat on your knee from a coffee table. The view overlooking Rutland Water in between the wooden lodges was stunning on a crisp, clear November day.
Good points and bad points but for the price this was a great day out amidst some beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were treated by a family memebr celebrating a significant birthday who generousy paid for all her siblings( and partners) and all her husband's siblings ( and partners) to spend two nights dinner bed and breakfast,a s well as Sunday lunch in this wonderful hotel. They also occupied a suite in the main hotel, which acted as a gathering place for us all during the day and for predinner drinks, which made our stay the more enjoyable.

The food: We chose our menus in advance. The selections did not disppoint and ranged from the interesting - hake on chilli noodles - to the straightfoward ( steak). All meals were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Starters and desserts were similarly varied and delicious.
The Sunday carvery offered a choice of three roast meats with all the trimmings as well as two interesting non meat alternatives ( salmon and vegetarian lasagne).

The accomodation: the hosts' suite was wonderful - one double and two twin bedrooms with one ensuite bahroom, one other bathroom a fully fitted kithchen and a HUGE, warm and light reception room with a range of excellent settees and easy chairs, a table to seat at least a dozen people ( and all the crockery and glassware), a fully fitted kitchen with breakfast bar and a marvellous view over the lake. The sunset was spectacular.

Our room was in one of the several small satellite hotels that are all interlinked yet separate entities. The room was not large but was perfectly adequate and fitted with iron, tv, coffee making equipment etc. The walk to the restaurant was easy and pleasant, following meandering paths through the pinetrees.

The spa + leisure centre: I had an excellent pedicure. The pool was fine - not very special but a good size and warm with two jaccuzzi, a steam room and sauna. It was busy with small children until 6pm then miraculously cleared.

We ended up being about 20 in our group. there are so many accomodation options ( hotel rooms, log cabins etc) that I am sure almost everybody would find a combination to suit them. there is plenty for everyone to do - walking, cycling, tennis, children's playground, bowls etc and there is plenty to do locally including visiting barnsdale gardens, visiting Oakham or Stamford (both delightful towns)

Room Tip: The windsor suite is excellent ( but I suspect also pricy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.4 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
615 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
3.8 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
509 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range: $102 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing