We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location; Disappointing Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mjejane River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Stunning Location; Disappointing Facility”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Mjejane review


At the outset I should say that Mjejane's location forgives a lot of sins. It is surrounded by Kruger National Park with its abundant game, making it an ideal vacation spot for wildlife lovers. Despite its many flaws, and as the property is further developed, Mjejane might be a reasonable choice.

The night we arrived it was dark and as we traveled from the main road (N4) down the 8 km gravel road to our chalet, a male lion, in full mane, sauntered right past our car. It literally came within 18 inches of us and stared straight at my wife!

The game drives that Mjejanae offers are fairly tame. They are confined to their reserve, but on the one and only game drive we did with them we did see five lions hunting in a pack. The rest of our game drives we self-drove through the incomparable Kruger.

The lodge we stayed in (#75) was quite nice, with two bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs and a loft with double beds upstairs. There are first and second floor decks. Everything was clean.

In the pool area there is an oversized chess set, a play gym for children, sand box and open lawn. There is a small store to buy water, charcoal and a few other items. Town with the nearest grocery store is about 25 km away (Melelane).

On the negative side, you are adjoined by another unit and the walls are fairly thin, so you hear walking, talking and television. When we arrived there were holes in the ceiling of the bathroom (see image). The shower in that bathroom was a mere trickle and when we went to turn the shower head to get that trickle away from the wall so you could at least pretend you were showering, it broke (see image). It took a full 3 days before it was repaired.

In the master bathroom the water drained so slowly that it backed up and flooded the bathroom every time we showered (see image). The glass divider between the shower and the bathroom was lined with dark mold along its base (see image).

If you elect to stay here you should also pay attention to the checklist that you are given upon arrival. It documents all items in the unit. We found numerous items missing and reported them at once.

Some of the pots and pans were a bit used, as can be seen by the image. We could not even use one of the frypans because the Teflon coating was worn away, creating a health hazard.

There are no laundry facilities at all on the property, a real drawback if you are spending a week, as we did. There is also no Internet access in the units themselves. You have to go to the reception area to go online or use their WiFi connection and even then it can be slow if more than one person is online. Another problem is that if you want to use the reception area at night you must drive the short distance, as it can be dangerous walking there at night. Also, the reception area is open only for limited hours during the day and closed at night, so there is infrequently anyone to offer help.

There is a pool on the property, but sediment on the bottom of the pool and cloudy water was not appealing to us.

The staff is generally friendly and helpful, at one point even washing our car for us (extra, of course). The restaurant at the River Lodge is nice. The atmosphere is very pleasant, candle-lit, with the tables surrounding an open pit fireplace. The food, however, was good, but not great. However the prices were very reasonable.

One extremely irritating thing is that every time you enter or leave the property you must hand fill out a sheet that asks for your telephone number, car license, time in/out, number of persons, name and date. Something should be done to make this process far easier.

I do not want to appear as the ungrateful American. In fact, we put up with these issues without a hassle and always with a smile and a positive attitude. But I feel that it would be a disservice to fellow travelers to not give an honest and realistic assessment of the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mr Picker

Please be advised that this Trip Advisor Account is for Mjejane River Lodge and not for the Timeshare. You are welcome to send your feedback directly to Leisure Options.

Kind regards

Craig Bester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    80
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
61
84
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I recently stayed at this Lodge with a friend on a Saga holiday. We had an amazing week going out on Game Drives every day, our Ranger/Guide was William who is very knowledgeable - especially about the birds - he also has a wicked sense of humour!!
The rooms are chalet type, all facing Crocodile River with views across to the Kruger Park. We saw Hippos, Crocodile, Impala, Cape Buffalo and Warthogs all from our room. (A family of warthogs even visited the lodge gardens on a couple of occasions).
The food is excellent - the only comment I can make is that they required decision on what we wanted for lunch immediately after breakfast!! But having said that, the choice is very good and most of it was cooked to perfection, the chef often came out to ensure all was well. A wonderful place to stay and enjoy the wildlife of Africa - we were even lucky enough to see a cheetah - a rarity apparently, so you never know what is out there.

Room Tip: I would say that Room 8 has the best view (we were lucky enough to get this room) which has views la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binzi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the resort.

First of all, all amenities are superb. You will not and cannot find better. The rooms and lodges are modern yet rustic, incorporating the life and vigor of the African bush.
The people and staff are amazing and so well informed. We were treated like royalty.
I love the fact that Africa literally walks up to your doorstep en greets you every morning.
The private entry into the Kruger park provides a relaxed vacation, by avoiding the standard queues at the main gates of the park .

Please spoil yourselves at this destination.....we most certainly will keep doing the same

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercades S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October on a Saga holiday. We had lodge 8 which was the furthest but had brilliant views over the river. We saw 4 of the big 5 at our lodge including a lioness coming to the water's edge to drink. There is always some animal life moving around on the far bank.We had 2 game drives each day (3+ hour*2) with exceptionally knowedgeable rangers. By mixing bird watching and animal spotting there was someting always happening.
The lodge overall was excellent - not fair to comment on food as the ownership was changeing and it seemed to be improving form an OK base. Rooms were large and very comfortable, it is quiet and is just as shown on the web site.
All in all an excellent place to stay - we'll be going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms 7&8 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grumpy_Old_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently stayed at Mjejane as part of an organised holiday.This lodge proved to be a good choice, even better than stated in the literature. The setting is absolutely fantastic! Right on the side of the aptly named Crocodile river, as many crocs were seen. Hippos, elephants, water bucks, kudo and buffalo were all daily visitors. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the food good and plentiful (tho the packed lunches on the two organised excursions were a little disappointing). The morning and evening game drives are made even better by having a very knowledgeable and pleasant driver/guide (in our case the Ranger's name was December). We had a full days game drive in the Kruger National park which was fantastic. We were lucky enough to witness a rhino capture (for re-location) which was very exciting and almost never seen by tourists apparently. Saw 4 of the Big Five (the leopard being truly elusive).
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, temperatures of 30 plus degrees added to the experience. Would certainly stay at Mjejane again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fortunately the reps, staff and game warden/drivers were good and the setting was lovely at Mjejane River Lodge. There were no big cats in the reserve, the food was poor and the game-drive vehicles were poorly maintained. We had five punctures within the week of which four were in the Kruger trip. The prop-shaft was at its end and we wondered if it would last the game drives. The room was ok except the separate toilet had no washbasin and the bathroom/shower was very dark as was the room. The small pool was not very inviting as very green and slippery. The Saga holiday was expensive for what we experienced and very, very disappointing. Would never travel with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maturetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently spent a week at Mjejane River Lodge as part of our Interval International exchange. The property was exactly as it had been represented, in fact, better. Our unit was large, spacious and well-appointed, and our placement overlooking the Crocodile River was exceptional! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the game viewing impressive for a private reserve. A special treat was the evening BBQ meal elegantly set around a large fire pit in a picturesque grove of trees. Having a car is a must if you plan to visit KNP, and 4-wheel drive is recommended as many of the roads are rough. We visited in early June and loved the cooler temps with no rain. Had an awesome time on our first trip to South Africa!! Special nod to our Game Ranger, Patrick, Chef Warren, and our cleaning staff, Goodness and Suginsi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hectorspruit
12.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
378 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
326 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
189 reviews
14.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
16.0 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#88 of 174 in Kruger National Park
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mjejane River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mjejane River Lodge

Property: Mjejane River Lodge
Address: 2km after Hectorspruit off the N4 | Traveling East towards Komatipoort, Hectorspruit 1330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hectorspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hectorspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mjejane River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service Lodge offering Meals & Game Drives in Big 5 Territory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mjejane River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mjejane River Hotel Hectorspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing