We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mjejane River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Buffalo Hotel(Hectorspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gazebo Lodge - Hostel(Hectorspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
102
88
26
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
88
26
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame driveskruger parkgame reservebush experiencebuffet styleprivate reservecrocodile bridgesouthern africagreat safaria lovely stayeasy accessafternoon driveexcellent rangerssense of humourafrican safariherd of elephantsbush buck
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 231 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was my second stay at the resort.

First of all, all amenities are superb. You will not and cannot find better. The rooms and lodges are modern yet rustic, incorporating the life and vigor of the African bush.
The people and staff are amazing and so well informed. We were treated like royalty.
I love the fact that Africa literally walks up to your doorstep en greets you every morning.
The private entry into the Kruger park provides a relaxed vacation, by avoiding the standard queues at the main gates of the park .

Please spoil yourselves at this destination.....we most certainly will keep doing the same

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mercades S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October on a Saga holiday. We had lodge 8 which was the furthest but had brilliant views over the river. We saw 4 of the big 5 at our lodge including a lioness coming to the water's edge to drink. There is always some animal life moving around on the far bank.We had 2 game drives each day (3+ hour*2) with exceptionally knowedgeable rangers. By mixing bird watching and animal spotting there was someting always happening.
The lodge overall was excellent - not fair to comment on food as the ownership was changeing and it seemed to be improving form an OK base. Rooms were large and very comfortable, it is quiet and is just as shown on the web site.
All in all an excellent place to stay - we'll be going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms 7&8 have the best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grumpy_Old_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently stayed at Mjejane as part of an organised holiday.This lodge proved to be a good choice, even better than stated in the literature. The setting is absolutely fantastic! Right on the side of the aptly named Crocodile river, as many crocs were seen. Hippos, elephants, water bucks, kudo and buffalo were all daily visitors. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the food good and plentiful (tho the packed lunches on the two organised excursions were a little disappointing). The morning and evening game drives are made even better by having a very knowledgeable and pleasant driver/guide (in our case the Ranger's name was December). We had a full days game drive in the Kruger National park which was fantastic. We were lucky enough to witness a rhino capture (for re-location) which was very exciting and almost never seen by tourists apparently. Saw 4 of the Big Five (the leopard being truly elusive).
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, temperatures of 30 plus degrees added to the experience. Would certainly stay at Mjejane again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fortunately the reps, staff and game warden/drivers were good and the setting was lovely at Mjejane River Lodge. There were no big cats in the reserve, the food was poor and the game-drive vehicles were poorly maintained. We had five punctures within the week of which four were in the Kruger trip. The prop-shaft was at its end and we wondered if it would last the game drives. The room was ok except the separate toilet had no washbasin and the bathroom/shower was very dark as was the room. The small pool was not very inviting as very green and slippery. The Saga holiday was expensive for what we experienced and very, very disappointing. Would never travel with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maturetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently spent a week at Mjejane River Lodge as part of our Interval International exchange. The property was exactly as it had been represented, in fact, better. Our unit was large, spacious and well-appointed, and our placement overlooking the Crocodile River was exceptional! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the game viewing impressive for a private reserve. A special treat was the evening BBQ meal elegantly set around a large fire pit in a picturesque grove of trees. Having a car is a must if you plan to visit KNP, and 4-wheel drive is recommended as many of the roads are rough. We visited in early June and loved the cooler temps with no rain. Had an awesome time on our first trip to South Africa!! Special nod to our Game Ranger, Patrick, Chef Warren, and our cleaning staff, Goodness and Suginsi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews