We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Bala Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bala Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Reviewed July 30, 2013

For lunch on the patio, the Bala Bay is a great place. Lunch was excellent, we really enjoyed our shrimp wrap and a good selection of food was available. Friendly service, we would go back here. It is also great for take out meals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my 1st time eating at Bala Bay Inn...I had the Mac n Cheese and it was amazing..as our server said it is decadent. We had 7 people in our party and everyone was extremely happy with the service, decor and the food. You can eat in the bar or in the dining room (white table clothes)

I would definitely recommend eating here, can't wait to try something different on the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate there the other night. It was later when we arrived 9 pm ish on a Thursday. We were promptly seated on the patio. Drinks arrived quickly. Good starter cesar salad.
Two of us had the burger and fries -they were very good. The kids both had mac n cheese and they gobbled it up.
Overall good dinner would eat there again.
The bar is kind of rustic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank linesman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala-Bay-Inn, Consultant at Bala Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi Linesman 10

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The management team was happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hand Cut Fries & Burgers made in house! We look forward to having you join us again this fall or next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently stayed one night with a group of my friends. We arrived later in the evening and wanted to grab a bite to eat on the huge patio. The serving/kitchen staff were nice enough to keep the kitchen up for us. We ended up ordering from the late night menu and it was fantastic and really hit the spot! Our server was also on the mark and did a great job at making sure our thirsty crew did not have an empty drink.

The rooms were cozy and the AC awesome with the hot weather. Overall the Bala Bay Inn along with its friendly staff have great character and I will be recommending it as a perfect place to stay while in Muskoka!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala-Bay-Inn, Manager at Bala Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi MrLotto

Thank you for your feedback. We are really glad to hear that the service, food, and atmosphere were all to your liking! We look forward to serving you again.

Operations Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My sisters and I spent 2 nights at the Bala Bay Inn last weekend, while in town for a concert.

Yes, the rooms are small, but the air conditioning units blast cold air, so the rooms are not hot. We stayed in room 319 - apparently haunted - but sadly did not see Mr. Sutton, but we hear he was a very nice man.

The hotel is lovely, and so charming, it reminds me of small independent hotels in Europe. A very nice lounge area, lovely winding staircase to get the to the roooms. The staff are so polite and very helpful. When we booked a reservation for dinner before the concert, we were asked if we had any allergies they should be aware of. I don't remember the last time anyone asked me that when making a reservation - at the highest end restaurants.

The on site restaurant is excellent. The food quality, preparation and price is very good. The patio is great with a view of the lake. Nice spot across the road to sit on the dock and this space is for Bala Bay Inn guests only.

The hotel doesn't deserve the bad reviews. Sadly, when concerts are in town that draw a young crowd, this can cause lots of problems. We came to see Matt Good, so an older crowd, and we slept very well.

I will definitely be returning to Bala to go back to the Kee, and will stay at the Bala Bay Inn.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the stairs, and we had a room at the end of the hall, which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfamily627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala-Bay-Inn, Manager at Bala Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi beachfamily627

Sorry to hear that Mr Sutton didn't pay you a visit in your haunted room.

We are however really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff went the extra mile for you. We look forward to serving you again.

Operations Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Dined for lunch on the patio with my husband. I had read so much about the Bala Bay Inn over the years and I was excited to finally see the hotel. What a total disappointment from the moment we walked in. The hotel is in shabby shape and in dire need of TLC and a major reno. The patio was the same: worn and outdated patio furniture of very low quality. The washrooms are an embarrassment; totally filthy and so tiny it is uncomfortable to use.

OK, I'm done complaining, now the good. We ordered fish and chips and a flatbread pizza, a 12 ounce beer and a margarita. The food was excellent: fresh ingredients.

Now more bad: service was slow and we were overcharged for our drinks.

Overall, my husband said he'd be back solely because the food was so good. I'll need more convincing....

Just know what to expect....this place isn't the Ritz and rides on the coattails of being one of the few dining options available.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala-Bay-Inn, Manager at Bala Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed the food, it is the reason we have had so many repeat customers over the past several years. Your comments about the lobby surprise us but we recognize that everyone’s tastes are different. The original tin ceiling and mahogany stair case are 103 year-old features of Muskoka’s oldest brick hotel that we would not want to renovate as we feel it might affect the charm of the hotel. Many people have commented that the hotel lobby is the most styli aspect of the hotel. Holly Dyment, one of Canada’s more prominent designers (now retired)chose the furniture and designer wallpaper. The forest pictures are done by a well known Toronto photographer Barbara Stoneham.

I agree, the patio could use some paint touch ups since we painted it in May, but we have had such a busy summer, we won’t be able to do this until the season is over! We do make substantial investments to improve the hotel every year but it is difficult to do this for a business that is only operating 3-4 months per year. Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to your return for a fabulous meal!

Operations Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My two girlfriends and I stayed at the Bala Bay Inn for one night last week. The room were VERY clean! We ate at the restaurant downstairs-> I had the turkey club with sweet potato fries -> AWESOME and FRESH! The girls @ the front desk and the owner ( Liz) were sooooo accommodating and friendly! THe locations is great, amazing view of the lake. We will be back for another stay soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala-Bay-Inn, Manager at Bala Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi Paige J

Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to hear that you loved the food and the sweet potato fries. We will also pass along your feed back to the staff. We hope to see you again.

Operations Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
337 reviews
9.9 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bala Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala Bay Inn

Address: Muskoka Road HW169, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud that the Bala Bay Inn is 101 years old and was the first brick hotel in Muskoka, Ontario. During your stay, you can see and feel the colossal history that once took place in the hotel. After several renovations, the current owners of 7 years created a wonderful boutique hotel with 35 rooms located in the heart of Muskoka. With a #1 rated patio by "The Muskokan," you will be sure to be provided with excellent service, cold beer and great food. Bala Bay Inn has also become the perfect destination for affordable, memorable weddings, where you feel like you own the hotel for the weekend. With an exceptional wedding planner, and a great banquet team ready, you are sure to have the wedding of your dreams. We are also a great location for partygoers and concert lovers. Being across the street from the Kee to Bala, we can offer a safe and friendly place to stay after attending your favourite concert. Like us on Facebook for frequent updates and giveaways! We appreciate all the feedback that we have received, and are pleased to tell you that we have made several changes to the hotel and improved all of our departments. We look forward to exceeding your expectations and providing an unforgettable Muskoka experience. FUN. FRESH. FABULOUS. Come join us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bala Bay Hotel Bala
Bala Bay Motel
Bala Bay Inn Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing