We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hauntings of Bala Bay Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bala Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bala Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hauntings of Bala Bay Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Im A Paranormal Investigator in The GTA Ontario Canada.
The staff at the Inn was very Helpful and Respectful of what i do.
The rooms are Bright and Clean. the Food is VERY good.
Weather your there for a trip or a Wedding or any other Funtion its a very nice Pleasent Place to be.
I did some research at the Inn, Please check ut there Website for New Stuff on the Paranormal Subject if this is of interest
Bala Bay is the first Brick Hotel built by Mr Sutton in 1910, he Built it with his Wife Rose.
I will post more about the in and my finding in the new year Feb 2013.
If you geta chance check out the website or better yet check out the Inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodyLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    18
    15
    26
See reviews for
19
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We paid over $250 for one night which was excessive given that it is basically a room that has been poorly renovated - TV did not work.

Fire trap kept coming to mind

Continental breakfast was basic

If your planning to use this a base - to just sleep at, its fine - but for the money I would explore Red Leaves or Taboo which are much nicer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

save your 150.00 and spend it elsewhere. I saw this hotel in the haunted ontario book. I wanted to stay in the haunted room.
had they left the furnishings like you would think, old time. then perhaps it would have added to the mystique, however they have gone with a south beach look to the rooms, turquoise and lime greens. doesn't give the feel of an old hotel. the haunted room, is so disliked by the cleaning staff, that it is evident they don't go in it, due to the cobwebs in the corners, the towel rail hanging off the wall, the crack along the side of the bathtub, made me feel like if i stepped in, the tub would break away and fall to the floor below. there was no activity at all. we were the only guests on the 3rd floor, one other couple were staying on the second floor. it was dead. the town closed up about 4 30pm. the only good to come of it, the food in the restaurant down stairs.
overall experience was dreadful.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cattracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great time at this charming boutique inn. What a beautiful spot in Muskoka. Dinner was excellent, the staff wonderful and the room very cute. The only dislike we had was that there was no elevator and the wi-fi was next to non-existent. We really appreciated the extra effort the front desk staff took in tracking us down to let us know they had a cancellation (we were going to have to drive 45 mins to another hotel) for our third night and then combining all nights so that we received the 3 night package.

We would definitley go back.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor which was great as far as not hearing the band playing on Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures!! Renovations ?? A paint job does not count as renovations! Rented two rooms, 310, 312 for two nights of a weekend getaway, for the Bala cranberry Festival. $320 bucks for each room ... Can't say enough of how shocked we were. What a rip off!!!! Had to climb stairs to 3rd floor with all luggage, okay - that wasn't so bad. This place is RUN DOWN!!! The rooms were probably 12x12. Trim coming away from wall, moldy, window frames broken, noisy - hearing people talk in next room, train going by every hour. Carpet old and filthy!! Let me ask this? When you check into hotel rooms do you check all your faucets to be sure they work? There was NO HOT WATER!! Not acceptable. !! This hotel is deceivingly written up in the reviews. How anyone could rate this with 5??? The only reason i give it one star is because the matresses were new and comfortable. The Bala Bay Inn management only offered us $10 off the price - cause we didn't check faucets when we checked in!!!! Well did your housekeeping staff clean that room before we came? Because had that been done - the staff would have known the shower hot water tap did not work in one room, and the sink hot faucet dudnt work in the other room!!!!!! I can't warn you all enough. These two rooms were only worth - MAX - $50 ... Not the $150 each they made us pay. Came to the Mariott in Gravenhurst - $130 each for a stunning two room suite complete with full kitchen, fireplace, living room, two gorgeous bedrooms, and HOT water in 2 beautiful bathrooms. Complete with hair dryers, coffee maker, ice maker, balcony... And a shuttle to bala for the festival... As well as a full complimentary buffet breakfast! Need I say any more ?? !!!! BEWARE!!!

Room Tip: Don't pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darzan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

what you see is not what you get. no running hot water in room 212 or 210. received a 10 dollar credit, off of full price. Owners should be ashamed of this a hole.hole. 50 dollars a night would be a stretch. renovated!!, not!! moldy noisy and rude!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markustaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lowell, On
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had our wedding at the bala bay inn this past weekend (sept.29th,2012) and could not be happier!! The staff was soo accomodating and friendly, the food was amazing, the feel was warm, cozy and inviting... the second i went in i knew this was the place. This is a great venue for anyone who wants great memories. Tania Cowley, the wedding planner on site was soo helpful throughout everything! All the staff did an amazing job making our day so special for us. We hope to return at least every year on our anniversary! Very highly recomended.
Thanks again for everything!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: We had the bridal suit with the belcony and it was great, 2 bedrooms, spacious but also cozy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
6.9 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
12.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
14.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
15.1 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bala Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala Bay Inn

Property: Bala Bay Inn
Address: Muskoka Road HW169, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud that the Bala Bay Inn is 101 years old and was the first brick hotel in Muskoka, Ontario. During your stay, you can see and feel the colossal history that once took place in the hotel. After several renovations, the current owners of 7 years created a wonderful boutique hotel with 35 rooms located in the heart of Muskoka. With a #1 rated patio by "The Muskokan," you will be sure to be provided with excellent service, cold beer and great food. Bala Bay Inn has also become the perfect destination for affordable, memorable weddings, where you feel like you own the hotel for the weekend. With an exceptional wedding planner, and a great banquet team ready, you are sure to have the wedding of your dreams. We are also a great location for partygoers and concert lovers. Being across the street from the Kee to Bala, we can offer a safe and friendly place to stay after attending your favourite concert. Like us on Facebook for frequent updates and giveaways! We appreciate all the feedback that we have received, and are pleased to tell you that we have made several changes to the hotel and improved all of our departments. We look forward to exceeding your expectations and providing an unforgettable Muskoka experience. FUN. FRESH. FABULOUS. Come join us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bala Bay Hotel Bala
Bala Bay Motel
Bala Bay Inn Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing