We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel in Puerto San Carlos on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place was a great find in the small town of Puerto San Carlos. Most people come here for the whale watching Jan-March. Of the 3 hotels we have stayed at in Puerto San Carlos, this is the only one on the water. It is just at the main turn off from the town and is still under construction. The first couple of times we drove by, we could not tell is was open. The cabanas that are right on the water are pretty nice. They are spacious with decorations that reflect their names (Tortuga was turtle themed) The beds are comfortable though they could use a mattress cover for more padding. They have one overflow room in a building that is under construction. We stayed there one night and I would not stay in it again. It felt closed in and was right by the road. We then moved to a cabana and it much more spacious. The restaurant is excellent and staff was quite nice. Fito, the owner, is also very friendly and likes to share his vision of ecotourism in Puerto San Carlos.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa but I could not complete the survey without putting something in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelercat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were at Mar especially for the Whale watching.

Mars Y Arean is not a luxury resort, but it has it own small town charm.

The location is so scenic, the bungalow (bedroom) is in front of the bay and mountain with lot of birds and don’t forget the beautiful sunset right at our balcony.
The shoreline outside the bungalow is a secret place for shells. I just wish my case were bigger.
The staffs always provide us with a 5 stars service. Roul, the chef always provided suggestion of the catch of the day and how should the food be prepared to it best. The waiter especially provide us a warm breakfast outside the restaurant usual hours due to our early Whales excursion.
The tour operator (whale watching) is so caring, they always checked the wind chill and weather the day prior our whale tours to find the best time to do the tour, so the boat ride would be the smoothest.

I can’t stress enough how wonderful was the staffs and they made my trip feel special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rammySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giacomo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank nicola2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frankens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ChristianMCMLXXIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
195
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours

Address: Carret. Fed. km 57 cs const pto San Carlos mna 110 Lote 3 y 4, Puerto San Carlos 23740, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Puerto San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto San Carlos
Price Range: $75 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel with cozy cabin style rooms, nice thematic decoration and a terrace overlooking the bay. They have double and single bed, some rooms also have cable TV, and large bathroom with hot water. The establishment serves Restaurant specializing in seafood season, besides poultry and meat. During the winter season The Hotel offers guided whale watching tours and other eco-tourist activities in the beautiful area of ​​mangroves and dunes of Isla Magdalena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing