We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dry Paddocks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dry Paddocks
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dry Paddocks brings together EVERTHING that makes a relaxing getaway perfect. The quality, luxury decor, sumptuous foods and delicious wines as well as the aroma of freshly brewed coffee coupled with the open space and private views from every window....aahhh! Local preserves, produce, great music, movies and detailed finishing touches ensured our special stay was everything we had wished for. Thanks - I know we will back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the moment you pass through the gates of Dry Paddocks you know you are somewhere special. The landscaping is stunning and the guest cottage decorated in the most perfect taste with second to none attention to detail. The presentation of breakfast ingredients was fabulous, very creative and of the best quality as were all the other pantry items. Every room has the most wonderful vista with all sorts of seating areas to sit and enjoy a glass or two of wine. Our problem was that we only had one night which wasn't nearly enough - we would like to have settled in for a week. We could not recommend staying at this wonderful place more highly. It is absolute perfection and we can't wait to return. Barbara & Phil

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunkerifields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We came back to Dry Paddocks after enjoying celebrating our wedding anniversary earlier this year, to spend a weekend getting away from the noise and demolition work around us in Christchurch Central. As usual everything was perfection and we cannot emphasise enough the location, lovely cottage, bedrooms and bathrooms. The breakfast ingredients that are supplied are always fresh. This time we had Rhubarb and raspberry compote to go with our museli. So yummy!! A new wine to try from the Waipara region in the fridge. The little touches just make this the best place to get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The decor of the property is stunning, no detail has been spared. Excellent and friendly service from Neil and Gillian and we cannot speak highly enough of our time at Dry Paddocks. Highlights included the views from the french styled cottage, the fresh breakfast, the gorgeous bedrooms and bathrooms and finer details down to our typed welcome note on the antique typewriter. A wonderful place to get away from it all. We will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for the last 2 days of our week in the South Island. Dry Paddocks lived up to its reputation. We did not want to go out once we arrived. Choosing which bedroom to sleep in was difficult as they both were superb. We will definitely come back, but next time we will bring friends we know will love this perfect gem tucked away down a country road. Lunch at Pegasus Winery was excellent. Opening the doors and sitting on the deck off the lounge was wonderful with a carefully thought out garden view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 631Sue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

A great place to celebrate a special occasion like our wedding anniversary (or any occasion). Everything was to an extremely high standard and all the little touches eg. Gillian had made an anniversary chocolate cake for us, which makes Dry Paddocks special. The cottage is self-catering which we like and the kitchen was well appointed with nothing missing. Even the espresso machine was there. A must for us. A wine tasting and lunch at Pegasus Bay Winery completed an absolutely wonderful weekend. We have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

A great weekend spent with friends at Dry Paddocks. This really is 10 out of 10 across the board..... service, facilities, quality fittings, furniture and stunning breakie box! The local wineries definitely added to a perfect Waipara visit. Lunch at Pegasus Bay Winery a must (thanks for the recommendation Gillian).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury Region hotels
4.5 mi away
Annie's Loft And Studio
Annie's Loft And Studio
#1 of 3 in Waipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dunnolly Cottage
Dunnolly Cottage
#2 of 3 in Waipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barb's Place
Barb's Place
#1 of 3 in Waipara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Terrace Lodge
Terrace Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leithfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
8.7 mi away
Karetu Downs Farmstay
Karetu Downs Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Hawarden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
24.8 mi away
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Peppers Clearwater Resort
#18 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dry Paddocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dry Paddocks

Property: Dry Paddocks
Address: 325 Purchas Road | North Canterbury, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Canterbury Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dry Paddocks Retreat is situated amidst the vines of the Waipara Valley in North Canterbury. Designed to provide privacy and comfort, the cottage is self contained with two spacious bedrooms each with its own unique bathroom, one features an elegant french tub, the other a large walk through shower.There is a generous open plan living area, which contains a fully equipped kitchen and dining area. This opens out onto sunny decks and sheltered outdoor courtyards.Amenities include full laundry facilities,dishwasher,gas open fire, sky TV, WiFi, ipod connection,CD and DVD player, with a movie and music library. Quality linen,bath robes,slippers and bathroom accessories are also provided.A swimming pool in the garden and gas barbeque are available for guests in the summer months.The tariff includes guests sole occupancy of the cottage-a maximum of 4 people (2 couples)a box of breakfast provisions and a bottle of local wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing