We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb Evening”
Review of Sonora a la Parrilla - CLOSED

Sonora a la Parrilla
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant features the finest cuts of grass fed steaks. We offer rib eye, new york, arrachera,vacio(argentine cut)and a 18 ounce Cowboy (bone in rib eye). Additionally we offer BBQ ribs grilled chicken, shrimp kebobs, mahi-mahi, sirloin hamburgers, rib eye tacos & sizzling fajitas. Our delicious sides include mixed and cesar salads, baked potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, sauteed mushrooms and corn on the cobb. We have a full bar and occasional live dinner music. We are an open air restaurant set in a relaxing courtyard setting surrounded with trees and tropical plants. Gluten free meals served here. Hours 3pm - 10pm Closed Mondays.NFL & NHL games available here.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Joe knows how to do it!! Great food at a very reasonable price. If you aren't a steak person Joe also has fish, chicken and shrimp. I enjoyed the Vacio steak, prepared just as requested. My wife and I live in La Cruz and I've tried steaks all around the area but none can touch the tenderness and taste that Joe serves at his Parrilla. There were four of us and each ordered something different so we all got to try a taste of several different dishes. The grilled chicken and shrimp were very good and the sides are all good too. My baked potato with all the trimmings....perfect as a side with my steak. Service is excellent....we had the best waiter in the house......but what would you expect....he is Joe's son. Nice selection of wine and desserts. The live music was just right for an evening of dining pleasure. This is a "don't miss" place for a most enjoyable evening. We will definitely bring our next visitors to the Sonora a la Parrilla.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GKP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraalaParrilla, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Thanks for your detailed review. We specialize in grass fed Sonora steaks but as you mentioned we expanded our menu to include, grilled chicken, bbq ribs, fresh mahi mahi, and shrimp kebobs.
This season we added sizzling fajitas and a 11 ounce top sirloin hamburger, seasoned and cooked on our mesquite grill. We have gotten lots of favorable comments from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed the great value of the dinner for two. A nice selection to choose from, tasty on arrival and all in a nice atmosphere including live music to entertain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraalaParrilla, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

We have a variety of steaks, shrimp, chicken, bbq ribs, and fresh mahi mahi. We just added fajitas and an 11 ounce top sirloin burger to our menu. We kee our quality high and our prices reasonable. Thanks for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have said it before but feel the need to say it again, this has to be the best steak restaurant in town, others pretend to be but can't live up to Joe's "Sonora a la Parrilla" Arrachera is my favorite, I must say everything is very reasonable, they also serve Chicken, Shrimp and Fish, what more could one ask for, as well as many sides.

On Friday nights starting at 7 pm La Patrona sings all Mexican tunes with 2 other musicians her voice is nothing but the best, comparable to Rocia Durcal absolutely fantastic she sings with gentleness and grace as she strolls to all tables.

To touch again on the ambience of this lovely garden restaurant, the service is excellent and everyone is able to speak English, I also know that Joe also has other music the other 6 nights of the week.

You must not miss this restaurant on your vacations, or permanent stays in Bucerias.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for your comments, i know you dine out alot and I appreciate it. We keep our food guality high, our prices reasonable and as you mentioned we offer live entertainment every night. We offer eight different cuts of steaks and more! Come join in the fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great steak, huge portions, wonderful atmosphere! One of the most tender steaks we've
ever had; would highly recommend this peaceful oasis. Do go if you have a chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your vote of confidence. We serve juicy, tender grass fed steaks and fresh sides salads, grilled potoatoes,sauteed mushrooms and corn on the cob. Our most expensive menu item is filet mignon andsalad, 189 pesos, $15US. We offer live entertainment every night. Hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Highly recommended for steak lovers. The restaurant has service, ambiance and great food all for a very reasonable price. The night before, my wife and I spent 3x the amount at a French-style establishment, but overall we enjoyed Sonora a la Parrilla more.

We were personally greeted by the owner Joe, who when asked – recommended the Argentine Vacio. It was brilliant. We enjoyed the lovely court-yard setting and the service was very good. On our particular evening a lovely Cuban gal played keyboard and guitar and she sang from her heart.

The meal was excellent and our table was literally covered in great food. We had ordered a dinner for 2 and when we were served, I was wondering if the kitchen had mistakenly sent a dinner for 2 – for each of us. There was that much.

Overall the dining experience was so good, and such a good value it’s my pleasure to give a great recommendation. If you like great steak - than Sonora a la Parrilla is your destination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrincetonRedhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad that you enjoyed your steaks, sides and service. We have live music different every night to give our diners a nice experience. Our open air court yard ands a bit of charm as well. We try to keep our food quality high and prices reasonable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora a la Parrilla also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing