We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Just what two weary travelers needed! Inviting atmosphere, excellent meal & service!”
Review of Sonora a la Parrilla - CLOSED

Sonora a la Parrilla
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant features the finest cuts of grass fed steaks. We offer rib eye, new york, arrachera,vacio(argentine cut)and a 18 ounce Cowboy (bone in rib eye). Additionally we offer BBQ ribs grilled chicken, shrimp kebobs, mahi-mahi, sirloin hamburgers, rib eye tacos & sizzling fajitas. Our delicious sides include mixed and cesar salads, baked potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, sauteed mushrooms and corn on the cobb. We have a full bar and occasional live dinner music. We are an open air restaurant set in a relaxing courtyard setting surrounded with trees and tropical plants. Gluten free meals served here. Hours 3pm - 10pm Closed Mondays.NFL & NHL games available here.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow! Just what two weary travelers needed! Inviting atmosphere, excellent meal & service!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

After beginning our travel day at 3 am, and arriving at our destination only to discover our luggage did not make it, we needed a good meal. We decided to return to Sonora a la Parrilla for a steak dinner. We decided to try the special "Cowboy Steak" special - a 15gm bone-in ribeye steak - medium rare, preceded by a delicious fresh mixed salad, bean soup & homemade warm tortillas.
The steak was served with a side of sliced baked potato drizzled with sour cream & sautéed mushrooms. The meal was enjoyed with a delicious Cabernet & a wonderful live Mexican guitarist playing in the background. The entire meal for two cost us what one person would pay for just their dinner at home in Chicago.
We will definitely be back during our two week stay here in Puerta Vallarta, as there are also a variety of live music available most nights & there are special packages available for Christmas Eve & New Years Eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfkeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Sonora is perfect for weary travelers to come inside, relax in our open air courtyard, enjoy a nice steak and listen to live music. We just added the Cowboy steak. The bone in rib eye. are larger cuts averaging between 16 and 18 ounces, They are becoming popular......tender, juicy and delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Peters, MO
1 review
“A must to visit in Bucerias”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent steaks! Great atmosphere with music, English speaking staff, and superb prices. Very friendly. A must to visit in Bucerias!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I am glad you found us and enjoyed our steaks. We just put our live music schedule together for the season. Tuesdays we feature Bryan Savage on saxophone & flute. On Wednesdays we have the Travelling Band they do classic rock. On Thursdays and Saturdays Antonio on guitar singing easy listening dinner music. On Fridays we have a special show featuring La Patrona, she sings classic Mexican songs. Not to be missed. The best part is that there is no cover charge. Relax in our open air courtyard, enjoy a delicious steak, and listen to great music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEEF LOVERS”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great steaks ,potatoes,salads,bean soup.Steaks were tender and cooked right.The live music on thursday nights was also excellent.We will be returning for sure.The waitresses gave great service and were very attentive.Joe the owner makes sure everybody is happy.Steaks starting at $99 pesos.By the way i am a beef lover and its not always easy to find good and tender beef at a reasonable price in mexico.So that is why this is a great find.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reneturg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I am glad you found us. We have excellent steaks at a reasonable price. Our most expensive items are the surf & turf and filet mignon. Both come with a salad for $189 pesos or $16US.
All of our house wines are $200 pesos each. We have live music every night except Sunday.
We hope others discover our great food, reasonable prices, nice open air courtyard and live music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, service and music!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had our third wonderful meal there in the past month. Attentive service and great ambience. Fall-off-the-bone pork ribs are delicious.

Tony plays great guitar on Monday and Wednesday...not to be missed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for supporting us. We will be adding more dinner music. We walso will Have Brian Savage play his sax and flute for our dinner show on Tuesdays. We are opening on Sundays and will have live music. On Fridays we will have a live Salsa band starting at 9pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended. Great Steak Restaurant.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you want a great steak and meal and drinks at a great price, in a lovely open air restaurant with friendly staff and very enjoyable live music in the background, then this is the place to come.
The owner Joe is there most nights and makes sure everyone is having a great time.
The steaks are cooked to perfection. Everything we ordered was wonderful.
Will absolutely be putting this great restaurant at the top of our must return to list for Puerto Vallarta/Bruceries area. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvin-Life+Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonora01, Owner at Sonora a la Parrilla, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We added the cowboy steak to our menu. This is a juicy bone in rib eye steak. We are selling a lot of these. We are adding a vegetarian dish for those of you who do not eat meat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora a la Parrilla also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing