We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak its Specialty”
Review of Sonora a la Parrilla - CLOSED

Sonora a la Parrilla
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant features the finest cuts of grass fed steaks. We offer rib eye, new york, arrachera,vacio(argentine cut)and a 18 ounce Cowboy (bone in rib eye). Additionally we offer BBQ ribs grilled chicken, shrimp kebobs, mahi-mahi, sirloin hamburgers, rib eye tacos & sizzling fajitas. Our delicious sides include mixed and cesar salads, baked potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, sauteed mushrooms and corn on the cobb. We have a full bar and occasional live dinner music. We are an open air restaurant set in a relaxing courtyard setting surrounded with trees and tropical plants. Gluten free meals served here. Hours 3pm - 10pm Closed Mondays.NFL & NHL games available here.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steak its Specialty”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had the Angus beef . You pay for how thick you want it. Our Waitress spoke perfect English and was very courteous. All has steaks and humongous baked potatoes. A malbec 200 pesos. Oh and they nake a great martini.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_BC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Saw the Valentines Day Special and decided to try this new to Bucerias restaurant. The chicken, strip loin, shrimp, prime rib dinners were all very delicious. Although the portions looked small...we all left stuffed and took our desert to go. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English. We are here for 6 weeks and will probably go back and definitely will recommend to our friends : )

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average only”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited the restaurant with friends.

The food was average. My wife and her friend had the ribs and said they were good. I had the prime rib and my friend had a cut of steak. It was not poor but we have had better beef at other restaurants in Bucerias.

Waiter was very attentive but he found himself in the position of apologizing to us through out the evening.

The sides we ordered came too late or did not come at all.

We may give the place another chance but it will be difficult with so many other outstanding restaurants available in the town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyAnglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great either”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Four of us went to Sonora a la Parrilla last evening to try this steakhouse. It is a courtyard-style open air place with a choice of plastic chairs/tables or wood, and the wood chairs are those stiff upright, rough-woven-bottom ones that are completely uncomfortable. We went with the plastic.

We were the only ones there for at least the first 45 minutes. We got a tour of the glass cooler with the cuts of meats and made our selections. We knew from other TripAdvisor reviews to be sure to ask for "thick cut" and they determine this by number of finger widths. I went with the two-finger "Vacio" cut (similar to a filet mignon) and so did my husband, but he added "surf" which was three large prawns. The other couple both had prime rib.

You have to order your side dishes separately and they are about 30 to 40 pesos each (although some dishes come with a choice of corn-on-the-cob, or potatoes, or salad etc. included in the price). My husband's surf & turf was supposed to include his selection of corn on the cob, but we got charged for it separately.

Your meal comes with soft corn tortillas, 2 salsas and "frijoles" or beans soup-style in a cup with bits of chorizo - it was all tasty. You can spoon the beans onto the tortillas, add salsas and wrap and eat.

They had live music (fellow with a guitar & keyboard) which was nice - he played smooth samba-type rhythms.

Wines are about 50 to 60 pesos a glass, and we had a bottle of Malbec for 200 pesos which was a decent price, not too marked up. A vodka martini is 50 pesos.

Our meals were fine - meats all cooked to the correct doneness that we had ordered. The side dishes were okay - the corn is over-cooked, the sauteed mushrooms and onions were good, and the potatoes (we tried them two ways) were adequate. My husband's prawns were very salty, however; he said they were completely over-seasoned (like with Zatarain's seasoning salt) and he didn't enjoy them at all.

The restaurant was maybe only a third full by the time we finished but it was hard to get the waiter's attention to order dessert. We finally got a piece of cheesecake to share and it was pretty standard (like a CostCo dessert - definitely not house-made).

We'd consider going back again, but not any time soon. Our bill, without tip, came to about 600 pesos, which wasn't too bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely experience!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A great dining experience! Easy to find, right around the corner from YoYoMo's. A lovely courtyard...nice dinner music....terrific server and service! The New York steak grilled perfectly, juicey slightly & pink, just as we ordered. We appreciate the TA suggestions for sides. The fresh salad was just as good as the photo posted here depicted and large enough to share. A great Caesar dressing. We loved the grilled mushrooms and onion. We will go back and certainly suggest Sonora a la Parrilla to friends!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora a la Parrilla also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing