We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every bit as good as last year and busier.”
Review of le Bistrot

le Bistrot
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as last year and busier.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

French down the middle country cuisine. Limited menu but never had a bad dish. Steak au poivre. is our favorite in a country not known for good steak. French onion soup is huge and excellent. Salad and potatoes with the steak plus some great bread. Chocolate mousse and creme brulee were very good. Not inexpensive but good value for your money. Bring your own alcohol with no corkage charge. Best to reserve a day ahead this season it appears. They were fully booked the night we went as was Sandrina's so the snow birds have arrived in full force apparently. A good sign for the north bay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    30
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent French restaurant run by a French couple. Bring your own wine. Very nice service, excellent food. Romantic setting, must try! Dogs welcome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taniamuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice people, good French food in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed it so much that we returned for a 2nd dinner. Sandrine is charming and the food is very good. The salade du chevre is excellent and the steak au poivre has a wonderful sauce and taste.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I'm an Alberta girl, born and raised...so I've eaten more than my fair share of incredible steaks. But the Pepper Steak that I had at le Bistrot last week tops anything I've had in the past. The sauce was to die for!!! The meat was cooked to perfection, and melt in your mouth delicious.

I had the onion soup to start - also fantastic. And the chocolate mousse for dessert...wow.

I loved the ambience...the patio with soft lighting was romantic. The staff (owners) were very friendly and attentive, despite not speaking much English they tried their best. I felt very comfortable. I also liked that I could bring my own alcohol to drink with my meal and dessert.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank havepssprt-willtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why French?”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Why would you come to Mexico and eat French food? Because they simple have got it together. Time to take a night off and treat yourself to a meal where "sauce" does not mean tomato or tomatillo.
Menu changes daily, so you are always sure of having items that are plentiful in the market. I was treated to frog legs, that were great. They did a wonderful job on their onion soup the classic F way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Bistrot also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing