We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of le Bistrot

le Bistrot
Ranked #4 of 171 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been to le Bistrot many times, as we live in Bucerias in the winter months. They have consistently great food and are very friendly. Not a large menu and special dishes every day. The pepper steak is to die for! A must if visiting Bucerias.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    30
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“march”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This lovely french restaurant has charming atmosphere with attention to detail . The onion soup, pate, and steak were wonderful. Bring your own wine Charming outdoor dining with lights making it very romantic. Easy walk from hotel. Sndrine and jean were very friendly. Very reasonable
prices. Would go back again and again. Wish you in the states.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A WOW little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonder French food --bring your own wine and enjoy! A lovely French couple have made this into a charming place to dine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank atmilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Personalized Dining on French Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

BYOB. They do not have a liquor license so bring your own wine. There "is" a place where you can buy a bottle of wine nearby the restaurant, but we had our own, we brought our current favorite - Malbec one night, and a French Chardonnay the other night. There are 4 entres on the menu each night. You can see the Chef as he is cooking. Very very small restaurant and you must make a reservation. I hear that the pepper steak is often on the menu which is served up with an amazing sauce. Typical of fine French cuisine.Truly a culinary delight. One night we had the pork which was wonderful and tender, however just a smidgeon dry. Sorry - but I must be true to my taste buds! There was a sauce, but it wasn't creamy...more like a coulis. However, the food here is amazing and made with lots of love. I can't wait to visit it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnElsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Superb French Country Dining (bring your own wine)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Four of dined at Le Bistrot last evening and it was wonderful. What a treat to bring your own wine which the hostess will open and pour for you - without any corkage fee!

The place is charming and reservations are a must. It is not large and fills up every evening.

We tried the onion soup (delicious - mostly onion though, and not quite enough broth), foie gras (was more of a pate of foie gras than the actual liver, but very tasty, served with little toast points), goat cheese salad (marvelous), beef bourginon, and chicken in mushroom sauce - all delicious.

This is not fussy French dining with tiny portions of "constructed" food. This is hearty country-style fare beautifully prepared. Such a wonderful and welcome change from Mexican food.

It was a very hot evening, and we suffered a bit from a lack of overhead fans, although I did see a floor fan had been brought out when we were leaving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Bistrot also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing