We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2004

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed at the Royal Decameron for 2 weeks in April and had a terrific time. A trip to remember forever. There was such a variety of people and things to do that we were both very happy with our holiday. The resort was clean and well kept with friendly, helpful staff, lots of fun activities and a super location. We went kayaking and sailing in the catamarans. The night time shows were amazing, what variety --choreographed dancing, singing, comedy, mime... You name it, they did it. What talented staff! We enjoyed the food, both the buffets and the a la carte restaurants. We were willing to take the 8:30 sitting so had no trouble getting a reservation.

We stayed in Block 5 with the adult only pool and at first thought that we might want to be closer to the beach and activities. After a few days we decided we were really happy with our location. We had the opportunity to look at some other rooms and Block 5 rooms were nicer. We always spent the end of the day at the adult pool and so we were right there at our room to go up and shower and get ready for dinner and the evening. It really worked out great for us.

We were very glad that we chose a resort that was within a short walk of a village (15 minutes to Bucerias by road or beach). We walked into the village several times and enjoyed experiencing the local community. Prices at the market in Bucerias were better than at the resort or in Puerto Vallarta and people there were friendly and happy for the business.

We also took the local bus into Puerto Vallarta (45 mins.). It was easy to figure out and only 15 pesos each way. Puerto Vallarta is interesting but very busy and full of tourists, so we were always glad to return to the Royal Decameron.

Yes, the beds are very firm but we were always tired from a full day and slept well. The rooms including bedding and towels were good and they do provide large beach towels so you don't need to pack your own. It's wise to bring an alarm clock in case you have to get up early to go on a tour.

We went on the Jungle Tour, very well organized, informative and fun with the bonus of meeting some great people. My daughter went on the Canopy Tour and it was a big hit!! We don't recommend the snorkeling trip, well not if your expectations are high, visibility was poor and with so many people getting in the water at the same time there is not much chance of seeing a lot of fish! But, the trip around the bay in the boat was a nice way to spend the day.

I would definitely return and hope to do so with my husband soon.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mustang33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,061 - 4,067 of 5,019 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2004

The weather was awesome - too bad the hotel wasn't as good...

We just returned from an 18 day (April 21st to May 9th) company vacation at the Royal Decameron and I have to say we were a little disappointed. There were four of us - two couples. It all started when we arrived at 6:00pm (check-in time is at 3:00pm) and we were told our rooms were not ready yet. We had to wait just over an hour for them. We ended up staying in 3 different rooms during our stay. Most of the room changing was due to all of the construction that was happening around us. Apparently, that’s a pretty common thing for the Royal Decameron hotel. As were all the cablevision problems we, and our business partners, kept having.

We noticed that a lot of the staff didn’t appear to be too happy there. They certainly weren’t going out of their way for us by any means – not like some of the other all-inclusives we’ve stayed at in Puerto Vallarta. We had numerous issues with the towel boy day-after-day. Talk about an unhappy guy. The pools do not close until 8:00pm but the towels close at 7:00pm. When you don’t return your towel that day you sure get attitude the next morning from him. They keep track of your towels on a piece of paper – there are no towel cards at this hotel.

There is an “adults only” pool area but watch out – they don’t patrol it very well. If there are kids in there and you go to the front desk to tell them, not much happens. It got so bad while we were there that we were at the front desk daily, and sometimes hourly. So, if you’re going to the Royal Decameron because they have a nice quiet adults only pool area, you could be very disappointed.

The buffet food was okay, depending on what time you went to eat. Towards the end of the night they would run out of stuff and it wasn’t very hot. On Thursdays, it’s Mexican night. Both of the buffet restaurants have a Mexican menu – the tacos dorados and chile rellenos are very good as long as they didn’t run out of them. The churros are amazing – but they close them down early (well before 9:00pm) so you better get in the dessert line up for churros before you actually get your dinner! That was a mistake we made! Two nights before we left they opened up a new a la carte “seafood” restaurant. We made reservations for both nights. I have to say it was very good. Both the quality of the food and the level of service were great. Hopefully it will last.

The nightly entertainment was fabulous. Definitely one of the better points of the Royal Decameron hotel. We all agreed on how well these performers could dance. Well worth going to watch each and every night. They work on a 14 day rotation schedule – so, if you’re there for 2 weeks you will see all of their performances and never a repeat. I understand they are putting together a new performance similar to “Cirque du Soleil”. I bet it’s awesome!

Feel free to email me for further information on any of this review. I would be more than happy to advise anyone who is thinking about staying at this hotel.

3  Thank TeresaJ_VictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2004

The Royal Decameron is just what the doctor ordered for my wife and I. It is a big resort, but it is not crowded like at the other all-inclusives we have been to in Puerto Vallarta. It doesn't have a fitness center . That was the only drawback. There is so much quality food to eat here. Steaks, Italian, gourmet Mexican, Thai, Japanese, buffets with a different theme each nite, and of course the beautiful sunsets!! The adult pool is large and maintained very well by their staff. They have a man coming every hour on the hour to check the chlorine levels and another skimming the leaves out of the pool. The filters are on 24/7!! The staff are very friendly and informative. The beach is clean with quite a few palapas for shade and plenty of lounges for you to relax in. My wife and I will return to this "diamond in the rough" again and do what the doctor orders!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chinamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
14
Reviewed May 23, 2004

My girlfriend and I just got back from the resort. We stayed for a week May 16-23. It was a very dead week. We are 20 and 21 and recieved very poor service possibly because of our age. To start off, we waited several hours after our check-in time before we actually got our rooms. Our rooms had the cable go out off and on for the entire week we were there. Also after talking to other people from the resort, we all had problems with our showers. They leaked all over the rooms. The resort is the furthest hotel from downtown puerto vallarta. If going downtown is your thing than this hotel is not right for you. It takes about 30-45 minutes to drive to town by taxi which is the only way to get there. It also costs thirty dollars round trip which gets expensive being that is where the clubs, bars, restraunts, and shops are at. The beach at the hotel is rocky with merky water. Better beaches and water are in town or just south of town. The food is recycled and the drinks are weak. If you are at the college age i would not recommend this place. there is a lot of children and adult couples.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oconomowoc, WI
13
Reviewed May 22, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week long stay at Royal Decameron. It was the best trip we have taken yet!! We were in block 5 and it was very quiet and secluded. Definately bring an alarm clock if you want to know what time it is. The grounds are beautiful and wonderfully kept. The staff works very hard to keep everything nice. Knowing spanish is definately a plus...we ran into a few communication problems but nothing too bad. Tipping is appreciated...these people make pittance for minimum wage. The service is pretty good nonetheless. The food was great...there was nothing we didn't like. We had no problems making reservations for the al la carte restaurants. The Italian was the best!! Good variety otherwise at the buffets. Breakfast was wonderful...ourfavorite meal of the day! The activities staff were so much fun!! They were definately a talented group of people who go above and beyond to make you have a good time. We loved hanging out at the activities pool. The shows at night were pretty good too. The activities group definately knows how to dance!! We did the horseback riding tour and the Rhythms of the Night. I definately recommend both. They were so much fun and the tour guides are a lot of fun. We learned a lot about Mexican culture coming here. We were in Cancun five years ago for our honeymoon and it is so commercialized that we really didn't get a feel for what Mexico is really all about. Not so in Puerta Vallerta. We loved the authenticity of the town and the people. Go to Bucerias...it is a great little town with some cheaper bartering prices than downtown Puerta. It is only a 20 minute walk down the beach from the resort.All in all, we had an absolutely wonderful time!! We were two of about ten Americans in the whole resort...mostly Mexicans and Canadians. Everyone was so nice though. We will definately come back to the Decameron and will bring our friends with us!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2004

We had tons of fun at the Decameron. I took my 2 daughters, ages 11 and 14, and we really enjoyed the place. There is lots to do... 4 pools, nice beach, boogie boarding was a blast, kayaks, catamaran (book at 9am). The activity pool always had something going on, water basketball, or volleyball etc. But sometimes it was kind of noisy (always music cranked!) We enjoyed painting our own pottery, there is a table set up by the activity pool, and you buy your own piece, paint it any way you like and they fire it for you and you get it the next day. A nice keepsake. I thought the service was very good, for the most part. Watch out for the towel nazi.... He is a bit of a grump. Most staff was friendly and efficient and helped anyway they could. It is a big place, and it took us a day or two to figure out where things work and how it all worked. ( first time at an all inclusive.) I thought the food at the buffet was very good, nice variety, I wasnt overly impressed with the a la carte dining, especially the Thai... the Italian was pretty good, and I heard the steakhouse was good. The internet place is handy, but very pricey. And whatever you do, dont make a phonecall from your room, I did and got a $80 bill on my visa... talked for about 10-15 minutes.... buy a phone card by the front desk, and use the phone downstairs and save yourself a ton of money. Bucerias was fun, lots of neat stuff to buy at the market. Pay your cabi before you get in... or they rip you off. We also went on the "Sierra Madre" tour, up in to the mountains, very cool!! Educational, and fun, you see real mexico, and how they live in the hills. You tour villages, and go for a hike in the forest, see all kinds of critters, the tour guide (BRAD) was great.. a canexican as he called himself. And at the end of the tour, they take you to a secluded beach to swim, have a wonderful feast, open bar etc. Then it is back on the army trucks for the ride back to the hotel... tequila shooter lessons all the way home!! very fun. All in all a good trip, no problems, very pretty and well kept place... would recommend it!!!

7  Thank sunshineComox_B_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1
Reviewed May 17, 2004

I have stayed there twice now, once on March Break 2003 and the second time on March Break 2004. Both times were absolutely fantastic, food was delicious, service could use some work but everything else makes up for it, and the people were awesome.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#6 of 23 in Bucerias
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Vista Vallarta
Vista Vallarta
#1 of 15 in Bucerias
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
0.5 mi away
La Posada de Bucerias
La Posada de Bucerias
#5 of 15 in Bucerias
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range: $187 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing