We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go by First Impression!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a first impression....Oh my God! I think we made a mistake. The moment we arrived to check in until the last minute at the resort checking out we were absolutely happy with this resort and would recommend it to anyone. The 5 al-a-carte restaurants, the numerous pools, and the people at the resort were fantastic. You had no problems finding a shady spot - plenty to choose from. The rooms are a little dated, but who stays in their rooms....they were always clean and comfortable after a long day in the sun. The staff was amazing and always helpful. Did not like the way you had to book your al-a-carte reservations but we always were able to book one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 5,001 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

I gave this place five stars. It is spotless! The staff is so helpful and friendly. We came with another couple for our 30th anniversary and it surpassed our expectations. We got tired of the buffets but that was remedied by making reservations at Ridizio also included in the all inclusive.

Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 are the quiet ones. We stayed in 5 and slept wonderfully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonamhVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this resort from May 1-8 . I must say my first impression was worry as they drop you off in the middle of a village but from the check in, which went seemlessly to the extremely clean rooms, and the choice of restaurants. Wow! We paid $1050 and stayed in building 1 which was beachfront , the view was spectacular . Here are some pros and cons
Pros: Beach
Clean rooms
Choice of restaurants and menus
Nightly entertainment
Waiters and employee attitude

Cons: big resort , lots of people.
Too many kids the week we were there
Water presssure in sinks ( we used the shower water to shave)
My biggest complaint is that there should be another adult pool at the front of the resort , oceanfront. The adult only pool is in block 5 at the back and there is no wind there.

Room Tip: Block 1 is oceanfront with lots of wind and a specatcular view but its very noisy during the day bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We travelled with friends to this resort. We loved it! Ocean view rooms with balcony were great! The rooms were a bit dated, but very clean! Food was fantastic, and the staff were great! Generous with the drinks also! The grounds were immaculate. Only complaint would be with regard to booking a la carte's- you have to get up early and go wait in line forever if you want to get in! We didn't have our kids with us, but there were a lot of families with children, so I would say it's definitely family friendly:) we also got a very good price on our trip, so we were very impressed! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Three of my girlfriends and I just returned from another wonderful stay at the Royal Decameron. We visited the resort for the first time last November, and we were shocked how many staff members remembered us and where we were from!

Check in was easy, and just like last time they let you get your wrist band before the official check-in time (3pm). When we arrived, we were told that the hotel was overbooked and were asked if we would be willing to share a room (we booked two) and we would be compensated. We agreed, and the hotel provided us with $1000 pesos, t-shirts, a bottle of tequila, and reservations at the restaurant of our choosing! It was totally worth it. We were also told that the next night we would be moved from Block 5 (which is a decent walk from the beach) to the beach front rooms for our trouble.

The only thing that we were disappointed in was that when we went the next day to move rooms, they said we wouldn't be in the beach front rooms, but instead we just got another room right next to our first one. This was a little disappointing, because we were really looking forward to being right where all the action is.

However, overall we had another great stay. The food was good and there is a great variety of both food and eating locations to choose from. We went kayaking and on a catamaran ride (both included in our stay!). We also went to the entertainment shows both nights of our stay, which I highly recommend. This trip we saw a dancing show and an audience participation show. The humor is very Mexican, but we had a blast! The entertainment staff really looks like they love their job and everything is so well done.

Overall, you really cannot get a better deal for your money. The hotel is well-kept, the staff is very friendly and courteous, the location is beautiful, and the drinks are delicious! Try a strawberry daiquiri with Tajin sprinkled on the top :) I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring a large cup for your drinks if you don't want to constantly fill up the tiny plastic cups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went here for a week with some family members. The rooms are not fancy but they are very clean and well looked after. The grounds are clean and well taken care. We stayed in block 5, this area has the only adult pool. All the rest are family pools. We only ate at the buffet and found the food to be very good. The only complaint we had was the drink glass's are small and you are always going up for another drink, and we had to pay for our safe. It would also be nice if they placed notices around the resort about what is going on during the day. It would be great if they would place coffee pots in the rooms and fridges.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Theresa__One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we enjoyed our stay immensely in this all-inclusive hotel.
The whole complex was super clean, with scrubbing and painting happening all the time in the background. Our room in Block 5 was comfortable, as was the bed. The evening shows were the best we have ever seen in either our all-inclusive or cruise ship experience - quite breath-taking. The pools were well staffed and our room over-looked the adult-only pool, which also had no music!
Forget to take a book? A small book exchange is situated at pool 6 and pool 1. There is a small gift store (actually two I think) that sells sun block among other things!!
The food was excellent in all the restaurants we tried and the wait staff more than friendly and efficient. The only SLIGHT complaint I would have is reserving for the a la carte restaurants. The only time to reserve is in person, early in the morning, in front of the reservation desk. I think each room should automatically have access to at least two of the five a la carte restaurants. That said, the buffets were excellent with a wide variety of food.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to go back!

Room Tip: Block 5 overlooks the adult only pool and for the most part seemed to be occupied only by adults. Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
27 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vista Vallarta
Vista Vallarta
#1 of 15 in Bucerias
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
1.8 mi away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#6 of 23 in Bucerias
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Pacifico
Aventura Pacifico
#3 of 23 in Bucerias
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range: $178 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing