We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Family Vacation with 8 month old daughter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation with 8 month old daughter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband, daughter, and I, as well as 70 friends and family, just returned from a 2 week visit to the resort for my sister in law's wedding. We had an AMAZING time! We enjoyed everything about the resort, from the 5 pools scattered throughout the grounds, to the incredibly friendly staff, to the gorgeous location.
We had no problems checking in, and when a few family members wanted to switch from ground floor to higher level rooms, not a problem at all, and they were moved the next day. With our 8 month old daughter, we enjoyed the main floor room in building 6, as it allowed the two of us to come and go while our daughter napped in the room. We even had Rueben, the bartender at the pool bar, bring us drinks on our patio one night!
Info for families with children: They offer a mommy package at no cost, including a playpen for sleeping, baby bathtub, and bottle warmer. It was offered to me at check in. Building 6 is very quiet, has a huge section of the pool only 50 cms deep, and seemed to be the newest in terms of furnishings. There are high chairs at each restaurant, and they allow little children at the 6:00 and 6:30 seatings at the a la carte restaurants. Yes, building 6 is further from the beach, but at most it's a 5 minute walk away.
General info : There are a ton of loungers around each pool and at the beach, so we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. Food at the buffets is good, and changed regularly. Omelette station every morning, deli counter (better than subway) every lunch, and changing station for dinners, depending on the night's theme. If you get tired of the buffets, you can walk into Bucerias in about 20 minutes and find a great variety of restaurants. Wifi is available, best in the lobby bar, but if people are using skype or facetime, it can be sketchy at times. Usually pretty good though. The grounds are very well kept, most staff speak pretty decent english, and are eager to please. We're seasoned travellers, and I don't think we had any problems at all this trip.
As for all the negative comments people leave, I think most are due to people expecting 5 star service when they didn't pay to stay at a 5 star resort. Remember, you're going to Mexico, so you can't expect all staff to speak perfect English. Your room won't be intricately decorated, but all you do is sleep there anyways, so why does it matter?? Spend your time in the sun, on the beach, in the pools, and at the restaurants and bars, and you'll have an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Building 1 faces the ocean, is right next to the activities pool, so therefore noisier. Buidling 2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WorldEyes1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    1,930
    639
    266
    141
See reviews for
1,148
1,662
94
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent March 22nd - March 29th at the Royal Decameron and as always, it did not disappoint !!!
This was our 4th time at the RDC, we have stayed elsewhere in Nuevo Vallarta as well as other parts of Mexico . Once we vacationed at the RDC we were hooked ! We stayed in building # 1 as we love to hear the waves crashing all night long and the views are amazing . We had a very nice room with a flat screen TV and a king bed. It was spotlessly clean. We have also stayed in building # 4 on previous visits and have always had nice rooms. I don't understand the complaints about no toiletries or magnifying mirrors, I never use the hotel toiletries anywhere I go anyways as I like to bring my own.Do your homework before you book people !!!
This resort is spotless, the people are friendly and eager to please.The grounds are very pretty and the beach is wonderful. We have no complaints about the food, it is typical of an all inclusive. The Italian restaurant " The Piccolo" is our favourite. We never waited long to get our reservations booked.
If you have booked this resort , go and have a wonderful time.
We will definitely be back !!
Thank You Royal Decameron...we had an awesome vacation :)

Room Tip: Building # 1 is close to the action so it can be noisy, but the views are amazing ! Building # 4 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have been back a few weeks now, and we are missing our pool chairs! We had another nice stay at the Decameron. Not much has changed there. The resort is constantly being painted, workers are always tending to the lawn or pruning bushes, but we thought this time that the resort is in need of a facelift - especially the rooms. For family traveling with us, the rooms were the biggest disappointment. They are very simple - no clock radio, no Kleenex, no shampoo etc, toiletries that we all have come to appreciate in hotels. Just a bed, a night table, a dresser drawer with three small drawers, 5 coat hangers in the closet and a tv. Oh and one chair. Very simple. So if you choose the Decameron, go knowing that it is no frills! Really there is not enough storage for three people in a room with three small drawers. There is a safe in the room. We paid about 340 pesos for 11 days. We were not really in our room except to shower and sleep so the simpleness of the room didn't bother us, but it did bother family with us.
The food was alright - always something was of interest to us - chicken, pork, beef, sausage most nights. Always a salad bar and nachos and cheese. Every night there is a different theme. Thursdays are fun as it Mexican Fiesta night. The workers work all day to set up for it. Although we were there over the BC Spring Break, the resort was not full. In fact, they closed restaurants on a number of occasions. The Snack bar at the front of the resort was only open 3 days out of 11 . This was about our 5th trip to the Decameron. The staff is wonderful. Always is... but the cost to stay has gone up over the years and I don't think we will go back. We will try something different next year. All in all, a good trip.

Room Tip: Block 5 is at the back of the resort and it is where they put us.. but beware.. the pool in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh9451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have traveled to Mexico for the past 20 years, almost every winter. Booked this trip w/ Apple vacations and it was the first time that we were not impressed with our choice based on the usually reliable apple rating. The check in was done by a staff member with limited English lanuage skills. There was a table set up with paperwork in big plastic bins. This lady while smiling could not answer any question outside of the script in English which she had memorized and at one point had me wait to go and a get a welcome drink for herself ( only 2 of our party of 5 actually received the welcome drink eventhough we were all standing together, good comic relief).ex of poor check in: we got there at 3:15 PM and I was wondering if there was still lunch being served and if so, where. When I asked her how late lunch is served, she said "5" which of course was incorrect. Where to go, she pointed to the paper map and behind her and said "you can go anywhere"! At first glane the grounds are not very impressive because the buildings are scattered and there is mostly grassy areas between them. The resort is much prettier at night with beautiful lighting. Our room was the biggest dissapointment. While clean, there was no beauty. An old small TV, a wall unit air conditioner with rust stains on the wall, no fridge or toiletries or tissues or even a magnifying mirror. Water marks and rust in the stark and utilitarian concrete bathroom with old rundown tiles. Best described, we expected a Hampton Inn and got a Motel 6. The next day, I went to the front desk and asked if we could pay extra and be moved to a nicer room. Arturo ( very nice young man), said all the rooms are the same but we could ask to be in a sea view room for no extra cost. Of course no one even mentioned this at check in! So, they moved us after 2 nights to a similar room but with a beautiful view of the sea which made a big difference. The beach area, multiple pools, kind staff members, evening entertainment and specialty restaurants salvaged the rest of this vacation for us but the first 48 hours were not pleasant. Reason 1: I feel like the hotel is misrepresentd based on the current apple rating and images. Had we expected what was actually there, we would have made an informed decision and not been so shocked upon arrival. 2) The hotel management should reconsider the check in process and make it more welcoming with staff who is more capable of handling tourists who do not speak Spanish. Also, adding a fridge to the rooms and shampoo, kleenex, magnifying mirror are fairly cheap fixes to add to the overall experience for travelers. The specialty restaurants and the beach quality were amazing. It is also very nice to have mutiple pools so none of them are too loud or crowded. The beach vendors are a bit of a challenge but it is a public beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on a higher floor at check in. Go to building 4 lobby area at 7:15 AM to lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned from our 5th trip to Royal de Cameron. We are boring but we just like everything about this resort so we keep returning. The only thing I wish they could do different is the way to book the a la carte dinners but that is a minor thing. Hubby went on the Outdoor Adventure this time and was a bit nervous but he had a wonderful time zip lining, rappelling, riding a mule, etc. and I was quite comfortable staying at the resort, having a margarita and doing my Xword puzzles! Was a bit different weather wise this trip as we usually go the 2nd week of December.
I am sure we will return again next year.

Room Tip: We like Block 5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janislou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My boyfriend and I took our first trip together to this resort. We were in block 6 , and delighted to find the bar and the pool right outside our door. The staff overall were friendly , funny and very helpful.
We went to Bucerias 20 min walk and found this restaurant that had this band called "Flamingos" that played flamenco music , it was wonderful..
The buffets were good, better than most buffets that I have been to.
The Brazilian A la Carte was very good, and the Italian one was amazing. Do NOT eat at the Japanese restaurant, it is horrible and not anything like Japanese food. They really need to get a Japanese Chef there !
The beach is amazing and we walked 5 miles every day. The chairs at the pool are very very uncomfortable but if you buy a 7 dollar raft it is the best money you have ever spent. Floating in the pool is so great.
There are many excursions although we didn't do any of them , we heard Rhythm of the Night is supposed to be fantastic. The sunset and the sky is beautiful.
I would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Blocks 5 and 6 are quiet but not on the beach however beach is a 5 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

As UK residents, we have waited nearly 9 years for the British Tour operators to go back to this resort. Yes, the rooms are basic, so what I don't spend my holiday in my room. For those who have never spent their holiday(vacation to some) in Spain, let me tell you, this hotel is fantastic. All inclusive in Spain means one buffet restaurant, and if you're lucky one A la Carte, which for certain foods you have to pay that extra. You don't get fridges in your rooms unless its 4/5 star, and then this is hit and miss with most hotels. One pool is all you get. They don't give you pool towels. Meals are at certain times, and the snacks in between are burgers/ham sandwiches which have been left out in the sun for 2/3 hours. The attitude with most of the hotel staff in Europe is that they are doing you a favour by serving you and cooking your meals. The choices are abysmal compared to this hotel. Oh and by the way, drinking stops at 11.00pm and the staff are cleaning up why you are still sat there. This is typical of anywhere in Spain, France, Italy, Greece etc. So please don't moan about this resort. Until you have truly experienced All Inclusive in Spain, etc this is luxury compared to there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
1.3 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
11.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing