We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time traveler to Mexico at the time..Great place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Started my first vacation to Mexico here. Great entertainment and activities during the day..
close to many places out of resort such as bars..the ocean front, great restaurants!
Great family environment!
Clean rooms, food is great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISWIMWITHFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,966)
There are newer reviews for Royal Decameron Complex
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 4,966 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

another review for you all lol...Stayed at the Decameron in Sept of this past year. Was very humid this time of year so never cooled down in the evenings. The rooms were so so but very clean and well taken care of by the cleaning staff. Down side was that they only gave you one water bottle per room even though its booked "double occupancy". So we would refill the one we had and once we were given the second one we both had our own. The food was some of the best we'd eaten. Yummy chicken panini in the buffet at lunch. Adult pool was for us. we ventured past the kids pool and thats actually where the drunkest people were. ONe fell off his chair at the bar. apparently watching your kids swim is good reason to get obliterated. The Italian Al a Carte is one of the best resturants we've eaten at in our ventures to Mexico. Caesar salad to die for!! Presentation was amazing and the wait staff went above and beyond at this resort. They were there to fill your drinks and replace your plates the second it needed to be done. Was kept very clean and organized. Large layout so be prepared to walk. Although they did not have Clam juice us Canadians love to drink, if you went to the OXO down the road from resort and gave it to the bar tender, they would keep it for you and mix your drinks as you requested it. Down side, sorry to sound rude, was the Mexicans who came to stay at the resort. They were rude and somewhat "entitled" while staying at resort. Badly behaved children topped it off. Even with the language barrier, if I bumped someone or was in the wrong for what ever reason, Excuse me or I'm sorry was given. It definately was not returned by them. All in all we would go back and enjoy our selves. the many many people we met there had nothing but praise for the staff and the resort and we echo their feelings and sentiments.

Room Tip: Just ask and you can get moved if they can accomodate. we were in rooms 1501 and it was right by the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutesicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

First time travelling over Christmas and based on my experience here it may be our last.

This week was more expensive than other times of the year, but we were okay with that based on the time we were available to travel we knew this would be the case.

There were so many large groups at the resort that they took over everything and I felt we were lost in the shuffle as a couple. Normally when you have the same waiter or bar tender for a few says they at least recognize you. This wasn't the case here. Also, we were able to secure 2 a la carte reservations and they put us next to a huge group (14 one night, 16 the next). Not the romantic, quiet dinner we were hoping for. The reservation ticket for our a la carte (japanese) said 'no tables together', but this was not the case. The group monopolized the wait staff and after 1h45min we left without even being offered dessert or coffee. We couldn't even get the attention of our waiter. This was also the case at the bars. We had bar tenders stop serving those of us in line to serve large groups that would walk up to another side of the bar.

On the good side, we had no problems securing loungers during our stay, block 5 was quiet and the pools were clean. Food at the buffets was good. We always found something to eat.

On our 6th day we finally found 2 great bar staff at Coco Loco (Reuben and Alejandra). These two were always smiling and we never had to order drinks during those days.

I think for the price we paid, we expected a little more from the Decameron. We would consider giving it another chance if it was a lot cheaper. Hoping the large groups isn't the norm. Definitely not over Christmas though.

Room Tip: Building 5 was fairly quiet, (once the show was over), it is on the adults only pool and close to 2...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSgal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We paid under $1800 for 2 people for 14 days for all you can eat and drink. That's much less than we have paid at other resorts for all inclusive. The food was very good,rooms cleaned daily and the staff exceptional. Every one working at the resort speaks much better english than I speak spanish.That sure helps! I have to especially commend the bartenders on a job well done.They always are in a great mood and seem very happy to be serving you. After the first day they know exactly what you drink. My only disapointment was the NO SMOKING rules at the open air bar # 3. On previous visits this was our favorite bar, but this time we supported the other 5 bars equally because of this reason.Sadly the bartenders at bar 3 missed out on our tips this trip. Hopefully this will be resolved by next year.

Room Tip: Building 4 is very central and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cactus4302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We only paid $750.00 per person and received service we'll beyond that!, we had rooms in building 6 but wanted Ocean-view and they were glad to move us!, we moved to building 4 and I have to say rooms in 6 r more modern but the view in 4 was amazing, I could sit on my balcony and watch the Amazing sunset with a glass of wine before dinner every night!, we ate at the buffet the first night, then booked an a la carte for the remaining nights, yes u wake up at 7:30 and go to area behind building 4 lobby, then u take a number and they start calling them at 8am, but to b honest I seen some people come at 10 and their was still restaurants available, order of best food in my opinion, Italian , Japanese, pleasantly surprised , Mexican, shrimp Enchiladas were great!, Brazilian, then Thai and u could eat at the same Restaurant as much as u like, where else can u find that!, people complained about no cushion on chairs, so they went to store in front of a lobby 1 and bought an air mattress for 5 dollars, beach vendors r around but leave if u don't look at them or just say no thanks, they will go down to at least half of the price they first tell u if u stick to ur price, I even got a cover up for $12. Canadian when they started at 35 us, u can bring Canadian bills with u no problem, just no loonies,There is a beige canvas area to the right of the hotel looking at the beach about a 10 minute walk on the beach that they will do a wonderful massage for 1 hour for $20. Or 2/35!...amazing deal!, if u keep walking to the right about 10 more minutes u can go up to the streets of Bucerias , go to the left once on the street and keep walking till u go over little bridge and u will enter the Flea Market, go early so it's not too hot coming back! , guy on the black with white hat will arrange a horseback tour for 3 hours for $50. Or less if u only want an 1 1/2, u go through town along beach and into the mountains!, Parasailing on Beach u can get for $50., go have a great time and people stop ur whining!, 1 last thing Dec. is stingray season, never seen any problem and they do put a white flag up when there around, just shuffle ur feet and they say there don't come around unless water is very calm, this wasn't the best beach for me but there was a nice breeze and we would head to pools around 2 after lunch!...Enjoy!

Room Tip: Anything with a view is great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IMSHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although the all inclusive hotel does not have flat screen tvs or internet, the rooms are clean and colorful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good. Every night of the week they have a themed meal: mexican, italien, american, etc. There are 6 pools throughout the complex. Tennis courts, recreation activities lead by staff. Beach volleyball. Kayak rentals free. Staged fun every night of the week by staff if you choose to go. Being on the Pacific side, it is not the white sand, crystal clear beaches, but the resort beach is well kept up and clean with cabana type coverings for shade. We've gone back there now for 7 years and have never been disappointed. It is not the wild spring break type of people. Buceries is the small very local mexican town just a mile down the road. It has many resturants, bars, and vendors selling wares. We have always felt safe traveling from resort to town on foot. A great value for the price.

Room Tip: Block 5 & 6 are a ways from the beach but each has their own pool and resturants. Block 5 pool...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClamLakerWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've been to PV numerous times and to all-inclusives on both coasts of Mexico, but this is the first time we've been to this area and property. It exceeded my expectations (I knew I was booking a "holiday inn" not "four seasons") of a 3 star older property, in terms of food variety/quality (again, not fancy, but fresh and done properly) hard-working friendly staff in the restaurants and the professional dancers doing the shows every night. One eg., at a self served coffee/tea area, coffee tank was running out so I walked to the nearby restaurant and asked a waiter to pour me some, he quickly grabbed a coffee pot and said "sorry, thank you for that information" ie it wasn't his problem specifically but he cared about customer satisfaction. You get the feeling overall the staff enjoy working there and are professional and efficient. The rooms, common areas and beachfront are well kept. There are enough chairs on the beach/pool that we've never needed to "hog chairs' even though big charter groups arrived throughout our 6 days stay. The beach and waves were just big enough to be exciting for my teens boogie boarding (free to borrow).
That whole "reservation for specialty restaurants" thing...I get the feeling it's a lot of hype created by TA users : ). We wandered over to the reservation desk to give it a try the 2nd afternoon, and got that coveted Italian restaurant (8 pm) and the Brazilian the next night (6:30 pm). The property was mostly full of Mexican tourists during our first 3 days, and then two big planes of Canadians came, and after that, we were still able to get a 8 pm Thai restaurant reservation in the afternoon but the rest of the restaurants were booked, which is why I suspected that if you're there with a lot of other fellow TA users who've read about needing to line up at 8 am, then the reservations run out quickly.
There's something for every preference here, the property is so big. We had a late flight home and they provided us a hospitality room to shower and change so we can leave at 6 pm on check out day. Except for the on/off WIFI (hey at least there is free WIFI in the common areas), I really can't complain about anything. We got 2 rooms for the price of one in a bigger name all inclusive (like Melia or Barcelo) and it was not much different for our needs (ok my somewhat spoiled daughter said at the other more expensive places they use fresh fruit instead of syrup in the blended drinks), so yes, we'll be back!
PS Great $20 massages on beach, white tent.

Room Tip: We had wanted Block 1 but they only had Block 2 left but we were actually happier there because Bloc...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
4.5 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range: $136 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing