We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vista Vallarta(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$151
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites Atlas(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Aventura Pacifico(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$145
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Pancho(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banderas Suites(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
La Posada de Bucerias(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
$100
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palmeras(Bucerias)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,241)
Filter reviews
5,241 results
Traveler rating
1,830
2,198
759
294
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,830
2,198
759
294
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolpuerto vallartaroom in blocka la carte restaurantsjap japrooms are basicbring your own shampooiguana treehard plasticair mattressitalian restaurantflea marketsnack barsafe keyair transatface clothsstayed in building
Filter
Updating list...
1,711 - 1,716 of 5,241 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you set your expectations accordingly its not a bad place to visit. The food was okay and the variety decent. The beach was clean however we ran into a lot of jelly fish. Would recommend going some time other than August.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank mattsd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Royal Decameron from Sept. 15 - 29th during 2012 (yes 2012, not 2013). I never got around to making a review last year, and I didn't want to until around September, so I've decided to write the review now. Since it was over a year ago, I won't remember every detail of everything that happened, but I still do remember quite a bit.

I traveled here with my husband, son (25), and daughter (16). My kids shared a room while my husband and I shared the one next door to them. We stayed in the resort for the whole two weeks although the entertainment team was willing to take my kids (they are legal there) to several clubs on some nights. My daughter wasn't actually legal, but she got the adult bracelet by telling the person at the front desk she was 18.

Weather:
The first week, the weather was about 30-40 degrees celsius. The ocean water managed to get as warm as the air. It usually rained at night, and would be sunny all day. There was a day or two that it poured during the day and was just not sunny at all. Those days also tended to be a little cold- sweater weather.

Beach:
The first week, the beach water was as warm as the air. We were able to sit in it all day without getting any colder than when we would be on the sand. The second week was when the water got really wavy, and it was hard to swim in. There are also jelly fish that you cannot see. It feels like something with about ten teeth bite you when you get stung, and it hurts a lot. It does go away after a while. My daughter got bitten the most- 5 times in the 14 day period. I don't remember it ever being dirty, and there were usually chairs to sit in unless it was the weekend because that was when all the locals would come. There are venders on the beach, but only a few of them wouldn't bug off. Most of them did as soon as you said "no."

A La Carte:
We dined at two A La Cartes: The Italian and The Steakhouse.
The Italian restaurant was nice. We felt the need to dress nicely for it since it looked more formal than casual. It did have air conditioning, so we didn't die from heat.
The Steakhouse was fantastic. They had this sort of lemony drink with alcohol that tasted wonderful. They came around with a different type of meat every few minutes, and if you wanted it, you would tell them and they'd put it on your plate. Make sure you don't overeat before they get to the end; otherwise, you wouldn't have enough room to finish it all.

Buffet:
There are two; a small and a big one. The big one had more variety, so we mostly ate there. The food was delicious. They had 3 flavours of sorbet during lunch: vanilla, chocolate, and lime. That was the best ice cream I've ever had. Most of the waiters were excellent, especially if you tip them $1. One day, we even asked for the waiter who served us everyday if he could turn the large fan above our heads off as it was too cold, and he did.

Entertainment:
Shows are entertaining to an extent. The dancing ones are pretty good, but the "funny" ones were mostly in Spanish, so we didn't understand what they were saying. They were also quite repetitive. Since every Thursday was Mexican day, they would show the Mexican show. They also showed that one on September 15th because there was some holiday, so we ended up seeing it 3 times. There were several other shows that they repeated. The day we left, they were going to do the Michael Jackson show, so I don't understand why they couldn't show that one instead of a repeat.
The entertainment team put on a few daily activities near one of the pools. Some of them work during the day whereas we haven't seen the others until the evenings. They are all friendly and approachable.

Pools:
The adult pool was always quiet since no children were allowed there. There is another pool that is always busy near the towels, but that is also where there are some kind of activities during the day,. There are several other pools around the resort, but I never stayed long enough near them to really pay attention to them. The pools were always clean.

Rooms:
Our room was in the Block 5 area, so we couldn't hear the disco at night. It faced the "adult pool" so it was fairly quiet. The rooms do not have any fridges, so that meant no cold drinks. We had hot water every day except for the second last day, but that was because the resort was having some issues with their hot water. The bathroom sink always had a bunch of tiny ants crawling, we never asked for anyone to get rid of them though. The window in the bathroom would never close, so if you are singing in the shower, there is a chance someone would hear. The keys to enter our rooms had our room numbers on them, so we had to be extra careful not to lose them; otherwise, anyone could find them and get into our rooms. The maids do not understand English at all. The rooms do have air conditioning, and an extremely old tv. The beds in both of the rooms we had were two single ones, so no one had to share with anyone.

WIFI:
While we were there, we were told there was nowhere to get WIFI. However, after reading some reviews after coming back, some people said there actually is WIFI.

Nightlife:
It got dark at around 7pm. It was usually pretty quiet and boring between that time and the time the show started at 9:30. After the show, you could go to the disco. Some days during the week was pretty dead, but on the weekend when all the locals stay at the resort, it was incredibly busy, and there are always people dancing. The music in the disco ranges from techno/electronic to Mexican music.

Mexican Night:
Mexican nights were every Thursday. This is the one day that you couldn't book an A La Carte because all of the restaurants were closed. Otherwise, you can eat at a restaurant every night if you book it before it gets full. Everything was decorated with Mexican colours. On this day every week, venders set up in the resort, and you can buy some kind of souvenir or just look at the merchandise. There is also a carnival set up on the grass near the disco, though it didn't seem like anything fun unless you were a little kid. Even then, it seemed like everything was geared towards the Spanish speaking guests.

Other:
There is an iguana tree with about 50 iguanas on/around it. They like to eat fruit, so if you ever want them to get near you, feed them little bits of cut up fruit from the buffet.
At the beach, my son and I went kayaking. The kayaks are pretty uncomfortable, but it was still fun for a little while.
The bartenders are very enthusiastic when it comes to you drinking alcohol. Especially the ones at the disco.
The locals stayed at the resort every weekend (Friday night - Sunday afternoon). The resort tended to get noisy because of this.
They do have a gym, but it is pretty small and only had several different types of machines. But they played music videos on the tv in there.
The resort itself was always clean.
The location of the resort seems to be on some random street.

This resort would probably get boring if you are here alone or even with one other person. Since there were four of us, and we also did make some friends with other Canadians, we had quite a bit of fun during the day. At the moment, these are the things I remember most, but I think I've covered the basis.

Room Tip: A room away from the disco would be the best, so block 6, 5, 4, or 1. Block 1 has the ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip last minute as the price was good, and we were able to use our air miles to pay for the trip so we only had to pay the tax. So for that reason we can not complain.

My husband and I were in Puerto Vallarta 10 years ago, and we stayed in a much higher end hotel then ( Paradise Village ) but we did our shopping in Bucerias and had loved it then. We thought that Bucerias could only be as good as it was then, if not better. We were a bit surprised at the location of the hotel as it truly is in the middle of the street. Right outside of the entrance is the taxi stands and timeshare groups that see you enter and leave the resort.
A week before we arrived at the Royal Decameron I had emailed the hotel to ask if possible could we get a room near the ocean as this was an anniversary trip ? I never heard back from them, but upon check in our host welcomed us to our special occasion and told us we were in Building 1. When we went to our room we were greeted with a King size room with white bedding, a flat screen tv and a balcony on the ocean we were thrilled !!!! And the envy of all our friends we met at the resort who were in buildings 5-6.
The room was always clean, with plenty of white towels, hot water and fresh bottles of water to drink.

The food...well it was so-so,,,,Honestly, There was always something to eat but the food was the same every day. The snack shack was a nice break beside the italian restraunts for lunches---burgers and home made fries.

The drinks,,,well a 5$ tip will get you hammered, as we and our group of other canadians learned. The long island ice teas will knock you on your butt after a few...as a few of us learned by drinking them in the adult pool !!!! So be nice to the bartenders....and they WILL be nice to you.

The beach...We enjoyed the beach for one afternoon ( the day we arrived ) the water was ok, the beach was clean and we thought that we would spend every day there. During the night it had stormed and the waves brought in garbage and sticks and stuff to the beach, it had rained the whole next day so we went to the adult pool, where we met the best canadian travellers as ourselves there and we never went back to the beach...#1 reason....The beach never got cleaned up at all. It was so full of garbage that piled up from the day we got there until the Friday Sept 27. On that Friday the staff were working frantically cleaning the beach and resort that we all joked that some one important must be arriving. But up until that day the beach looked like the TV adds that show how polluted our oceans are. It was very disheartening to see the beach so dirty. We hoped that it doesn't always look this way but it did for our whole week there. We LOVE the beach and ocean and have never used a hotel pool until this trip.

Adult pool...GREAT buy a couple cheap floaties and you can have alot of fun ! Our group all had 1 per couple and we would straddle them like a horse and float and bounce on them all day with our long island ice teas,,,,we called them our sea horses. Only thing wrong with this pool...it closes at 7:00 and its amazing how fast 7:00 comes when your on Mexico time.

*** If you need some extra RnR---walk down the beach to the massage tent. NOT THE ONE FOR THE RESORT its a 5 minute walk toward Bucerias You will get the best massage for $15 pp. Honestly....1 Hour cost us 30$ per couple it was amazing !!!! We treated ourselves to 4 couples massages that week. There are 2 tents go to the first tent they are not the same company. The one you want the girls wear pink tops and white bottoms like scrubs. Same massage at the resort 140$ per couple ***

So as avid Mexican travellers, and tripadvisor reviewers we think if you need a cheap get away and your not picky about what you eat, and you have a few 5$ bills hanging around then this place is for you ! If you are thinking that you are going to get a 5 star hotel, go somewhere else. We enjoyed our week at the Royal Decameron because we met a group of other travellers who were there for the same reason we were...it was cheap !

Would we go back ? We don't think so. But it was an interesting holiday !
Cheers to Rad and Kim, Don and Mary , Dianne and Gerry .Chris and Dave, Jeremy and Leslie, Ray and Sue

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albertalovesmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here from Sept.7 to sept.14/2013.There were 6 of us inout group ranging in age from 16 to 54. We all had a great time! The food was very good. The water and beach were great! However be aware of jelly fish, one person in our group got stung twice.Like everyone else says, the staff at the resort is fantastic.For instance, we went fishing and caught some fish and brought some back to the resort where the chef cooked it up for us, it was simply divine!Something that they certainly didn't have to to but did. The rooms are okay.They are bare bones but clean. We did encounter two cockroaches in our room however, but other then that, they are clean and we all found the beds to be comfortable. I have stayed at many four to five stare resorts and would personally rate this as about three and a half. That being said, for us, bang for our buck it couldn't be beat. We flew from Calgary Ab. direct there and back A/I/C, for $650.0per person, taxes in!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place gives you good value for the price. You can't expect a 5 star resort in the price range you pay for this place.

The food is good but not great. The a la carte restaurants are awesome but who wants to wake up before 8am while on holidays to book??

Shows are decent but repetitive.

Rooms are comfy but no fridge which means no cold water or beer.

Wifi is sketchy but that is typical in Mexico.

It is easy to take the bus into town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews