We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
North Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I travelled with my hubby Aug 24 - 31. We had an amazing trip!!. This was our second time here and it was great again. We were looking for a cheap August Vacation and this was it, so worth the money and more.

We booked just a regular room with the intention of upgrading to beach front when we got there, $20 a night per person. Well weren't we pleasently surprised when we had a beach front room at no extra charge, Love this place!!! Room are small but superclean, the view is fantastic and hearing those waves crash at night was awesome. There are no coffee makers or fridges in the room, so we bring our own coffee maker, small 4 cupper, and ask for a fridge and we got it the next day, as Im diabetic and they will provide for medical reasons.

The resort is huge, very well kept. Pools are clean, we spent most our time at the adult pool as it was quiter. I do prefer activity pool as I like to do the activites but there were so many children this time we chose to go to the adult. Its super quiet...too quiet!!

Now travelling at this time of year it is HOT!! This was our first trip to Mexico in August and your just sticky all the time. The pool is not much refreshment cause the sun had warmed it up so much but its too hot to lay in the Sun. We are sun worshippers and we couldnt do it, maybe 10 minutes the max. So we stayed in the pools and got all wrinkled and our shoulders got burnt :)

The ocean was amazing, definitely much cooler than the pool. Waves are big but you can go in past the waves break and your fine. You can stand right where the wave breaks and your fine too. Lots of people swimming past the wave breaks. Tip...down the beach to the right there are massage stands, $20 an hour and they are amazing, did it twice when we were there.

The food is good, no complaints, there is so much to choose from how can you complain, if you dont like something, dont eat it, go get something else. As far as booking the alacarte restaurants, dont go wait in line, go 20 mins after they open and wow no line up and you have lots to choose from, its silly to wait. Drinks were always good, my hubby drinks pretty much beer only and he said it was good. I like fruity drinks and they were good too, if you want more alcohol in the drink just ask, they dont care. And dont forget to tip people, it goes a long way.

Disco is great, they open at 11 and start off with techo/electronic music, then Dj will switch to mexican music, electronic too, then switch back to the regular stuff. I love to Salsa so I like the Mexican music except for one night, Dj played for too long and we Left after and hour and half it, couldnt take any more.

There is not no complaints about this resort, it is so worth the money. If your looking for a 5 star then go to one. This is well worth every penny and more. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Book it, you wont regret it!!

Room Tip: Go see the iguanas at noon being fed, right beside the adult pool, so many and all different sizes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Straightupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    2,057
    697
    277
    144
See reviews for
1,236
1,800
111
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teslin, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This resort was fabulous. We stayed at the Decameron the week of Sept 7th with a group of 15 of us and it was awesome! We all got the amazing cheap vacation through Nolitours and this trip was way more than I could have possibly expected. This is a huge resort with plenty of places to hangout at a bar or swim in the pool. There is 5 restaurants plus the 2 buffets. We stuck to one buffet in the centre of the resort but ventured off for dinner to the other buffet one night and were pleasantly surprised. As this one has exceptional ocean views and is a little bit more romantic with candlelight. The food at the buffets change each night which was really nice. We have stayed other places in Mexico and have upgraded room from the standard but this standard room here is quite roomy and very clean. There are no fridges or coffee pots which was a little disappointing but we were placed close to one of the bars who had coffee on bright and early. The staff are amazing and always cleaning the grounds, which are kept up beautifully.

We have just started to travel around Mexico and I was so impressed with Puerta Vallarta as there is lots to see and do. I am not interested in visiting commercialized Mexico but rather the real Mexico and this city offers both of those.

Our first day we went across kitty corner from the resort and were talking to the 2 guys there about a fishing trip and other adventures that the group wanted to do and these guys did everything for us and let's say I kinda feel like we robbed them for the price we paid. It was one of the most amazing fishing trips we had out with calypso fishing adventures. We were very fortunate to bring in a 10 ft Sailfish as well as 8 mahi mahi between 5 of us. Can't even explain it, other than amazing! These guys that booked the trip for us even were kind enough to have their wife cook it for us in their traditional way....FANTASTIC.

We booked the booze cruise for us ladies but that wasn't great, we went snorkelling and didn't see anything. The booze was watered down and all tasted like paint thinner. Try the snorkelling with Vallarta Adventures it sounds to be a better excursion. The guys in our group rented quads for an afternoon at $40 us each which is cheap but the bikes are not great (4 wheel drives that don't have 4 wheel drive left in them) really beat badly. Rhythm of the Night is an absolute must. It is an extraordinary show. It runs about $75-80 us but is well worth it for the boat trip over, appetizers, drinks, dinner on the island and a cirque da soleil show that is phenomenal.

Amazing trip and an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in block six which is the adult building but it was quite far away from everything and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yukong1rl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just arrived home after 8 days at the Decameron and were totally pleased with our trip. The grounds were lovely and our room had all the basic comfort needs. Our bed was very firm and comfortable. Our air conditioner kept the humidity down and the air well chilled. We had lots of hot water in the shower and the maid did a fantastic job of keeping our room spotless.
We tried 3 of the five specialty restaurants , the Brazilian, the Mexican, and the Italian enjoying each but feeling that the Italian was superior to the others. The buffets were well stocked with an excellent salad and fresh fruit bar and large variety of hot food sure to please most.
The bars were exceptional with our favorite, the beach bar near pool #1, manned by Ruben and Victor, the absolute best. The drink variety was awesome and quality fantastic.
The evening performances at the open air theater were well presented with an entirely different show each night. Overall is was our best vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Phillymark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great hotel, great vacation, and for a great price! I came down the second week of September with my female friend.

The hotel had beautiful grounds, and the rooms are decent. I found they were no better and no worse than anywhere else I have been. The food provided a good variety, with standard buffet food that likely anyone could find something -- especially with the fresh fruit and salad options! The restaurants were also quite good - was not as fond of the Italian, but the Thai and Japanese were my favourites by far.

The staff were a reason to come to this resort all on their own. They were so friendly, welcoming and warm, and were always going out of their way to ensure our trip was fantastic. Any little thing they could do, they did, above and beyond. As two females traveling together, the bartenders were keen to see we weren't harassed, and the restaurant management ensured we always had reservations!

I also cannot say enough positive things about the entertainment staff - they were out and out phenomenal. Out of this world with their talent and their enthusiasm, and their variety! I never attend the shows at the resorts I go to usually after the first night, because they are cheesy, joke shows. The Decameron was NOT this way - they were so incredible we went every single night and looked forward to it!

Just a note, they do not provide shampoo or conditioner or lotion in your room. This isn't exactly a negative, but in most resorts this is just a given, so if you didn't know, you might just assume and be unprepared. Luckily, we always bring our own anyways. Also, the mosquitoes can be pretty brutal (even though they fumigate) so make sure you bring bug spray and use it liberally!

Because I wish more people would include these in their reviews: YES there is a gym (small, lacking in freeweights, full of cardio machines), and YES there is internet (free wifi in both lobbies and computers that can be used for charge).

Room Tip: Block 6 was great for quiet rooms, next to the gym, and two of the restaurants. Block 5 has the adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BryJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed there quite a while ago , I have great memories of the place.. hotel staff are helpful, try to pleas you. Love the bar right in front of the pool ...if they are not familiar with your drink they will learn how to make it...food presentation was great. That was my first love affair with all inclusive , they sold me.... I have since traveled many places ...this is one of my favorites. I always look for deals there ..and would go back any time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good , I prefer 2nd floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravellers301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Decameron from August 31st - Sept 7th. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful! The Iguanas are huge and behind Building 5 you can see them feeding them during the day. It was very very humid when we went we had beautiful weather and wicked thunderstorms at night. Like all the other reviews said nothing fancy about the rooms however the are large and have a large balcony in which all have nice views of the pool, Beach or gardens. Hotel was very clean and the shows were great. Bucerias is an awesome little town we walked to the market and my Fiancé got a tattoo at Ricks tattoo up the street it is amazing! Once thing is that the main activity pool is pretty small and lot's of kids! I mean tons of them! we stayed at the adult pool pretty much most of the time. The only complaint I have is that we were not allowed to listen to music here as it was the quiet pool and we wanted to be away from kids and with other adults however they would not let us even play an I pod here. We were harassed by the security even though everyone at the adult pool wanted to listen to music. The drinks are not great at the hotel probably because the price is so low. Good beer just no premium liquor at all to be expected I guess. All in all if you get this for a good deal I recommend it. Also If you get a chance go to the Ocean grill on the south side of PV most amazing scenic trip ever! Take the bus and then take the water Taxi so awesome! Oh and go to Miguel Angel in Bucerias Awesome food! Best Bacon Wrapped cheese filled jumbo shrimp ever!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 4 was loud during the entertainment however was pretty good most times nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was our first time at an all inclusive resort and all I can say is awesome!!! Food entertainment activities were all amazing!!!!! I am heading there again In March 2014 and bringing my whole family!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Keeto66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,081 reviews
10.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,815 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing