We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday at the Royal Decameron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our fourth time there. On our first time there we met people who had been there 10, 16, 24 times. We have been to 5 other resorts in the Caribean and were looking for something a little lower key. We found it at the Royal Decameron. First the staff truly make this place. They are wonderfull, personable, trustworthy, and will go out of their way to solve your issue. Many remember our names and our childrens names. The rooms are basic, but hey were not in them long. Maintenance is first class. Grounds immaculate. Food is good to great. The Piccolo and Ribizo restaurants are run by two great socialble managers. Their staff of cooks servers hand picked. Euliso and Jenny, in the Flamingo buffet are absolutely caring people who want you to have such a special time there. I am going to be one of those people who will be able to say in later life I have been here dozens of times. Mike Owen, Delta BC

Room Tip: yes building three can be noisy because of the shows etc. But its views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FloathomeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 5,101 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had been to this resort before and all of the great things about are still great, but there are a few changes that made it not as good as the first time.
First off, the good stuff is that the beach is still the best beach ever if you like long strolls. Then the grounds were as immaculate or even better that I remember them to be. The staff is just incredibly friendly and helpful as they were the first time too.
Now the bad. The buffet food, with the exception of breakfast, was really not so good, edible but just. The worst was the Vino Tinto (red wine). I think they have it made in large bathtubs in Los Cabos and then dilute it with really bad Kool Aid because it sucks. Especially the wine that you get in the lobby bar. If your a wine drinker you will be very disappointed.
As you may read in the other reviews the rooms are nothing fancy but I like a hard bed so no worries there. Besides, I don't go to a sunny location to sit in my room.
Fix up the buffets and get some decent red wine and I'll be back because everything else is five out of five, otherwise I'll have to give it a miss which would be awful.
Oh yes, don't stay in block three unless you're deaf, or have noise cancelling headphones or don't go to bed before midnight because the nightly show and the disco bass shakes the place like you were sitting on a thousand watt subwoofer.

Room Tip: Say away from block three. If you have kids you want to be in block six. If you are fifty plus trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from holidays in Royal Decameron. Great place, staff works so hard. Big thanks to Virginia( omlet and pasta station), food was good, rooms clean, very clean pools and grounds. We had a great time, felt like home. Going to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently returned from our fifth stay at this hotel. It was another fantastic stay! This year we decided to go for two weeks, instead of one and it was great. The room is basic, but we don't spend that much time there. We always pay for the room safe, and we have never had any problems, and our suitcases are out in the open.The food was great;there was always something yummy to eat.The staff go out of their way to please you. My wife was sick for one day, and the maid and food service staff went out of their way to ensure she had everything she needed. The shows were wonderful. I am always amazed at how many repeat guests come to this resort. The beach is fabulous, and you can walk for miles. We are looking forward to returning next year.





We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: We always enjoy Building 5 as it is the adult only building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gerrycantow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Love this place! Stayed here a couple of times. Good food, entertainment, good location:) It's about 20 minutes out of downtown Puerto Vallarta so its a little out of the hustle and bustle of being right in the city. Deffinatly close enough you can easily get there in a hurry if you want to. Lots of variety as far as restaurants and bars go. It's very clean and the staff is amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What you should know

1. The location is excellent. Just at the entrace of the village of Bucerias. A nice safe villiage with excellent bars, restaurants, shops and everything you could ask for.

2. The rooms are very basic but the beds are comfy and it will please most people. No bar fridge, no clock or radio. It should be mentionned that is probably the cleanest hotel I've been to in 15 years of travel. I was there for 2 weeks and I did not see one broken beach chair during that time. They scrub, polish and paint almost day and night. You have to pay for the safe about $3 a day. No wi-fi at this hotel but 4 stations with internet that is not too expensive but no web cam. If you want wi-fi, go accross the street to one of the bars or café, they all have it. Watch out for the one on the second floor on the corner. 4 bailey's cost $28.

3. The beach waves are a little bit rough some days. It is the pacific ocean. Those days, you stay closer to the beach. The sand is darker but nice with no rocks and you can walk for hours.

4. Each blocks of rooms have their own pool and bar. It is a nice set up. You rarely feel crowded. Block 5 for adults only. Block 6 is newer and is for families. Those two blocks are close to most restaurants but further from the beach. If you like the beach and want some tranquility block 4 is for you. You can even get a partial ocean view. Block 1 has the total ocean view but is not as peaceful.

5. The food is O.K. It is not a 5 star hotel and tou can't compare the food with some of the hotels in Riviera Maya. But you are not paying the same price also. The food is generaly good. Breakfast is not really a problem. For lunch, the beach has no grill for hot-dogs and hamburgers. You have to go further to the Rodizio restaurant for a burger, which is pretty ordinary by the way. So often enough, it's the buffet for lunch. For dinner, you need to reserve at 7h30 a.m. they give you a numbered coupon and at 8h00a.m. they start taking reservation. So if you are not an early bird, you will eat your dinner at the buffet a lot. The à la carte restaurant are pretty ordinary. Two of them are a little better, the italian Picolo and the aisian Wok. The rest are worth a shot but you will not be impressed. If you like snacks, be advised that everything is closed betwwen 3h00p.m. and 6h00p.m.

In conclusion.
Overall it is a nice hotel that I would go back to and I'm not scared to recommend it. It is decent value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fifty-one year old mom with 20 year old daughter on her reading week. I read a lot of the reviews before and after booking. Can't understand the complaints that this is a dump. Really? It's a 3-star resort in Mexico. If you are expecting more than that, you'd better fork out some more money and book a 4 or 5 star. I was mostly worried about the noise at night after staying last year in a "party palace" with yahoos yelling all night. We were put in block 6, which was extremely quiet. Very happy about that. The room was very basic, but clean. A small bar of soap and that's it. Towels changed daily, but they felt like cardboard. Beds were clean, floors clean, etc. No complaints about that. Oh.....the water pressure from the shower was pretty weak. Pools and grounds were kept very clean. Beach was excellent. All the staff were very friendly. Drinks were good. Not the best I've had, but again, it's a 3-star. System for booking restaurants is stupid, but one must go with the flow. Ate at all of them except Thai as daughter is allergic to peanuts and didn't want to chance it. My best meal was probably at the Japanese. Can't go wrong with stir fried veggies and chicken. By the end of the week I was sick of the buffet. Walked into Bucerias and had a fantastic lunch at Claudio's. By far the best meal of the week. All in all I have no complaints about this resort. I knew what we were in for. Would I go back? If I wanted to lie in the sun and relax and didn't want to spend a lot of money. I would rather spend some more and stay at a higher quality resort such as Sunset Plaza (excellent food), but this was just my daughter and I looking for a cheap winter get-away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bowva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2 mi away
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#25 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
30 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range: $194 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing