We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there, done that twice and goin' back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Been there, done that twice and goin' back again.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My former wife and I stayed there several years ago and liked it a lot. We never returned because on that same trip we bought time shares. One break-up later she has the time shares so I returned on my own in January 2012 for two weeks and loved it.

It's got a mellow, laid back feel to it. The staff are unfailingly warm, friendly and helpful. The food is remarkably good given the reasonable price paid for being there and there are several a la carte restaurants. The resort is pleasant and easy on the eyes, it's family oriented, so there lots of kids.

The tequila flows freely along with everything else. I struck up a friendship with one of the bartenders and I'm hoping he'll still be there when I return later this year.

I was on my own last time down, but I probably won't be next time.

Puerto Vallarta is about a 20 minute cab ride away for 25 U.S. bucks, but the buses are wayyyy
cheap and frankly are an adventure.

An added attraction is that the resort is part of a charming village called Bucerias which has shops, it's own market and restaurants galore for when you feel like eating off resort.

If you like tattoos there is a little shop run by a young Canadian couple about a 7 or 8 minute stroll down the road.

Room Tip: The south side of the accomodation buildings is usually quieter and building #5 is the quietest buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarnetAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    2,069
    699
    278
    147
See reviews for
1,251
1,809
111
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Royal Decameron does not advertise themselves as a luxury property or a 5* so anyone expecting that should not complain. This is a true 4* resort who focuses on the outdoor experience and has something for everyone ... But most importantly there is definite value for money here which is what we all hope to come away from a holiday that we worked hard to pay for! Covering over 7 acres of property & 600+ rooms you don't get the feeling of being part of a cattle call when you use the facilities. There is a feeling of relaxation and many different levels of "engagement" to choose from ... From the quiet seniors/adult oriented side to the family section to the nothing-but-fun activities, they do it all. The low profile & colourful buildings make it feel warm & inviting as do the beautifully kept lush grounds. The staff is very friendly, take pride in their jobs & customer service is their priority ... They also love Canadians and boast over 50% occupancy is from this country. We met people who have been coming back year after year after year. We spoke personally to the Director of Guest Services who addressed the recent room security & safe issues as an isolated incident & was taken care of immediately. There is really nothing bad I can say about this place & will definitely return! By the way, the entertainment is the best I've experienced .. These are professionals who are choreographed, dressed in costume & engage with the audience. Wonderful job & we enjoyed the International show along with the Michael Jackson performer .. Who also entertained us as a comedian & MC at the Trivia Musical show as well. Good job Royal Decameron!

Room Tip: Specify how you are travelling, such as family with kids, mature senior couple, romantic, to be plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinderella1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks at the Royal Decameron. The food, cleanliness, service, grounds, pools, beach, entertainment and everything about our stay was excellent. The music and MC from the nightly show were on the loud side if you turn in before 10:30 - 11:00 PM. We just turned up the air conditioning and the steady hum drowned it our. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Block 4 has everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DunbarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this property because of the price and having traveled to the Royal Decameron in Panama, thought it would be a good value. It definitely was the right price and the food was surprisingly not bad for the money. The positive points were: good location out of the crowds at Puerto Vallarta, food wasn't bad, staff was friendly, A/C worked great, and rooms were clean. Negative points were: rooms weren't ready until 2 hours after check-in time and arrival, drinks were weak (wine was the WORST I've ever had and I'll drink just about anything), Internet kiosks were a disaster/broken, long lines and no wi-fi, all services (even work out room!!) close at 6 p.m., long wait at bars, lack of "in-between" snacks available, ONE bottle of water in room per day and that is it, NO shampoo or any amenities except soap. By the time I spent the money on bottled water, shampoo, internet, and cab rides, I would have rather stayed somewhere that cost a little more but had more to offer. I give it 3 stars only because the food was the only redeeming factor in that they really tried, but the bad outweighed the good on this trip.

Room Tip: We were in the #2 building which was close to everything, but a little loud at night. Great A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I and 3 other couples went to the Royal Decameron for the first time in Jan 2013. My husband and I had been to the Puerto Vallarta area 5 times previously and this area and place was by far the best. Less noisy and congested. The resort was great. Weather, beaches, food, nightly entertainment, flea markets, etc were excellent. Staff was awesome and no waiting in line for anything even though the resort was full. Only thing we didn't care for was keyed rooms and a key to the safe. Not too fond of that. Would have rather had swipe cards and a code for the safe.

Room Tip: if you are adults around 50ish and don't like it too loud near your room, select buildings 5 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b-d-sereda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from the Decameron in Bucerias and this was our 13th visit.
Unfortunately it did not start off on the right foot! When we arrived they not only did not have a room for us but had us booked out to their sister resort in the Marina!!
We did get this matter resloved but it should not have happened in the first place but we will be back because in spite of this setback we still love the resort and Bucerias.

SBellamy

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to try this resort! You may just find it is exactly what you are looking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

For those of you that want a 5 star resort stop reading now! go to a 5 star and not the Royal so that you will complain that it is not a 5star!! For those of you who want a fun time go to the Royal!
This was our 2nd time here and we will return, God willing, next year. we are in our late 50's.
Food was great! went to different buffets every day because each one has different specials. that way it didn't get boring.
Rooms are adequate and clean. didn't spend alot of time in the room but were very happy. bldg. 4 last year, bldg 2 this year. both good. hair dryer died 3rd day,was replaced right away. air conditioner broke, took all next day to fix but worked great after that and nothing was missing from our room. Seems to me that people might be getting paid to bash the Royal.
resort is very clean and manicured perfectly. someone is always resurfacing and painting. there is security between the beach and the entrances to the resort. always felt very safe.
being close to Bucerias is a plus. nice walk to the market. went 3 times. no one ever touched us or pulled at us to see their stuff!! La Cruz has a great market on Sundays 10am to 2pm. well worth the time, take a bus or van accross the street from the Oxo store straight up from the resort.
THE ENTERTAINMENT CREW - Oh my (bleep) as Jimmy would say!!! soooo much fun. #1 pool entertainers, Danny & Jenny(childrens program,which she is improving all the time) such a wonderful young woman and Canadian eh! Danny is very funny and easy to look at and a great dancer. so wants to make everyone feel welcome and entertained. Rodgrigo, sorry to see you go.he has gone back to Chile but we hope to holiday with you next year! Alberto, our Spanish instructor plus many more things.we will be taking lessons every day next year.maybe we can teach you some Ukrainian. Jimmy, what can we say about you. sooo funny and a quick life saver(thank goodness you were there for that little boy) we feel that you are a very close friend. actually all of the pool staff and many of the dancing staff have become our friends and have made the Royal our home away from home.
these are some of the things to do during the day at the resort - yoga,tournaments of darts, ping pong, basketball,beach volleyball,spanish lessons,water arobecs - Monday beach Olympics( really good fun)dance lessons,crazy games to win a bottle fo tequilla,water polo,water volleyball,
Thurs. is Mexican fiesta night with many games to play to win money for the auction,so fun.there are games at night or karaoke or casino, dancing & bands. so much to do that we really did not want to go anywhere and miss the activities. evening shows we great,well done and professional and costumes were awesome. The entertainers work at other jobs at the resort all day then dance their hearts out for us in the evening. THANKYOU!!!!
I hope this helps people who are considering going to the Royal. we meet many repeat visitors,5,7,9,12,15 years,we even meet a couple that stay 18wks, I think this says lots about how good the Royal is and how misleading some reviews can be.So many visitors want to talk and meet others, we found this so great! We even had a young teenager from South America, who played water polo with us every day, come and say goodbye to us as we waited for our airport bus, we were very touched by this.
THANKYOU, ALL DECAMERON staff, from the bottom of our hearts for a great vacation. God bless and keep safe so that we can see you next year.
Love Mr. & Mrs. Clean

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gladwewent80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing