We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome customer service and great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome customer service and great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been to Mexico many times and stayed at lots of places and if you're looking for a great atmosphere with clean rooms, this is the place. We brought 14 people including my mom who has a bad hip and some people whom had never been to Mexico and we weren't disappointed. The staff is fabulous and the omlette girl that others speak of has to deal with tourists who can't even ask for an egg in spanish and are mainly hung over. We gave her a tip and spoke to her in the worst spanish ever but she totally softened up and so did the eggs! Also being located at the beginning of Bucerias walk to the market is great for shopping, also once in the market it's a must to stop at El Gordos (the fat boy) for the best margs and fresh fresh seafood! Last but not least please go to the Barchaletta which is the best place for chicken wings and wi-fi (service is also awesome!).The Barchalettta is located at the corner of the Decamerons entrance beside the ATV excursions, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    2,037
    686
    276
    143
See reviews for
1,219
1,780
108
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a week. On the third day money was taken from one of our backpacks so we filed a complaint with security. Then came to search our room saying that "people often get drunk and forget where they put their money." A report was filed but no resolution. A few days later I went to check my wallet to notice that even more money was taken from our room, and after some searching we noticed that a few packs of cigarettes and some sample cologne bottles were gone too. Another report was filed, they came to search the room, and again nothing happened. On our last day we went to have a meeting with the staff and they told us the hotel manager would be there. The manager never showed and the staff kept trying to tell us that we should have secured our belonging better. They would not allow us to have a copy of the reports and as compensation offered us a spa day on our next visit to the resort. The whole experience was revolting and I do not at all recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kale V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our trip to the Royal Decameron Complex in Riviera Nayarit came highly recommended by travel agents and many others. The resort is very plain and rustic like. The first night we arrived, it was buffet for eating. There was absolutely nothing to choose from. We settled for pizza and pork from one of the cook stations. Each morning after this, every effort was made to get a dinner reservation so that we didn't have to eat at the buffet again. We were always able to get the reservations we wanted. The food at the restaurants was much better than the buffet, however they call it an al a carte but you don't get to choose what you'll be eating. At the Jap Jap staff run around putting different things on your plate as they are cooked. The rice came close to last. The Italian restaurant is the only one that is enclosed (like a true restaurant), all others are snack shacks during the day and then turn into restaurants at night. Restaurants lose a bit of class when someone sat in the same seat for lunch with a wet bottom and now your are dressed up nice sitting in the same seat. Breakfast was good, omelettes were a must to make it through the day. They guard the bacon at the back of the egg station and you have to ask for it. They give you 2 pieces, and that's it. There were tons of wasps on and in the foods on the buffets. Staff try to us covers to keep the bugs out but invariably one always got in.

Each building has a pool, none of which are very big. Pool #1 is the entertainment pool, which is mainly music playing with a few afternoon activities. Nothing too exciting.

The evening shows are good with the Disney and Rock and Roll shows being the best of them all.

Some of the bar staff made is seem like it was a chore to make you a drink. The pina coladas were no good. Bring your own cup as the small flimsy plastic cups they give will have you running back and forth all day.

The resort is right in town and you can walk to the markets as well as Bucerias. We took a bike tour with one of the Entertainment Crew and had a great time.

There is free internet Wifi access if you can learn what the password is, otherwise internet cards can be purchased from the cash office. There are 2 computers in each lobby.

Overall, I would not give this resort a 4 star rating. The food is fair to poor in the buffets anytime after breakfast. The rooms are far from prestigious. The house cleaners, take your tips but don't do anything extra for you. Didn't find the staff particularly friendly other than a few really good ones that made an effort. Spend the extra money and stay at a 4.5 to 5 star. Will not be back to this hotel.

Although many speak of money stolen from their room safe we had no issues with this.

Room Tip: Building 5 is connected to the quiet pool if you like that sort of thing. Pool 1 is the entertainme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mecca906872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dec. 17-27 for a family Christmas break with our 20 and 23 yr old daughters. Again great value for the price paid. Even after 5 visits I have only good things to say of the Royal Decameron. The staff are friendly and happy, the food varied, and the weather is invariably hot and sunny. Will return in late April or early May when the price for a quick getaway is even more ridiculously cheap. Booked via Expedia this time rather than Nolitours and everything was organized with no problems. For off resort eating try Encore enroute to Bucerias on Lazaro Cardenas.

Room Tip: Block 6 has updated rooms. Also block 5 if you want a little distance from the main noise corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1953dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a good hotel for most people unless you are very picky. Do not expect five star food or alcohol.
Rooms-Rooms are basic but clean. There is no bar fridge or bathtub and the beds are very hard like most resorts I have stayed at in Mexico. Building 5 and 6 are far from the beach but they are very quiet so it depends what you want.

Pools and Beach- The pools and beach are great. You can go to the quiet pools at the top of the resort or the loudest pool with music or one of the other two pools by the beach which are somewhere in between. You can always find a seat at any of the pools or the beach.

Alcohol and Food-This is where the four star rating comes in. There is no premium alcohol. For instance I like whiskey and Baileys Irish Cream. They have neither but not a big deal. Some of the A La cartes are good some are not. Italian was good and Brazilian was good if you like meat. Mexican was OK and Japanese was OK, sushi was not good but this is Mexico. I really liked the sandwich, pasta, omelet and salad stations where they would make the food on the spot. Much better than food sitting in heat racks. Eat at Sandrina's in Bucerias, it was awesome:)
Service- Service is good. No lineups at the buffet or bars. Another reason it is not five star is there are no waiters at the pool or beach. You have to get off your fat butt to get alcohol, lol:)
You can body surf, kayak or catamaran from the beach, all included.
There was a big New Year's party they set up which was fun. We only went to one show which was good. I always find them cheesy anyway so I'm not a good judge of that.
Final - This is a decent resort. I would go back but I like trying different places. It is usually cheaper than most and for the price it is a very good value. Bucerias is a 20 minute walk along the beach or street with lots of nice restaurants. Go out to eat because you saved so much money.
The only complaint I have is the system for booking restaurants sucks and there is no wifi but there is a bar across the street that you can get wifi for the price of a beer. My bathing suit did get stolen from my balcony which is odd. I had a second pair and they were pretty old anyway. If someone is that desperate for my bathing suit they can have it:)

Room Tip: Quiet building 5 and 6. Close to the beach 1, 2, 3 or 4. Best building 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasond_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for the first time with hubby and two kids aged 1 and 9 after hearing great reviews from family and friends. The pros- excellent beach! Casual atmosphere and the staff were great minus one bartender and the lady who made the omelettes in the morning. The room was kind of cave like and very basic. I tried to get a fridge for my baby's milk and was told no it was for Medicine only. I had to get a cooler and fill it with ice everyday. The pools are nice but the paint is chipping around the edges and I had to keep taking away paint chips so my baby wouldn't put them in his mouth. The food is not great. My husband gave it a two star I say 5. We have been to at least 20 all inclusives and we're not that fussy but we left disappointed. The nightly shows are Awesome and the bar service was top notch! Bucerias is lovely but I don't think we'll return to the Decameron.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank chrissyw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The kids attended a foam party promoted by the entertainment staff in town on the tuesday night, the ride left at 11pm. They were asked there room number for security,to make sure they got back. When they returned no one was checking who came back or not. The next morning 930 am they opened their safe to find all their money gone and a watch stolen. Both room keys were accounted for and at first we thought someone found the safe key and then put it back. Nothing was disturbed in the drawer which makes me think who ever had the room key also had a master safe key. When we reported it to the hotel we were treated like the kids were lying and they would not give us a copy of the report we filled out,( so we took a picture with our camera). No follow up was told to us about the incident. We would not recommend this resort and hope if this has happened to others to write a report about it so others aren't taken advantage of. We were there over christmas 2012.

There were a few positives about the resort, the staff were very friendly, the resort was very clean
and the grounds were beautiful. The location was great, Bucerias was close and a nice place to visit. The beach was beautiful. The beds were like sleeping on a rock. So I don't think we will return...

Room Tip: Would recommend Building #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank dawn840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
10.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
10.2 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing