We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and the best salsa I've ever had.”

Rosa Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #38 of 171 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Tapps
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, and the best salsa I've ever had.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant and we were so glad we did! The garden setting is delightful, with colorful lanterns hanging from the trees. The salsa is prepared right at your table, with roasted tomatoes still warm from the grill. It was the best salsa I've ever had. The food is upscale, with small portions(except for the lobster, which is enough for two, and service was impeccable. The margaritas are also among the best I had - they add the tequila right at the table. As we left the first time, we discovered that Friday nights features a full mariachi band, so of course we went back, this time bringing a large group.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimibear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican close to Nuevo Vallarta”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I were looking for a good Mexican restaurant close to Nuevo. Ended up at Rosa Mexicano bases on trip advisor reviews. Food was excellent, service was good, and outdoor garden provided a unique and wonderful setting. Easily comparable to some of the best restaurants in Pv area. If you are looking for good authentic Mexican food in a upscale setting close to Nuevo, this is a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank omszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
190 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A really good experience!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try this new restaurant, mostly because we hadn't had much "Mexican" food at the great restaurants we'd been to. This was a great choice. We were seated at our table in the center of a lovely garden and had fresh salsa prepared at our table side by Carlos, an eight year old aspiring restauranteur. The salsa was made with roasted tomatoes and was delicious. We also had guacomole prepared at the table, also yummy.
Our margarita-mojitos were different, tasty and large. I had an unusual dish prepared in a stone bowl. It was still bubbling when I got it. It had chicken, chorizo and cactus and was delicious. (Cmember the name. Started with a "Q").
This will be a can't miss on our next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloverdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant in Bucerias”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a pleasant surprise we had the other night when finding Rosa Restaurante Mexicano. We received a warm welcome and were led to the garden to be seated. Our waiter, Arcadio, was prompt, delightful, and very attentive! The table made salsa was terrific. We had the stuffed mushrooms and avocado stuffed with shrimp appetizers and split pescado vera cruz. The flan dessert was the best we have had. We have been coming down to the puerto Vallarta area for years and this is at the top of the list. We will go back again this week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crushers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!!!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just ate here last night and fell in love! We travel here several times a year and this is our new favorite place. Real Mexican food meets a more upscale dining experience. The service is the best in Bucerias and the food was amazingly good. Nice atmosphere, family run so that speaks to the excellent food and service. I had good wine and a nice meal but didn't feel cheated of real Mexican food. Perfect combo! The molcajetes are to die for and the homemade mole is fabuloso! The Mexican coffees are made table side so it's a bit of a show which is fun. We will def be back here for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Rosa Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing